We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay on a budget”
Review of Sveta Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sveta Sofia
Ranked #76 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The rooms were small, no-frills, and reasonably clean.

The air conditioning either didn't work or wasn't very powerful, so if you are sensitive to heat be careful staying here during the hot summer.

The location was good, right on a pedestrian shopping street in the old Jewish quarter of the city.

Hotel staff were helpful and kind. They charge an additional fee if you want to pay by credit card.

The free breakfast was somewhat disgusting--foods looked like they had been sitting out for a while, and the selection wasn't great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 183 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

Excellent position, very close to city center. The room was comfortable and generally satisfactory and clean. The mini bar was empty all the days.
Breakfast very good, but the restaurant did not qualify for its 4-star rating: very dirty tableclothes and chairs-covers!!! Dented (and sometimes not very well cleaned) plates and teapots... Saturday night, after dinner, they offered us apples in a plastic basin (see relative photo) put on the central table !!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Dear Mrs. Kate,
responding to your review, I would like to inform you of the actions taken at the Sveta Sofia hotel, because we never do not tolerate reluctance of the staff to perform their duties. Unfortunately we are unable to move back and make you feel the 4-star service, but the waiter showed willfulness and served the fruits in this absurd way, was FIRED. All staff of the restaurant Sveta Sofia has been changed and currently is working a new staff who perform their duties strictly and ensure that such nonsense will not be repeated anymore.
Regarding the mini bar - yes, it is really so, but you were with us as part of a group accommodation and do not want to insult you, but there are many tourists who do not pay for the consumed mini bar. It is therefore agreed with the guides that the room mini bar will be emptied and there won’t be any misunderstandings with the group departure.
I do apologize again for your disappointment and that we have not answered of your expectations. Hopefully in the future if you have the opportunity to visit Sveta Sofia hotel again, you will feel the difference in service at our restaurant.
Sincerely,
Boriana Stratieva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel from the 31st August to the 3rd September 2011 (3 nights).
We were visiting Sofia as England were playing the Bulgarian national team in a Euro 2012 qualifier.
Have to say we really enjoyed our stay at the Sveta Sofia, the staff were helpful and friendly, the standard triple room we had was very spacious and the hotel was situated in a location which was very quiet at night. We didn't try the hot food at breakfast but found the cold buffet plentiful and a lot better than had been stated in some of the reviews on here.
If we return to Sofia in the future would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again as we certainly found it great value for money. Thanks to the staff at the Sveta Sofia for making our stay such a pleasurable one.

The Hammond family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tractorboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you very much for your nice words and mostly thank you for being our guest. Each review is very important for us as we have a feedback how we are doing. Thank you once again and hopefully you will be our guest again.
Boriana Stratieva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel has a number of very big rooms full of light in the pedestrian precinct of the City without noise from the street. The marketing manager of the hotel is really friendly and professional: she helps me a lot of time solving problems with the organization of some trips in Bulgaria (finding the best price for me), printing documents (I was there for a Congress) and go on...thank you Boriana!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XXX-Padova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you were happy with your stay and we met your expectations. It is always our pleasure serving our guests and do everything possible for your pleasent stay. We do believe will see you again in future.
Regards,
Boriana Stratieva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Me and my wife spent two nights at the hotel Sveta Sofia. The first impression was positive. Refreshed room, friendly service. The worst was a visit to the restaurant. About 7 in the morning we ate breakfast in the company of drinking beer and smoking a cigarette waiter. There were also his two colleagues - all straight after the party. Tragedy. Eating tasteless, stale and dirty everywhere. Service terrible.
Certainly doesn't deserve for four stars. I wouldn't go there the second time, so I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piotr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Dear Sir,
first at all I would like thank you for your review and for your opinion. In each my review replies I am asking everybody, that if there is something not nice, you have to contact our management team and then we will serve you as you are expecting and as you have to be served. Regretfully in most of the places over the world, people are different and most of them are working not in the full meaning of the word "Work". I do appologize from all Sveta Sofia hotel team for your unpleasant stay and regarding the mentioned waiter - after this bad behaviour, he is not working for us anymore. My colleagues and me are trying to provide good services and everybody to be happy with Sveta Sofia hotel, but sometimes, small things are crushing everything. I do appologize once again and if we have a chanse to meet you again, you will be served as you have to be.
Thanks once again.
Sincerely,
Boriana Stratieva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Went for College trip. Better than I expected because it was small on the outside. I thought the rooms were pretty spacious. The bathrooms are really big...with probably the smallest shower I have ever been in. The only time we used the resturant downstairs was for breakfast. Buffet style. Very different than American breakfast which was interesting to try.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lifeisgood905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stayed here for three nights. Clean room and very friendly staff. The rooms could do with some real art. My room was a bit neutral, I would say. Internet is fast and there is a wireless connection making it irrelevant to bring a cable. Most rooms in the back face rooms in an other building some ten meters away. Breakfast is OK I guess. I have craved for better breakfasts at English hotels claiming to be four star hotels. This is fair enough, pancakes, bread, sausages, etc.. the coffee was horrible though.

Short story: Central location and value for money.. Recommended! Double your pay and get less at other hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank munr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2011

Dear Sir / Madam,
thank you for your review and thank you for your rating. Your opinion is very important for us, as we try do the best and respond to all of your needs.
We do believe will see you again in our hotel.
Sincerely,
Boriana Stratieva
Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hotel Light
#11 of 135 in Sofia
192 reviews
Gloria Palace Hotel
#98 of 135 in Sofia
186 reviews
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 135 in Sofia
739 reviews
Oborishte
Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Serdica
Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sveta Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sveta Sofia

Address: ul.Pirotska 18, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $54 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sveta Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sveta Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sveta Sofia Hotel Sofia
Sveta Hotel Sofia
Sofia Sveta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing