We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Ramada Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Sofia
Ranked #50 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Located across the bus and the train station it's a nice 4 star hotel, although a little pricey for the quality they offering. The room we've got was standard twin bed room 30m2, but it was clean. Great minus are the beds, the mattresses which are very uncomfortable. No mini bar in the room, but they have room service, and a lots of other facilities, like lobby, restaurant, conference room, casino etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 750 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 11.30pm from the bus station which is across the road. The area is fine although not much nearby. The metro station is one minute walk from the hotel giving access to the city centre. Beautiful spacious reception area and pleasant bar with good service and reasonable prices. The room we had on the 9th floor had great views, was clean but fairly basic. The breakfast buffet was mediocre and not particularly appetising. Avoid the coffee. There is a large indoor swimming pool and nice garden off with tables and parasols which you can enjoy a drink in. The hotel has a hairdresser/beauty salon, gift shop, travel agency and has a large casino attached, which we didn't use. All in all a good experience for a large hotel chain and an excellent location for arrival/departure by public transport.

Room Tip: Rooms to front have great views but are noisy with air conditioning plant outside and early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosiegeeGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We booked a Superior room for three nights, which was an adequate size, basic and outdated, good job as we hate to think what a normal room would be like. There was tea/coffee facilities which we welcomed. The room definitely needs a renovation, carpet was old and threadbare and parting in places. Curtain was smaller than the window! at least the view was very nice. The bathroom was small with the WC positioned behind the door, very uncomfortable. Wifi was available in the room. Breakfast was plentiful and a good variety. Although not even a 'good morning' or a smile was offered by the waiters!! The spa and indoor pool, well leaves much to be desired!! water was very cold and children jumping about, not a place to relax in. Pity, as we were looking forward to it. Do not attempt to get any help from the Excursion office that is supposed to offer excursions, as they know nothing and will do nothing. We went there to buy a couple of excursions and although they had the pamphlets, they could not book it!! The hotel's management or rather the owner has just installed an x ray machine similar to the ones at the airport to check on baggage. It is a monstrosity, ugly and made us uneasy as to why it is a necessary to the hotel to check all the luggagel!!
English is not spoken by most of the hotel staff, which made it a lot difficult to understand. We had a couple of good taxi drivers, mainly Kirill, who was very helpful and spoke good English. Also the concierge were very helpful and they did speak English. On the whole this hotel should have a 3* standard not four star. The casino on site is quite an attractions and there is a bureau de change 24/7 which was quite handy.

Room Tip: Although we had a beautiful view of the city and the mountains, our sleep was interrupted by dogs ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitmiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a Leger tour round the Balkans. I have mobility problems, so I have written this with that in mind.

The hotel seems very modern, and looks relatively expensive. We'd asked for a twin room, and were more than pleasantly surprised to be assigned a proper disabled room, complete with a wet-room. The bedroom was large with air conditioning, but the latter was quite poor. We think that the hotel keeps it switched off (centrally) until 5pm or so, and then switches it off again sometime during the night. The room was therefore overly hot. (Temperatures outside were in the 30s.) Our beds weren't made until after 3pm, and only then when we phoned reception about them. These things rather let the hotel down.

The hotel does offer foreign exchange, but what a rigmarole. They have a casino in the hotel. To change money, you have to go and enrol as a member at the casino (with passport), then go to the cashier in the casino and ask for the exchange.

The food was good for both dinner and breakfast (both buffets for us), though we were a little surprised to find that there was no drinks waiter. The beds were comfortable.

The hotel seems to be very good in places, and poor in others. I like my comfort, so the air conditioning was, for me, a problem. The disabled room, on the other hand, was almost a miracle, and totally unexpected. But it's position in the town raises the overall rating, hence the 5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleBlackDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Ideal for Casino fans and gamblers. Rooms are very old and low standard. Can be considered as 3 star.. Definitely needs renovation. Food was good. Staff is very friendly and trying to help.
Don't take taxi from outside as they are cheaters, always ask from the reception and concierge that they are very helpful for everything.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahsoyaslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is in a great location - only about a 10 or 15 minute walk from the center of town. We were able to get a great deal booking online the two times that we stayed here (approximately 40% off each time) so for us the price and the location were right. The furnishings in the room are pretty basic and outdated, but we found that to be the case in all of the hotels that we stayed around the country so it does not seem like something worth complaining about. The staff at the hotel was really helpful and they spoke wonderful English. The two other great things about the hotel is the breakfast and the on-site spa services. The number of options included in the breakfast are a bit overwhelming, but delicious. It is really not to be missed. The spa services are really great and guests can use their pool. Two issues with the spa - 1) the women who work at the front desk are incredibly rude (particularly to women) and they are not willing to provide a comprehensive price list for the services available. If you are going to use the spa (which i recommend) you should first go online to look at all of the services available as well as the pricing because they are not particularly forth coming with this information; 2) the staff will constantly try to up-sell your treatments. My husband counted that during the span of one 50 minute massage he was offered up-sells 5 different times. My massage was literally stopped half-way through the procedure to discuss other add-ons that I could have (incredibly annoying).

Overall, I would highly recommend staying in this hotel. One tip - don't use the car service offered by the hotel for airport transit. Our cab drivers did not have any problem finding the hotel and the cab ride was less than 20 lev - significantly less than the hotel charges for this service.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are really great. French bed is code for double bed - we didn't know that befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel offers very comfortable rooms and good reasonably priced food. I had an excellent stay here which is well placed to set out to see the town. There is a good swimming pool and you can order food 24 hours. I believe that for conferences it has probably the biggest conference room in the Balkans. The ladies have the spa to go to and there is a casino for gamblers. For me the main advantage was convenience.

Room Tip: Try to book a room away from the casino side especially if you are lower than the say the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
2.9 mi away
Maison Sofia Hotel
Maison Sofia Hotel
#25 of 133 in Sofia
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#8 of 133 in Sofia
469 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Marinela Sofia
Hotel Marinela Sofia
#27 of 133 in Sofia
739 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Sofia
0.8 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 133 in Sofia
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sofia

Address: 131 Maria Luisa Blvd, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria (Formerly Sofia Princess Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#15 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $57 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Sofia is one of the largest hotels on the Balkan Peninsula, offering excellent rooms and professional service. The hotel is located within walking distance from the city centre, 15 km from Sofia International Airport and near the Central Railway Station. In short, the hotel is convenient placed for both business and pleasure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dedeman Princess Sofia Hotel Sofia
Best Western Sofia
Sofia Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing