We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and clean”
Review of Hotel Europe Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Europe Sofia
Ranked #108 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed March 11, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a week while he attended a business conference. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. The food and service was excellent. The staff were very friendly and professional. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank ProletFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 173 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2008

A lot satisfied with hotel’s quality. The rooms are modern and have fresh look. The staff was really friendly and helpful, very prompt replies and excellent service. Close to the airport and located in nice living area. This hotel is less then 10 min away by taxi from Sofia Center. The restaurant and bar offer a good selection of food and drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sam_petroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

I love this hotel. I have recently returned from our stay at the Best Western Hotel Europe in Sofia and would thoroughly recommend it. The rooms were clean and spacious and well equiped with everything you need - mini bar, tv, hairdryer, bath and shower, saifty deposit box,bathrobes etc.Moust of rooms has nice balkony whit good view.

The staff were fantastic and did all they could to make our stay good
The breakfast was fresh and hot with plenty of variety. We ate at the restaurant once and the food was also good.

Whilst not completely central you can get to all the main sites in ten minutes.They have nice car for rent and good price for them.
This is a real gem of a hotel. I've stayed in many hotels, in many countries, and this has got to be the best yet.
Next time in Sofia ... for sure Best Western Hotel Europe - . I will be back 100%.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank toiPhuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2008

On the plus side:
Restaurant: Excellent food, good wine, staff good to excellent
Maid Service: Fast and efficient, some variablity in replacing toilet rolls, towels etc. Cleanliness: Good to Excellent Cheap

On the down side:
Air conditioner stuck on hot Breakfast room terrible. ONE set of salt and pepper for about 30 tables!! Poor quality food, usually cold, apathetic staff. Lifts tiny, slow and unresponsive Room doors slam when shut, very disturbing in the night Reception staff would catch fire if they moved any faster, with one exception who was very helpful and cheerful. Tacky casino attached to hotel. Internet not free.

Worst problem is getting a taxi to turn up. We found it took 15 - 45 minutes to get a taxi regardless of the time of day it was ordered.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rhopk24324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2007

I`ve been in this hotel several times. It`s a new building in a well-connected area of the city. All rooms are pretty and sunny. The personal staff is correct. Everything was OK during my last stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Batbayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

I had a bad start as I had booked saying non-smoking room essential. I was told that my room was not and that it would be "no problem" for me.

The room was truly disgusting as mentioned by others. Everything was impregnated with smoke and the bathroom stank too depite having the rare luxury of a window.

Once I had changed on the second day though it got better. The non-smoking room was fine execpt a leaky bath tub and one of those narrow glass shields that replace a shower curtain and always mean the floor gets soaked. (Why do hotels always do this? Just buy something a bit longer.)

The restaurant is fine, breakfast a bit spartan though.

It is not the best location, though it is very fast into the centre by taxi (plenty just round the corner). Traffic jams are very heavy during the rush hour though anfd this can double the time.

There are other restaurants around and a very modern supermarket more or less next door open seven days.

I found that the place was not so dirty or smelly but could be improved with the right managment. English is only passable though.

There is a free internet connection in the business centre which is fine. Only one PC though.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vanguardscrusade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

Don't stay here unless you absolutely have to. Although the public areas were modern, the room was simply awful. The carpet was disgustingly dirty & the bathroom was pokey.
The room was freezing, but when I went to reception to complain, they sent up a (very noisy) blow-heater. The second night I returned to my room to find no bath towel - this was duly brought to me when I rang recption.
On the third night there was a bath towel ok - but the bed hadn't even been made!!
The water from the shower ran all over the bathroom floor. The dirty shower curtain smelled of urine. The room smelled of smoke, even though it was non-smoking. All in all a terrible experience, I couldn't wait to fly home & get properly washed again!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RobNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hotel Amsterdam
#71 of 135 in Sofia
12 reviews
Suite Hotel Sofia
#12 of 135 in Sofia
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poduyane
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#31 of 135 in Sofia
269 reviews
Hotel Brod
#93 of 135 in Sofia
47 reviews
Holiday Inn Sofia
#21 of 135 in Sofia
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europe Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe Sofia

Address: ul.Liditse 1, Sofia 1113, Bulgaria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Europe)
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $45 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europe Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel EUROPE is a four-star hotel offering all facilities and services expected by the international travelers and the business community. The wonderful location, luxury rooms, stylish restaurant and bars, convenient services make BEST WESTERN Hotel EUROPE one of the most exciting places in Sofia for rest and entertainment.The closest hotel to Arena Armeec Sofia ( only 10 minutes walking distance or 5 minutes driving by car) and 10 minutes walking distance to Joliot Curie subway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Europe Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Europe
Best Western Sofia
Sofia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing