We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boyana Church

Boyana Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.06*
and up
Sofia Full-Day Tour
Ranked #4 of 168 things to do in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the foot of Mt. Vitosha, Bojana Church is about 900 years old. The church houses the National Museum, which focuses on regional history, art and cultural artifacts.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to the church. You only have 10 minutes inside and there is no picture taking but it is a great experience. The regular guide was not on duty but the lady who was there was very helpful on explaining the history of the church. If you intend to visit the nearby National Museum of History ask for the combination ticket. It was not advertised at the church but was at the museum.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    237
    115
    27
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Boyana Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Small but neat 11th century Church. Very well restored and well worth a visit either on the Monastery day tour or a taxi ride to the oustskirts of the southern site.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank THart449_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
146 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“This is a must visit. A jewel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a fairly close taxi ride from most hotels in Sofia. It is a BEAUTIFUL 10th C church with different layers of frescos on top of each other. It is a tiny church where you can see layers of history from the 10th and 12th C. You will be encouraged to buy the services of a guide, but this is not necessary as there is a museum guide inside the church who will tell you about the frescos, etc. Our guide was a lovely woman who very obviously loved this church and its treasured frescos. I can understand her feelings. It is a treasure. It is also on the list of UNESCO World Heritage sites. Don't miss it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank costaricajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stunning Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Well, I don't know how I managed it, but I got the tour of all tours of this lovely little church. The gentleman gave me "the great honour" of unlocking the door with three turns of the key, each one representing a wish I could make. Then, he took my hand, and guided me step by step to every little significant feature inside. He even shut me inside the church for one minute all by myself so I could pray or think or admire in peace. The church and frescos were absolutely wonderful. The tour ended with hugs and a kiss on the cheek. Stunning church, stunning guide, wow.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie6472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Frescos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

It is a very old church from the 11th Century that is well kept. They let 10 people enter per time without the use of cameras or video footage to keep the frescos found inside from damage

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NadaHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boyana Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing