We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, friendly staff, cheap!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sveta Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sveta Sofia
Ranked #66 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great location, friendly staff, cheap!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Location is excellent. 5 min walk from the centre and to metro station of Serdika. Walkind distance to all the historic centre of Sofia (the museums, churches etc), & the main shopping street (Vitosha Boulevard). Room was clean. The staff spoke English and was very helpful. We arrived at 6am and they checked us in immediately. Didnt have to wait until 2pm. Breakfast was good with nice Bulgarian products. Free WIFI in the room. The only disadvantage was that the heating in the room wasnt working properly. But they did give us a fan heater that did the job. During winter i dont think that will be enough. Good value for money. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Madam,
thank you for your review. We do believe will see you again at Sveta Sofia hotel.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    41
    41
    24
    13
See reviews for
13
35
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skopje
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Pros: walking area position, close to the centre. Free wifi although of lower quality. Clean spacious rooms. Helpful staff.
Cons: no parking, tv remote not working, very poor food choice for breakfast.
Appropriate for short stay. Not exactly family style hotel. Acceptable value for money

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nenad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes, we do not have our own parking, because we are in the exact center in the pedestrian street and is a quite difficult with the parking places. But especially for our quest, we are working with a parking place which is 200m away from the hotel and is the closest and cheapest one.
If you are coming in future we will be glad organize parking space for you too.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hi all. I will share my experience with this hotel, but mostly I would like to share how disappointed feel of all strange reviews read before and which are compleatly not true. Actually I read many reviews about that hotel and was wondering should I book it or not. Thanks GOD i did my reservation with Sveta hotel and I was very happy with my choice. The hotel is exact in the center, very cozy, very clean and very friendly stuff. I don't know what other people expected for the amount they paid with Sveta??? Actually I got more than expected, because in Vien for example paid 200 euro/daily rate of 5 stars hotel and I got 0 service. I am really not understanding you people. It is very sad when you try to put bad things over someone and everything is without any sence. Maybe is better think twice before do such of step,
Wish a luck to all of you and for potential people who are still wondering should they book this hotel - yes, just do it without thinking and reading all bad comments. This hotel is really very good and I am highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This review may be a bit late since we stayed in the hotel in the fall of 2012. We can’t select back as far as Sept 2012 so is the Nov. 2012 stay period. Reading all the great reviews about the hotel we felt we have to share our experience which wasn’t that good. I guess it depends if one is sensitive to smell and air movement, but this hotel is definitely not a 4 star hotel. After a wonderful one night in hotel Budapest (3 star, but much better than this one), near the bus and train station on our return to Sofia from the Black Sea we chose Sveta Sofia for its great location. After all it’s a trade-off between location and other amenities. One can’t find many hotels located in the city centre on a quiet pedestrian street. The staff was friendly and spoke English. However the rooms were horrible. Our designated room, although spacious with a big bathroom and bathtub, looked more like a basement room with a window near the celling. A strong smell from the carpets hit us walking in. One of us got headache within the first 10 min of stay. There was no air conditioner or air movement in this room. We complained and the staff was really helpful in finding us another room. We were given keys for 2 other rooms to choose from. One was small and stuffy with the same smell. The other was a spacious apartment with windows on both sides so we could open them and create air movement in hot September days. The rooms (bedroom and a living room) had nice view. Beds were average, not very comfortable. The worst though was the bathroom. It had one of those monster combination bath/shower/steam units with multiple showerheads, built-in radio, etc. The step-in was very high and they did not have a step stool (we asked) to make it easier to step in and out. Almost nothing in the unit worked properly. We finally got the shower to work, just to find out that the unit wasn’t properly attached to a drain and as we showered leaked all its water on the floor. Naturally the floor drain was partially clogged and it took about an hour for the water to seep away. So we were given some extra towels (after having to chase the cleaning ladies every day). Again staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was OK and we also had espressos, so no complain there. But we recommend replacing the carpets with washable floors, selecting non odor cleaning materials, and fixing the showers and air conditioners. This is a management job. If this is not done the hotel is no different from the nearby one-star hotel Ametist.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaAndAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,
I really want thank you for having taken the time to write your review. We do appreciate hearing from our clients, as their comments are vital for us to continue improaving our services. Please note that I have brought your comments to the attention of our management team and as a Marketing manager I feel responsable respond your review. Since last year we started room renovation and changing the carpets as well. For us will be much easier do washable floors instead carpets, but the Bulgarian regulations are not obligate do this. Each hotel in Bulgaria is following special government requirements and because of this, we can't do rooms as we wish do it. Because of started renovation and working in a way to improve our stuff behavior, we are having much more positive reviews since before.
Again I thank you for your comment and I hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maghdoucheh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Second year successively, came to Sofia with group of Choir, and sure best location to stay is Sveta Sofia Hotel. We were distributed over many rooms between 3 floors, and all the group was so happy and satisfied with the hotel, starting airport pick up, welcome in the hotel, quick check in, friendly staff, Free Wi-Fi, delicious breakfast, cleanliness and located in the middle of the shopping center and near to many historical churches and places.
Again I would like to send big thanks for all the staff working, thanks from the part of all the Choir.

Best Regards
Al Hakim, Petra

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
I am writing this note to express my gratitude for your review and your stay with us during this year again. We truly appreciate your business and know our working relationship will continue to be successful in years to come. That's the highes recommendation we can imagine and we are grateful for it.
We certainly enjoyed reading your review and would like thank you once again for your kind words.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

All were wonderful and delicious breakfast! ;) thank u galahotel.com! In my room there wasnt so good internet service. Only this. But everything it was luxurous and breautiful! I will go again!!! :)))))))))))))))))))))))))

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Chrysoula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Madam,
thank you for the favorable review you gave our services. We are pleased that found our services suitable to your expectations and that you would consider stay with us again. We will fix our internet access for future.
We certainly enjoyed reading your review and would like thank you once again for your kind words.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

A very good hotel for a short stay of two or three days. It is centrally located has easy access to the main sites of Sofia the capital of Bulgaria. We stayed there for two nights as a group of 20. Breakfast and Dinner was included.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trimithiotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your confidence in our ability to serve you. Our hotel is proud to be a leading provider of our services. We welcome the opportunity to assist in your needs and look forward to a continuing relationship which will be sussessful to all concerned. Our stuff is available to you. Should the need arise, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Gloria Palace Hotel
#55 of 130 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Serdica
Hotel Maria Luisa
Hotel Maria Luisa
#58 of 130 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Poduyane
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#31 of 130 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel Sofia
#3 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Budapest Hotel
#10 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Poduyane
Arte Hotel
Arte Hotel
#43 of 130 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sveta Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sveta Sofia

Property: Sveta Sofia
Address: ul.Pirotska 18, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sveta Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sveta Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sveta Sofia Hotel Sofia
Sveta Hotel Sofia
Sofia Sveta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing