We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect location, good services” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location, good services”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

It doesn`t matter if you are a business or leisure traveler, this hotel offers perfect location for both cases. Although located in the heart of the city, the transport from and to Sofia Airport is for approximately 15min.
As a leisure traveler you are 5-15 min walking distance from the most important monuments and historical places to visit.
As a business traveler the hotel provides excellent services and facilities for meetings and conferences.
The rooms are a little bit smaller for 5* hotel, but cozy.
The range of the breakfast buffet was not as big as in other 5* hotels but the quality of food was on a high level. Coffee/Tea service provided.
The staff are very fiendly and helpful. Know their job very well.

Room Tip: Higher florrs, front side rooms (view to the Parliament)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panayot V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    298
    87
    20
    10
See reviews for
49
145
69
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

As a part of a group tour I spent a couple of nights here in early October 2013. This was my first time in Bulgaria. I found the location to be very desirable because I could walk to many of the attractions in the city. The included breakfast buffet was excellent. My room had a nice view and was comfortable. Front desk staff were pleasant and spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise CA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here last month while on a tour with over 40 fellow travelers and were very pleased with the comfortable, clean rooms. The manager of the hotel astounded us as he always called us by our names and not just sir or madam. The hotel is very centrally located to all the historic buildings and is right across the street from the Parliment building. Good restaurants are very close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coutou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Having been in Plovdiv for a few days on business. (Fascinating old city. Go and see!) i neeeded a hotel in Sofia before an early flight. Only half a day so wanted to be in city centre. Pleased with the choice of Radisson Blu Grand Hotel.. It is right opposite the government congress building and only 15 minutes walk from the main shopping/ outdoor restaurant street. Comfortasble clean rooms. Had read mixed things about Sofia regarding safety, but atmosphere welcoming with a smile on everyones face. And very good value for money.
Hotel careful to ensure I was not ripped off by taxis which was much appreciated.
Overall I really enjoyed my time in Bulgaria. The people are their own biggest critics and dont seem to take themselves too seriously .But the place has great potential.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlantationJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The personnel of this Hotel truly understand the meaning of service. Everything we requested was attended to and followed up with the question of how else can we help you? Location is right in the heart of the city and easy to get around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelertraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I will remember Radisson Blu, Sofia as the most inexpensive stay I have ever had in a five star hotel.

My preference for hotel booking mostly depends on the location and this one did not disappoint at all. The top historical sites were all within short walking distance, with the Parliament building and the dome of Alexander Nevski Cathederal vividly visible from the room. Sofia university, Russian Church, Hagia Sophia, Art Museum, Ethnography Museuem, Archaelogy Museum and the Natural History Museum are all located within very close proximity.

The room itself was fairly large and comfortable - the high point being the sitting arrangement for two (rarely found in hotels) where we (wife and I) spent long quality hours together; something we miss back home. Staff were very friendly and accommodative (except the bell desk).

Amongst few things that I did not like about this hotel - the bell desk is bit of a rip off (they are certainly not on the side of the hotel guest but on the side of the local taxi drivers); compared to the room tariff breakfast at 15 Euro per person is expensive; the facade of the hotel does not do justice to the architecture around and the elevators continue to be a problem.

Notwithstanding the above my overall experience was quite satisfactory and I will stay at this hotel on next visit to Sofia.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floors facing the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovayager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear lovayager,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback via TripAdvisor. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you would come again. However if you would like to share some more information about the bell staff please do not hesitate to contact me directly on kiril.radoev@radissonblu.com and I could assure you that the matter will be investigated further.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel when your travel plans bring you back to the area.

Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago and was very happy with everything about this hotel. The staff were extraordinarily helpful, with most of them having good English, the rooms were large and very comfortable and the the breakfasts were great. The rooms across the front of the hotel have great views of the gorgeous Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and the hotel is a short stroll from all of the main sights of Sofia and the shopping/restaurant district.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amcwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear amcwam,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Sofia and for your feedback shared via TripAdvisor.
It is really nice to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and had great time in the city.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#5 of 128 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#2 of 128 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#7 of 128 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Thracia Hotel
0.9 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#3 of 128 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia

Property: Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
Address: pl.Narodno sabranie 4, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#7 Business Hotel in Sofia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#13 Family Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History Built at the end of the 1960s, the hotel is part of Bulgaria’s cultural heritage and is within the architectural ensemble shaping the National Assembly Square. Located at the heart of the city, the hotel is part of one of world’s biggest hotel chains – Carlson Rezidor HotelGroup. All rooms on its north facade are overlooking the building of the Parliament right in front the St. Alexander Nevsky Cathedral, the National Gallery for Foreign Art and other cultural monuments. The latest design was appointed to the London-based worldwide¬¬ recognized designer Francis Sultana. His elegant approach combines contemporary and classic design, leaving a sense of style from the art deco era. The guests can now enjoy not only custom-made furniture for the building’s interior but also art pieces by the world’s top contemporary artists. Location Radisson Blu Grand Hotel is situated right in the heart of the downtown, in the middle of the most notable historical monuments and attractions the city has to offer. It is in a busy interchange of Tzar Osvoboditel Blvd., which is the continuation of the one of Sofia’s major thoroughfare Tsarigradsko shose (fastest connection with Sofia Airport), and Vasil Levski Blvd. The hotel enjoys excellent visibility and benefits from its proximity to the main roads in the city, connecting the downtown area with the business areas and its top location, nightlife diversity wise. The area is a gathering point for people having the most preferable places for going out, combining trendy restaurants with the best known night clubs, opera house, theaters, etc. In only just a short walk one can enjoy a great variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, galleries, shopping areas and all types of trendy places the downtown offers. Facilities Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia currently has 142 rooms and apartments among which Business class and sumptuous Suits (with private balconies) giving unique views, a New York style restaurant on the Mezzanine level called Studio, due to the remarkable art pieces as part of its fully renovated interior inclusive of custom-made furniture, showcasing fresh international and local selections, a chic Lounge Bar, the place to enjoy a hot drink during the day or a fancy cocktail in the evening. On the same Mezzanine level there is a fully renovated conference center in elegant contemporary design. The famous, especially for Wedding celebrations & dinner cocktails, ballroom, has now a rentable area of 290 square meters and a capacity of 240 delegates in theatre style, completed by 3 break-out rooms with a capacity of up to 50 seats. They all offer much natural lighting, a lighting control system and modern audio-visual equipment in line with the Radisson Blu Experience Meetings concept. It is a new way Meetings & Events re-vitalise the positioning of the brand in the important Meetings, Incentives, Conferences & Events arena, and differentiate the brand offerings from those of our competitors. Experience Meetings concept provides meeting planners and delegates with the highest level of consistent product and service delivery, including the Brain Food strategy. This is a product for meetings and conferences developed in the partnership between the 5* Chefs of Radisson Blu and well known nutrition experts. Research over the past few years has shown that eating the correct nutrients, at the right times, improves our ability to learn and concentrate, promotes quicker reactions and even lowers stress levels. These are all factors that can affect the quality of a meeting. Brain Food helps ensure that all meeting participants remain healthy and alert all the way through a meeting. It is being served in the specious foyer on the Mezzanine level, perfect also for quick snack, coffee or cocktail at the Lobby bar area. A cozy Business Lounge with controlled access, guarantees privacy of the Business class guests and outside clients, who prefer to relax, read, catch up on e-mails, socialize or watch the favorite channels on 75” TV. This newly opened lounge, with inspirational atmosphere finished by contemporary art and natural daylight, offers comfortable seating areas to provide opportunities for semi-private meetings. The hotel hosts a nightclub, well-known brand in the night life scene of Sofia for years, as well as a fully renovated Casino. Just recently a Luxurious Asian restaurant opened at the ground floor level, offering the view of the Parliament square from inside and also from its outside garden. Yes I Can! The core service philosophy of the Rezidor Hotel Group is the unique Yes I Can! attitude towards all guests every day. As a result, guests with any request are met with a positive response, and made to feel that their well-being is the sole priority of the member of staff assisting them. Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia is proud to be the first Green Key Certificated Hotel in Bulgaria. Green Key Award is the largest eco-label for accommodation, recognized and supported by the World Tourism Organization and UNEP. This certificate guarantees to the guests that the hotel operates in a Think Planet way - reducing the environmental footprint without compromising comfort and quality: the award guarantees eco-friendly lights; reducing energy & water consumption; treating all waste water; recycling a maximum of waste and others, all in full compliance with the Responsible Business Policy of Rezidor Hotel Group. Taking responsibility for the environment and local community has been an important part of Rezidor's broader commitment to sustainable development since the first environmental policy back in 1989. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia Hotel Sofia
Radisson Sofia
Sofia Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing