We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Stay in a Central Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay in a Central Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a tour of the Balkans.

This is a beautifully appointed hotel close to the centre and the Alexander Nevsky cathedral. We had a suite (202) and it was fabulous.

The bed was massive and very comfortable in a huge corner bedroom. Strange that only one single quilt was supplied but another single quilt was in the wardrobe !

The bathroom was luxurious BUT the floor is *lethal* - be very careful because the bath tub is very high and has a wide rim - I only chanced one shower as there is no grab rail and being slightly disabled I struggled to stay safe exiting.

The towels were large, plentiful and fluffy but there was only one loo roll all our stay.

We ate in the hotel both nights and the food was good.

Breakfasts were also good with plenty of choice.

I would highly recommend this lovely hotel for a stay in Sofia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPI-Hotels, General Manager at Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Sirs,
Thank You very much for the excellent rating! Actually You had a free upgrade in deluxe suite. We are glad that You've liked it. The second quilt is usually in the wardrobe because there are big enough and practice shows that if the quests require separate blankets we just put those from the wardrobe. We also appreciate Your recommendation about the bathroom. It is strange that You did not see the grab rail which is on the wall. We already put two paper rolls in each room. We apologize for the caused inconvenience.

We wish You all the best and hope to welcome You again in Boutique Hotel Crystal Palace!

From the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    92
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
32
29
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wichita,ks
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very convenient hotel. Near tourist sights e.g. Alexander Nevsky, but across the street from a park and near non-touristy Sofia neighborhood where foreign embassies are located. Appx. 7 minute walk to the Sofia University Metro Stop. No more than 20 minutes away from the airport. Many good restaurants and bars in the neighborhood. Across the street from a park.
Nice selection of choices on the breakfast buffet. Service was professional, but friendly. Rooms and hotel very clean.
Bathroom was fairly large and very clean.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms were quieter. I heard some people talking in the street late one night when I st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is centrally located near the yellow brick road and Sofia University. It I also near touristy sites and a metro station. It is only 15 minutes from the airport. The lobby is comfortable as is the bar and restaurant. There is a pretty patio associated with the restaurant. The hotel is extremely clean. The stairwell sparkles and smells like citrus. The rooms are just as clean. Beds are comfortable. I did not detect street noise. The bathroom is spacious w large tub and shower. There is plenty of storage space with closet and a safe. There is a flat screen tv with a variety of channels in different languages. This hotel is across the street from a park and is within walking distance of good bars and restaurants.service is top notch and friendly. I think breakfast is a convenient option with a large variety of options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Nevada
Level Contributor
379 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel meets and exceeds any requirements a business traveler or touring passenger might want. Hotel staff speak English and are very patient with guests, who do not speak Bulgaria and do not read Cyrillic. The rooms are clean and spacious, the bathrooms, bathtubs and showers are without issue. The location could not be better: walking distance to non-commission 24/7 currency exchange office, cathedrals, monuments, lovely park begging for picnickers, shops, grocery stores, restaurants, you name it. The room price is reasonable and great value. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beetcanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a nice friendly well run hotel...located right by the university and within easy walking distance from Sofia center. Nice clean, large rooms, with a tasty breakfast. English speaking staff. Reasonable rates. Located on a quiet street, across from a small park, and by several restaurants.

Room Tip: No worry...street side rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel that is excellently located within a short walking distance from the main tourist attractions, the city centre and the Alexander Nevsky Cahedral. There is a large park opposite where one can have a morning walk and an outlet of the famous "must do" Jimmy's Ice Cream parlour" next door. The only downside I felt was the overlarge lobby that lacked "warmth" and the huge breakfast area, which while necessary for groups, was too minimalistic for a boutique hotel.
The rooms were adequate and comfortable and quiet. We did not get to use the swimming pool but it looked rather attractive! I would not hesitate to strongly recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmrishNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed here on numerous occasions and it keeps getting better. Ever since Bulgaria became a member of the EU both the Hotel and the surrounding area has improved considerably.

Rooms are decent (always very well kept) and WIFI connection is stable, always a plus when on a business trip.

Good selection of Whiskey's at the bar. If you are not much of a drinker I recommend the freshly made juices. The carrot and orange one being my favorite.

Hotel restaurant is also surprisingly good but expensive in comparison to standard Sofia restaurants.

Staff is always very polite and helpful.

My only concern is that the Gym is a tad on the small side.

I will be going back though :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Llanito-gib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#2 of 128 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 128 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 128 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#7 of 128 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Thracia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel

Property: Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel
Address: ul.Shipka 14, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#15 Business Hotel in Sofia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel is a 4 star hotel located in downtown Sofia, next to the famous Doctor's Garden, Sofia's National Library, the University of Sofia, the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and other main institutions, cultural sights and places of interest. The stylish hotel offers 63 spacious and cozy rooms and apartments behind a facade that is defined as an architectural monument. The elegantly furnished hotel is well equipped with modern amenities and has 2 conference rooms, a lobby bar, a sophisticated restaurant and a SPA & Wellness center. Crystal Palaces' restaurant and lobby are very popular amongst members of the Bulgarian government and high society. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Boutique Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing