We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hotel Moskva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Hotel Moskva
Ranked #56 of 131 Hotels in Sofia
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Never again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Unfortunatley i had a terrible stay at this hotel.
Took one look at the door of our room and nearly cried, obviously they were renovating but it looked like a construction site with wires and bits and pieces hanging everywhere.
I had been previously warned about the 70's style of the hotel which would not of worried me but i think the beds we slept on were even older than that, you couldnt move your little finger without the bed squeaking so loudly and there were springs poking up out of the mattress also.
Then there was the issue of no air conditioning, it was unbelievably HOT. Beyond a joke, especially being on one of the top floors the heat was insane, i ended up at reception asking if i could change rooms, they told me no rooms were available and gave me a small fan to use which was better than nothing.
Also breakfast was stale and i could only get wifi in the lobby. Thank goodness Sofia is a beautiful place so i could avoid the room as much as possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leesh1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
4
15
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Park Hotel Moskva for 5 nights during a business trip with my wife.

The major flaw is that it is located pretty far from the city center. Of course there is metro station at a walking distance from the hotel, but if you want to enjoy nightlife, you have to deal with the taxi drivers, something i personally hate.

The rooms are clean, the carpet at the room didn't look so clean. The bathroom was recently renovated and it had a quite big tub.

Air-conditioning was a problem. It wasn't cold at all (even in the coldest setting) and we had to keep the windows open during the day (they don't open completely) in order to get rid of the smell (even in a non-smoking room).

The breakfast was very basic and low quality. The only very good part of the hotel, were the girls at the reception desk. They were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

the doors looked like they were being pried open, but the room was okay... the style was a bit crazy 70s style, but it was okay.
the breakfast apparently was awful, but we were lucky because there was an athletics conference staying here, and so they made it a lot better
considering that the conference guests were staying there, i presume that it may be one of the better hotels in the area
easy to get to from the central area of Sofia..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketing Department at Park Hotel Moskva, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Mada,

Thank you for the review, all marks will be considered. You are absolutely correct for the 70s. The hotel is since 1974, and it has been constantly, but partcially renovated, however I would like to invite you soon again, because park-hotel Moskva will be renovated during the summer. We open also a new summer garden, in which I believe we can change your opinion about the food. However, we will check your signal about the breakfast.
Thank you for your review.
Best regards

Boriana Ancheva
Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

I chose this simply because the conference organisers had picked it, and wasn't sure of the transport around Sofia. I had my doubts when I saw the price. The room is clean, but no comforts whatsoever. Soap is about as big as my thumbnail. Don't expect shower mat or shampoo or anything else. I'm ill and tried to order room service. No menu in the room, or something to tell you how to reach reception. I had to go downstairs and ask them how I can call reception.

The staff look friendly enough, but are probably not used to speaking English. One the phone, that means an hour of frustration.

The two good things:
1. Internet is free in the roon (cable only) and there is free wireless in the lobby
2. The view is amazing as it is located in a park

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SofiaTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sofia hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Wow. Like a time travel back to the eighties. The building and the interiors reminds me of that good old eighties luxury... But now it is 2011... What was good at that time, it is not that good as now. Close to the metro station and to great places to eat something. Staff were not the friendliest but if you asked for something politely, they did it for you. But the londiner guy was the greatest and friendliest person who I've ever met in hotels in my life. Basicly we just stayed there to sleep and for that, the place is perfect and that's it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lakusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Very poor service! Horrible architecture. Don't stay there!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frida2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

When we arrived at this hotel we were given the keys to a room on the 8th floor, the room was dirty. The wires were hanging out of the sockets, the curtains were filthy, and beds with no sheets on. My wife went to reception and said this is not good enough, he said "i know it is not very nice" then gave us keys to a room on the 10th floor. The room was acceptable.
Then after 3 days at the hotel they said we had to pay more for the move to the new room £78 more for 4 days. The hotel said we did not owe this money, but the travel agent who booked this hotel for us said we did. We were with a group of friends at this hotel who were in the same situation. Then they threatened to kick us out of the hotel and the country if we did not pay. (We payed reluctantly)

DO NOT USE THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PingPongDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hotel Dom na Ucheniya Ban
#77 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Lozenets
Silver House
Silver House
#36 of 131 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Diter Hotel
#90 of 131 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Europe Sofia
#92 of 131 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Novotel Sofia
#8 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Hill Hotel
#59 of 131 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Moskva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Moskva

Property: Park Hotel Moskva
Address: ul.Nezabravka 25 | Sofia, Sofia 1113, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 131 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel Moskva 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to, and still aside from the bustling city center, Park Hotel Moskva is located in the diplomatic district, next to the most beautiful area of greenery in Sofia - the Borisova Garden. The hotel offers quiet and peaceful place for business meetings and conference events, as well as for a comfortable stay and complete rest in the quietness and the pure fresh air coming from the forested park. Our hotel offers: - 120 guest rooms & 40 new suites, all enjoying panoramic views - 2 restaurants, summer & winter garden restaurants, a lobby-bar - 7 conference rooms with capacity ranging from 20 to 600 seats - car parking We are created for: - business meetings, seminars, conferences and congresses - cultural, artistic and sport events - celebrations, corporate parties, cocktails and gala dinners - weddings, anniversaries and ceremonies We are dedicated to the tradition of warm reception, professional and high quality services that we are renowned for, and we constantly strive to be sensitive to and satisfy our customers' individual requests, desires and preferences. The unique spectacular panoramic view over the entire city from all guest rooms and from the Panorama restaurant on the 19th floor will add a lovely final touch to the pleasant experience that awaits you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Hotel Moskva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing