We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Maria Luisa Sofia Bulgaria.”
Review of Hotel Maria Luisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Maria Luisa
Ranked #49 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is situated on a main street of Sofia. But despite of this the rooms are very quiet. My sister and her husband had a room overlooking the main street but they had no problems with noise. The only thing that they heard was the gentle rumbling of the tram.
Rooms are clean, the towels are changed every day and they have a nice, clean smell to them. The staff are very friendly and courteous. We were leaving the hotel at 07:30, the time the restaurant opens for breakfast, but they opened the restaurant at 07:00 so that we can get breakfast before we leave. I have been around a lot, but never had a hotel restaurant opened for us before opening time.
The view out of our window was a small garden that is shared by some residents, not a grand site BUT who is going to look out of the window when one is on holiday?
Price wise very moderate. I'd recommend this hotel, if we go back to Sofia, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 136 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

The fact is I barely managed to enter the hotel. I had booked a room online, confirmed the booking and started my journey towards Sofia. Just when I was arriving I received a phone call from the hotel, telling me that there was a problem with my room, which had become unavailable (they did not want to tell me what had happened), they didn't have any other, so I could not stay in their hotel. Imagine how nice it feels to find yourself for the first time in a foreign city, at 6 PM, with no accomodation.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank IonutB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed twice at the Maria Luisa with my adult daughter. Rooms were excellent with all the usual conveniences. Breakfasts were well above average, and the coffee shop Bulgarian menu was all one could ask for. The hotel is in an excellent location in Centrum, within easy walking distance of several of the main tourist sights of Sofia. It's on a tramline and 50 metres from a major taxi rank as well. The stand-out feature was the friendly service. On our last morning we had to leave at 7:00am to catch an Istanbul flight. When we were checking out, the desk girl said "We knew you were leaving early, and breakfast is included in the room price, so we made you a breakfast to take with you." She handed over two chic little bags with ham and cheese sandwiches, orange juice, and an apple! It beat the usual overpriced airport breakfast.

Room Tip: ASk for the room on the thirds floor with a balcony: great city square view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Sofia and stayed at the Maria Luisa Hotel. I found it on Hotel.com. We had a lovely suite, the staff were very friendly and attentive, and the Hotel is a landmark in the City. The price was so reasonable compared to nice hotels in the US. We will definitely stay there again when we travel to Sofia.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the Suite. It is definitely worth it if you are staying for more than a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Perfect location! Friendly and helpfull stuff but rooms are quite small. If you're late for breakfast you will find almost nothing there on the tables, so be in time! Good choice for business trip and tours arond the old town of Sofia

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexeiMoskviciov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed in the suite - lovely room, high ceilings, very comfortable and quiet. No external views but then looking at other travellers pictures maybe that's no bad thing! Bathroom ok. Staff extremely helpful. Provided free lift to and from a restaurant with which they have an 'arrangement' but it was excellent and very good value - I'd recomend it on its own terms although I can't remember the name. Excellent location - can't fault the place really. Breakfast good, didn't try the in house food otherwise. Internet excellent and free. Minibar well stocked and reasonable. A very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and book the suite - there aren't many places left in the world where you can aff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well situated in the city centre and within walking distance of the main sights. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean but not on the large side. An excellent breakfast is also provided. If you are looking for a central hotel at a reasonable price I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Poduyane
Arte Hotel
Arte Hotel
#52 of 135 in Sofia
173 reviews
Hotel Niky
#16 of 135 in Sofia
267 reviews
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 135 in Sofia
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sveta Sofia
#71 of 135 in Sofia
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Luisa

Address: 29 Maria Luisa Blvd, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Serdica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $63 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maria Luisa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Maria Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Luisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing