We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast in Bulgaria”
Review of Ramada Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Sofia
Ranked #41 of 132 Hotels in Sofia
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Bulgaria”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is in a great location - only about a 10 or 15 minute walk from the center of town. We were able to get a great deal booking online the two times that we stayed here (approximately 40% off each time) so for us the price and the location were right. The furnishings in the room are pretty basic and outdated, but we found that to be the case in all of the hotels that we stayed around the country so it does not seem like something worth complaining about. The staff at the hotel was really helpful and they spoke wonderful English. The two other great things about the hotel is the breakfast and the on-site spa services. The number of options included in the breakfast are a bit overwhelming, but delicious. It is really not to be missed. The spa services are really great and guests can use their pool. Two issues with the spa - 1) the women who work at the front desk are incredibly rude (particularly to women) and they are not willing to provide a comprehensive price list for the services available. If you are going to use the spa (which i recommend) you should first go online to look at all of the services available as well as the pricing because they are not particularly forth coming with this information; 2) the staff will constantly try to up-sell your treatments. My husband counted that during the span of one 50 minute massage he was offered up-sells 5 different times. My massage was literally stopped half-way through the procedure to discuss other add-ons that I could have (incredibly annoying).

Overall, I would highly recommend staying in this hotel. One tip - don't use the car service offered by the hotel for airport transit. Our cab drivers did not have any problem finding the hotel and the cab ride was less than 20 lev - significantly less than the hotel charges for this service.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are really great. French bed is code for double bed - we didn't know that befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    222
    229
    65
    53
See reviews for
73
133
89
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel offers very comfortable rooms and good reasonably priced food. I had an excellent stay here which is well placed to set out to see the town. There is a good swimming pool and you can order food 24 hours. I believe that for conferences it has probably the biggest conference room in the Balkans. The ladies have the spa to go to and there is a casino for gamblers. For me the main advantage was convenience.

Room Tip: Try to book a room away from the casino side especially if you are lower than the say the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel is situated at central section of the town. A few minutes walk to the bazaar, bus and train stations. But the rooms were not clean enough and some of them were not suppiled by shampoo, soap etc. When we reached there the rooms were not ready so we had to wait..The staff was quite friendly.The building and rooms need a good restoration.WE were satisfied with the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogugul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Good location near to bus and train station. Metro nearby as well to get to city centre easily enough. Hotel was clean and staff friendly. Breakfast wasn't the greatest. Bags were left in reception all day without any issue.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great hotel to stay at while you're in Sofia. The location is away from the center of the city but, is in a prime location as it is near the bus station and a major subway stop so transit around the city is not an issue. The hotel itself is dated on the outside but, inside is very nice and modern. The room could have been better as it used to be a smoking room but, they put on a new coat of paint and called it non-smoking. The bar, spa, pool, and casino are all great and the service counter is very professional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good stay in Sofia at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Request a room above the 5th floor that is facing the street. Great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good service by all staff on check in, right trough to leaving. The Hotel offers a complementary shuttle bus to and from the Airport at specific times everyday, which is a major asset, not having to worry about getting a taxi, worrying about being overcharged and finding the right place!!
Good selection at breakfast of cooked food and cold meats, olives, cereals, yogurts etc Lovely clean well kept room with twin beds and tea/coffee making facilities, which was very nice when getting back to the room.

Room Tip: We had a superior room, which was lovely with a window view. I didn't get to see any of the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyroupolis, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's a really beautiful place and a very good first picture of the Bulgarian capital city. Great food in its restaurant. Very modern and large rooms with all the amenities. It has it's own secure car parking. It's a value match highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
2.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Sofia
0.8 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#4 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#9 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sofia

Property: Ramada Sofia
Address: 131 Maria Luisa Blvd, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria (Formerly Sofia Princess Hotel)
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#14 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Sofia is one of the largest hotels on the Balkan Peninsula, offering excellent rooms and professional service. The hotel is located within walking distance from the city centre, 15 km from Sofia International Airport and near the Central Railway Station. In short, the hotel is convenient placed for both business and pleasure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ramada Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dedeman Princess Sofia Hotel Sofia
Best Western Sofia
Sofia Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing