We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Layered Frescoes”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Boyana Church

Boyana Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.98*
and up
Sofia Full-Day Tour
Ranked #4 of 168 things to do in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the foot of Mt. Vitosha, Bojana Church is about 900 years old. The church houses the National Museum, which focuses on regional history, art and cultural artifacts.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
350 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Amazing Layered Frescoes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Leaving Sofia and driving to Plovdiv, we decided to stop at the Boyana Church and were glad that we did. Though the atmosphere is really not conducive for visitors, it is understandable. They let in only 8 people at a time and you can only stay 10 minutes. The woman inside who monitors the groups did her best to provide information, but it is wise to read up ahead of time so that you can spend your time looking at the beautiful frescoes. The church is quite small and you can view the frescoes close up. While lots of churches have frescoes, what makes this one amazing is the layers! You can clearly see several layers of frescoes on the same walls showing the different styles due to changing times. We really would have liked to spend more time there and certainly be able to take some interior photos, but we were glad that we stopped.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SACALosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    237
    114
    27
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Murals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The murals at Boyana Church are simply amazing. While the Church building itself may not impress, the murals inside more than make up. Only 8 people allowed inside at one time. Entrance ticket 6 Lev along with Natural History Museum entrance. Makeshift toilet very unclean. Difficult to find transport there so you are best advised to hold on to the taxi (waiting in .22 lev per minute).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovayager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A tiny gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We opted for taking public transportation (2 buses) to get there, which was a bit of a schlep, but we were so glad we took the trouble! It's a real treat to be so close to these beautiful icons, still in situ, instead of viewing icons either from a distance in a church, or out of context in the museum.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank D U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“smaal but beautifull church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Really a church you should have seen while visiting Sofia. It is Unesco. Take a cab, (they are really cheap in Sofia). Beautifull frescos, only the guide from the church is a bit boring.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank stefaan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sciez, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fabulous excursion back into the 11th century”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

When I was told we'd be visiting a "small church" - I was dubious but polite. O.K. - I was the visitor, I'd go along. The fact is that this small church dates back to the 11th and 13th centuries and is on the UNESCO World heritage list. And justifiably so. The outside in narrow decorative brick-work is charming and reminded me of certain churches in central and northern Greece. The low shell-shocked door (battered by the Turkish army) leads into an extraordinary interior entirely covered with vivid paintings of saints, apostles, Bible stories and Jesus. From floor to ceiling, the ceilings too You can find these in many places but what takes your breath away are the expressions on the faces of the figures - They are alive with animation - you just KNOW what's going on in their minds. This for the epoque is extremely rare as religious painting was very stylized a thousand years ago. Some repairs were effectuated in the 16th century maintaining the same style. This excursion was indeed a wonderful surprise and I thoroughly recommend a visit. Unfortunately the alotted 10 minutes (only 8 visitors at a time) go far too fast and one is once again out in the graveyard before one has really had time to see every detail.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felicity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boyana Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing