We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the city.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the city.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice hotel with more than helpful staff. Situated central but the city really is a let down. Breakfast wasn't the best but was palatable and plentiful. Nice bathroom with a good shower. Good WI FI connection.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worksop1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZhivkoZhelyazkov, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experiences. I really appreciate the high grade you have given to all staff, because the honest opinion of guests has great importance for hotel management and helps for improving level of services and quality of amenities. I’m really sorry the breakfast didn’t correspond completely to your expectations, but I’m absolutely sure it will find your requirements if you decide to be again guest of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bristol Hotel. I’m delighted regard to your positive comments you have written for the bathroom facilities and WI FI connection. Surely hope to see you again on your next visit to Sofia.

Kind regards,
Zhivko Zhelyazkov
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    181
    73
    20
    18
See reviews for
62
137
42
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good value for money hotel close to the center. The room has a medium size. Not small but not big enough for a 4 star hotel. The bathroom was excellent. Huge and comfortable. They have a good free Wi-Fi all over the hotel. Breakfast was good as well. Concerning the stuff, most of them were very helpful while few were not that good. Bar was more than expensive. The thing we didn’t like was the fact that although we booked a non refundable offer, they hadn’t charged our credit card before our arrival and that created a problem on our check-out while we weren’t sure about that fact until we called our bank.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pellegrina_leone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZhivkoZhelyazkov, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Mrs. Leone,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I really appreciate your superlative comments concerning to the size and comfort of the bathroom and I am glad you enjoyed hotel amenities and breakfast quality. Most of our guests shared that the bar prices are very affordable and even much lower than those of other four star hotels they stayed, but I am grateful for bringing our attention to your experience and really sorry for your disappointment. I am surprised about this misunderstanding and inconvenience happened concerning to payment on your check out day. Our policy for all non-refundable reservations is to make authorization of credit card (blocking the amount on your account), provided by the guest as a guarantee for arrival. This means you can not operate with this amount but the actual payment is not made. This procedure has entered in the hospitality practice because in many cases guests upon arrival prefer to pay for their stay cash or by another credit card. Thank you again for your comments and accurate observations. We are delighted to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Bristol Hotel.


Kind regards,
Zhivko Zhelyazkov
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights last summer. I can say the decoration inside is good... It is a newly refurbished hotel with nice bathroom, comfortable bed and nice wallpapers. Air condition is working quite well. I liked the Breakfast bar too but I was totally disappointed as I had lunch on the first day of my visit in Hotel. Waiter was rude, took ages to prepare my dish and food was not worthy for the value of money. I also noticed some of reception staff also serve in bar which does not look professional to me. Apart from that, hotel experience was fine. Area is close to downtown but so busy and crowded so forget the idea of leaving the windows open. My opinion? 3 stars...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedramGh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very nice hotel, small and welcoming.
The staff were all friendly, smiling and willing to serve us any time.
Our room was beautiful warm and always clean.
We really liked the breakfast as there was nearly anything to eat and always hot aromatic coffee for us to drink.
The hotel is in a great location close to transport.
You can go on foot to the city center within five to ten minutes from many directions, passing through main streets full of shops, restaurants and clubs.
Although situated in a central location at night there is no noise from the streets which are full of people.

We recommend it unreservedly."

We would like to thank all nice people (and excellent hotel staff) of the hotel Best Western Plus Bristol who made our stay in Sofia, pleasant and easy.

Maria and Georgios from Cyprus

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamaria_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZhivkoZhelyazkov, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Anamaria,
Thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor. I am delighted regard to your positive comments you have written for our property. The main aim of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bristol Hotel is to respond to all guests requirements and for us your high rating means you enjoyed totally our amenities and services. The high grade you have given concerning to attitude and experience of all hotel staff is a truly honor. I surely hope you will recommend our hotel and I will be very glad if you decide to be our guests again on your next visit to Sofia.


Kind regards,
Zhivko Zhelyazkov
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumanovo, Kumanovo, Macedonia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is new, opened this year.The location is good, short walk to the city centre.The room is nice.The brekfast is ok, not much choice but ok.The staff is very kind, there is no parking, but they park your car close to the hotel in guarded parking,It cost 5 euro per day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank encino13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZhivkoZhelyazkov, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Vilim,
Thank you to share your experiences. I am very pleased to read your honest feedback because it helps us to improve our level of services. We are very glad that our amenities, attitude and experience satisfied completely your requirements and corresponded to your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you again as a guest of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bristol Hotel.


Kind regards,
Zhivko Zhelyazkov
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I got a really good deal through a major Internet site. The hotel was easy to find. From the airport it took me about an hour to get their by bus and metro. By taxi you could probably do it in about 20-25 minutes. It's a ten-minute walk from the Serdika metro station. The area is not the most beautiful part of Sofia, but major sites are nearby, most within a 25-minute walk. My room was about average size, very clean, especially the bathroom. It appears to be a renovated older building. The TV had over 100 channels, many showing films or TV series in English with Bulgarian subtitles. Besides the room and the restaurant, there is nothing else here. The breakfast was about average, but better than most small hotels in Eastern Europe. Of course it didn't compare to a Hilton or Radisson. The view from my room was a small courtyard and the backs of buildings, so don't count on a good view. Facing the street could be loud. I've stayed at five different hotels in Sofia and the BW Bristol ranks second for value for money. My favorite is the Hilton, which is only reasonably priced on weekends. The Radisson and Sofia Plaza disappointed and I can't remember the name of the remaining one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polyglotandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller294452, Manager at Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
Dear Happy Guest.

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending BEST WESTERN PLUS Bristol Hotel hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care!

Best Regards,

Petar Kostov
/General Manager/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel really is in a great location, about a ten minute walk to everything and a good selection of bars nearby. Try the traditional Bulgarian restaraunt around the corner! Takes about ten mins to the airport and a local taxi will charge about ten leva (do not use the hotel transfer its about 50 euros!)
The hotel itself is good, the bathroom is the best bit about the room. The room is a little small but as eveything is new its such a good quality - the bed is comfy and the bath towels are amazing! Only thing I would say is that the walls are a little thin so it does get a little noisy but wasn't really a problem after a few of the local beers!
Perfect for a city break - there are cheaper hotels out there but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
690 reviews
Oborishte
Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poduyane
City Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Central Park Hotel
#20 of 133 in Sofia
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel
Address: 69, Bul. Hristo Botev, Sofia 1303, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Serdica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New luxury Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel is located in the heart of Sofia, ready to meet the sophisticated tastes of every guest with a preference for high class, warm hospitality and international standard of service. The architecture of the hotel is a typical modern urban style, perfectly recorded in the aristocratic part of the Bulgarian capital, Sofia known as the Largo. 7-Story building creates a corporate business style but with a touch of home comfort. The elegant and spacious rooms are designed in classic colors burgundy, green and brown, perfectly combined with white leather furniture and dark wood. The restaurant at the European level, the lobby bar with an English flair and modern conference hall pleasant surprise guests. Best Western Hotel Bristol Plus is a symbol of good taste and iconic luxury, but affordable prices for customers who know what they look for and how to find it. Very convenient location for a hotel near the historical and cultural sites, government and city institutions makes it a desirable destination and starting point for any visitor of modern Sofia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing