We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not visit during summer!”
Review of Sveta Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sveta Sofia
Ranked #74 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I am writing my review on the second of five days here and i am already regretting the choice. the internet does not reach my room and although the room is clean and tidy the airconditioning is far from adequate! I find myself sitting in the loby to avoid the extremely hot room and get imternet access! In addition to that the food is far from the standards of a four star hotel, infact everything is not four star quality. the only thing this hotel has on its side is the location.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleksgvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Sir,
I do appologize for the inconvinience during your stay. Usually we do not have problems with our airconditioning system which is central and the wi-fi network.
I am appealing once again to all our future guest to contact our managment team if something is not like must be.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 181 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent several nights in this hotel while touring in Bulgaria. The rooms are very comfortable and in comparison to other hotels we visited in Stara Zagora, BG and Thessaloniki, GR, the rooms were very large.

We stayed on the first floor during our time there and found our room to be spotless as was the remainder of the Hotel. The first week we stayed there, the breakfast service was great (should really try to get to the dining room as close to 7am as possible). The young man attending the buffet was very attentive and made great Cappacino The second week the young lady attending the dining room acted as though she wanted to be anywhere doing anything but taking care of the buffet. When we asked for a cappacino she said no and walked away. But that's where the great location came in to play! There is a wonderful sidewalk cafe that is less than a minute walk up the street that has fantastic cappacino, expresso and pastries that ate unbelievably good. The remainder of the stay we would just pop in to the dining room and if the rude girl was on duty, we'd just go down the street. Great hotel and we plan to stay there on our trip to Bulgaria next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Sirs,
thank you for your review. With your next visit we promise you much better capucchino.
Best regards and thank you for being our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

I was in this hotel in the middle of May, 2012 and i think the hotel is more than what i have expected for the paid sum. The hotel staff was very helpful and although all different reviews for this hotel, i am very satisfied. Rooms are simply but very clean, wi-fi internet is working perfect and is free of charge. I was very nice surprised when i got a bottle of wine, because of my birthday. Thanks god the hotel is non smoking area. I think the breakfast is ok because in the table were 3 types of hot eggs, cheese, pancakes, fruits and etc. I think the hotel was my best choice and i am highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polina711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your nice words.
Thank you for being our guest.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Single room I was first allocated was small and depressing despite the fact that there was hardly anyone staying at the hotel at the time.
Took the mainly male dominated reception area staff 2 days to move me to a much better brighter and larger room.
Breakfast room basic with basic below average food.
Plainly they have awarded the fourth star themselves, no way should this be a 4 star hotel. it is more like 2 Star. I feel there are much better options in Sofia.

Room Tip: Avoid holiday times like Easter, especially, when I feel the key members of staff are away visiting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I am a tour guide from Portugal and I use this hotel in Sofia for my groups. During my last stay in 23 of February, one of my company travelers got his passport stolen. We asked the hotel staff to help us to go to a police station and the staff couldn´t more helpful. I highly recomend this hotel for the compreension of the staff and for the great breakfast. I must also say that, Mrs. Boriana, hotel manager, couldn´t more available for our requests. In Sofia this definetly the best choice and your money will not be wasted if you use this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irozeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Dear Sir,
thank you for your nice words. For us is always pleasure being helpful and try to do the best for each guest.
Thank you for booking Sveta Sofia hotel and thank you for your stay.
We hope we'll see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Good location, big rooms, but very poor conditions, awfull food (e.g. expired milk)... for sure not a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mihaelagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The rooms were small, no-frills, and reasonably clean.

The air conditioning either didn't work or wasn't very powerful, so if you are sensitive to heat be careful staying here during the hot summer.

The location was good, right on a pedestrian shopping street in the old Jewish quarter of the city.

Hotel staff were helpful and kind. They charge an additional fee if you want to pay by credit card.

The free breakfast was somewhat disgusting--foods looked like they had been sitting out for a while, and the selection wasn't great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Gloria Palace Hotel
#87 of 135 in Sofia
181 reviews
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 135 in Sofia
596 reviews
Hotel Light
#12 of 135 in Sofia
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Niky
#14 of 135 in Sofia
268 reviews
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 135 in Sofia
484 reviews
Serdica
Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sveta Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sveta Sofia

Address: ul.Pirotska 18, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $44 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sveta Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sveta Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sveta Sofia Hotel Sofia
Sveta Hotel Sofia
Sofia Sveta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing