We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault it - staff could not do enough”
Review of Hotel Light

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Light
Ranked #14 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed in the suite and it was lovely , good size, clean and quiet . We got ice when we asked , pillows when we asked etc . The staff found info on the internet , phoned restaurants for us ,gave us directions . Wonderful.

Room Tip: Check different web sites
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boydryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Light
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 167 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2011

Very nice hotel great value for money. Just a short walk 5mins to centre. Good size room with clean and up to date bathroom. Lift with outside view, novel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for works so I can’t comment. Breakfast was ok served in the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Somewhat spartan, Hotel Light is NOT a four star hotel, which it rates itself. It is 2, maybe 3 star. The small room was not very clean and sparsely furnished. The small bathroom was well appointed, but no amenities were offered. The safe is not secured to the closet and can be removed. The bed was comfortable. The location is a 10 minute walk to downtown, nice during the day, but not so nice in the evening. Breakfasts was a bag with water, yogurt, an orange and an inedible, unidentifiable mashed up bread and meat thing that might have been a sandwich. Staff were not very accomodating. English is spoken, which is a big plus. There are better options in Sofia.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The Light Hotel is located in a quiet side street in the very centre of Sofia. It is 5 minutes walk to the main shopping street (Vitosha) and all the main central sights. It is conveniently located between the central area and the railway station (10 minutes walk). The hotel is of a high standard. It is modern, spotlessly clean, the rooms are of a good size. There is good free internet and a very wide selection of domestic and international television programmes. The bathroom was smallish in size, the shower was not seperate from the rest of the bathroom, which meant that most of the bathroom got wet when taking a shower. This was really only a minir irritation. For breakfast there was a range of hot and cold food (cereals, fruit, bread, meat, cheese, yoghurt etc). Overall very good value right in the centre. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheddie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

My single room was bright and very clean - however with the usual Bulgarian problem of the flat sheet being the same size as the mattress, so you can't tuck it in and you wake up lying on the bare mattress. Still, a very nice room. Breakfast was quite good. The first receptionist I saw was very cold, but the next morning another receptionist was on duty and she was lovely. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Great value for money hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, good central location, nicely decorated rooms which are nicer than we expected from the web photos. Liked the breakfast too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val_back_in_the_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Arrived from airport after a week in Bulgarian countryside. Taxi driver hadn't heard of it so the fact I'd written down the hotel name and address (in cyrillic - dunno if that helped) meant he could find it on his sat nav. OK taxi was 15 leva - traffic was heavy and took quite a while to get in, the hotel's down a side street. It was baking hot that day and we turned on the aircon unit for a bit in the room but this was quite noisy so we left it. Room was decent - lovely shower room, enough space to dump stuff. There's a lift too. On plugging in phone to charge, fuse for room blew - had to get staff up to flick switch outside, but was fine once we tried another socket!
We told the staff we wanted to get a train from Sofia to Bucharest the next day - they advised us against a train so looked up buses for us (which were no good timing wise). As it happened the train was fine - cheap and fairly slow but no problems!
We'd chosen the hotel as it was half way between the city centre and train station - was about 20 mins walk to station. Had a look round Sofia once it had cooled down a bit, hotel was close enough to walk to centre.
Got woken up during the night thanks to cats fighting outside!! breakfast the next morning was hurried as we were off to the station, but food was fine.
I'd recommend the hotel for somewhere good value, comfortable, close enough to the station and walking distance to the city centre, with helpful staff, but it's nothing 'posh'!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.3 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 133 in Sofia
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Suite Hotel Sofia
Suite Hotel Sofia
#12 of 133 in Sofia
274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thracia Hotel
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
708 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Niky
Hotel Niky
#18 of 133 in Sofia
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Light

Address: 37 Veslets Street, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: $48 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Light 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully set in the very heart of Sofia the H-l Light combines the finest traditions of Bulgarian hospitality and the cordial homely atmosphere with a level of services and facilities guaranteed to satisfy the most discerning guests. Designed and equipped to meet the needs of business guests the hotel features two state-of-the-art meeting rooms, seating 20 and 75 people. Our elegant restaurant will please you with a wide choice of delicacies and premium beverages, contemporary design and attentive service. The lobby bar is the perfect ambience to relax after a hard day and a meeting point to have an aperitif with family and friends. Comfortable in the heart of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Light reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing