We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Sofia
Nearby Hotels
$175
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$160
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$184
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Niky(Sofia)
$80
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$69
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$118
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$76
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cheap(Sofia)(Great Value!)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,437)
Filter reviews
1,437 results
Traveler rating
793
491
116
27
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
793
491
116
27
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeseasons restaurantbusiness tripnational palace of cultureexcellent hotelsteam roomhotel barindoor poolan upgraderooms are niceshopping mallcity centremodern hotelvitosha streetmin walkexcellent breakfastmetro station
Filter
Updating list...
1,028 - 1,033 of 1,437 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2010

This is a nice hotel in Sofia where the offer is relatively limited. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, with a nice bathroom - the only qualm is that the room service fridge is somewhat noisy and the contents of the fridge are tremendously overpriced - in fact, by bulgarian standards, the amenities of the hotel - spa / food / drinks are very over priced. Service is friendly and helpful, with the possible exception of the immediate expulsion from the breakfast room of anyone staying past the 11am time. Breakfast is of good quality. Location is a bit off the centre, but not too long a walk to get to the centre. Overall a nice hotel in Sofia

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hypnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrune, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the noisy minibar fridge and will look into this technical problem. Please accept my apology for the breakfast service at closing time – we will improve flexibility there. We would also like to let you know that we are keeping our price levels aligned with the local market, aiming to provide the best value/quality for money.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back under our roof for your next and hopefully immaculate experience.

Sincerely,

Jacques Brune
General Manager
Hilton Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

This is our second visit to Sofia and our second stay at the Hilton. I have to say that our experience this time was much improved!
The Hotel is in a prime location just a short walk to the city centre and shops. The rooms are modern and spotlessly clean. There are leisure facilities, albeit somewhat limited, but the well equipped Business Centre more that makes up for that - free internet is a must these days! The breakfast was very good, with plenty of variety and staff with a 'can do' attitude. Actually it is the staff that really make the difference - from the front desk, the young man who drove the shuttle bus to the waiters, they could not do enough to make our stay special. We will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alysonpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrune, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your kind comments. I am proud of the Hilton Sofia team and it is extremely rewarding to hear from a guest that they really make a difference.
It is great that your second stay with us was so satisfying and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back on many more visits to come!

Sincerely,


Jacques Brune
General Manager
Hilton Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed for a weekend as a group of 12 in 6 rooms, so you would think it would be hard to please everybody, not so.

Check in was fast friendly and efficient, all our room requirements were taken care off, there are 3 elevators from the lobby, so almost no wait time.

Rooms were a good size and had everything you would expect for a hotel of this calibre, safe, tea/coffee, internet, a nice comfortable bed with good pillows, iron, plenty of storage and hanging space, good selection of tv channels etc.
The bathroom was large, good toiletries towels and bathrobes and fantastic walk in shower that was very powerful.

Breakfast was excellent, good choice of food and drink, and once again smiling, friendly and efficient staff. A couple of our party used the health club and came back with favourable reports.

As it's a landmark hotel in Sofia there was never an issue getting a Taxi to the hotel, but it is also within walking distance of the centre.
The staff were keen to help, order taxis, look after baggage after check out, to make recommendations etc. Check out was also fast and efficient with accurate billing. Well done Hilton Sofia.

The only negatives would be the Minibar prices, and also the price of the airport shuttle. But as you don't have to use the airport shuttle or the minibar i would certainly still recommend this hotel for visitors to Sofia.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zuribob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrune, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your detailed review, highlighting the pleasant experience you enjoyed at Hilton Sofia. It was great to learn that you remained very happy with our services and facilities. I am glad that we have made it a weekend to remember for the entire group travelling with you!

Looking forward to welcoming you back under our roof.

Sincerely,

Jacques Brune
General Manager
Hilton Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

On holiday in Istanbul, my 21 year old daughter and her friend were unable to fly back to Prague where they are university students because of the air shutdown, nor could they book train tickets, but they found a 12 hour, overnight bus trip to Sofia, Bulgaria. They arrived in Sofia at 8 AM, exhausted from the long ride, hungry, and anxious about how to travel from Sofia back to Prague.
As a longtime, devoted HHonors member (and a big fan of the Hilton Arc de Triomphe in Paris) I told the girls to go straight to the Sofia Hilton and order a good breakfast (on me), and then they could scope out what their travel options were. If need be, I assured them, I would pay for their stay at the Sofia Hilton until they could figure out how to return to classes in Prague.
But to my great surprise, the kind staff at this hotel extended extraordinary courtesy and travel assistance to these girls with no idea that our family frequents Hilton hotels, and no reason to expect that the girls could afford to check in. After a kindly waitress heard their sad story and made them feel welcome and at home over breakfast, the concierge took them under his wing and helped them to arrange travel to Prague. He checked with airlines and officials to confirm that they could take a flight out later in the day and that it could land in Prague. He checked their travel luggage so that they could occupy their time seeing sights in Sofia without carrying the weight, and then advised on how and when they should get to the airport. We are so grateful for the kindness this staff showed these young strangers, and hope to meet them to thank them in person some day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riley_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrune, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

Dear Madam or Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing the positive experience of your daughter and her friend, who have been stranded in Sofia due to the volcano disruption. We are very happy to learn that under the above circumstances we have made them feel comfortable and well taken care of! Also we are very thankful for your loyalty to the Hilton Hotels and remain looking forward to welcoming you back on any future trips.

Sincerely,

Jacques Brune
General Manager
Hilton Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

We spent two nights in this hotel and had a great time. Staff was nice and willing to help, the hotel is well near the city center and a big mall. Look out for the executive package, as it will get you lounge access, complimentary drinks and snaks at the bar and a taxi back to the airport. You have to pay extra for wireless internet though, this should be considered as a basic amenity.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ltomte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrune, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. It is a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed the Hilton Sofia experience, especially the Executive Floor benefits and the friendliness of our team. We will be delighted to extend our warm welcome again, soon!

Sincerely,

Jacques Brune
General Manager
Hilton Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews