We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What has happened since Jacques Brune left?”
Review of Hilton Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sofia
Ranked #3 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed here many times but this was the first time in over a year and since the previous GM Jacques Brune has moved on. I believe the excellent Scottish Ops chap is still here though.

Unfortunately things have really gone down hill in terms of the amenities for Diamond and presumably Gold members. I was upgraded to an Executive Room, good but most Hilton's now offer Diamonds suites in line with changes to the Brand Standards Manual at the end of 2012. The Executive Suite was available. The free transfer which didn't cost the hotel very much (this is BG after all) has gone.

The biggest disappointment is the lounge. Previously during the day there was beer in the fridge all day, afternoon tea with sandwiches (often mini club sandwiches and macarons the old Executive Chef was French afterall), in the evening a very pleasant hot buffet of perhaps beef bourguignon and cold starters like prawns etc. Now its very basic and looks like a North American airport hotel!

Unfortunately I feel that the breakfast is less generous than it was before too.

I note the current GM Stephan Reiter's explanation for this is the new "brand standards". I don't mean any disrespect Mr. Reiter but this is a lie, and its also a lie to say all Hilton's will be like this because they won't and they aren't.

I've been a Diamond member for 15 years and I know many GMs and managers in hotels. All have confirmed that the minimum standard has been lowered such as cutting down the buffet, no afternoon tea and no spirits, yes there is a new MINIMUM standard, but the hotels are under absolutely NO obligation to lower their standard if they don't wish to. It has been designed to help hotel's control their costs. So Mr. Reiter, please don't lie to your customers and ask your wonderful staff to ply the same line.

For example looking at the UK, Tower Bridge in London (they even have 6-9PM for buffet), Cardiff and Glasgow have all said this is not going to happen there. Any seasoned Diamond member will know this is the case because he just has to look at other hotels in EMEA to see that they haven't lowered the hotel. Take yourself to these hotels Mr. Reiter, go to Prague Mr. Reiter, what's happening here. It's just not true. Mr. Reiter, there are still hotel's I can point out to you that have genuine champagne in the lounge!

Me and my fellow Diamond members are not putting up with this, we are voting with our feet and taking our business elsewhere. HHonors already made our life hell with the massive devaluation earlier in the year and this is the final straw. You can't pull the wool over our eyes like guests who have never stayed there before and have no clue of the usual benefits!

It's a classic mistake airlines make in cutting costs by cutting the product offering, what happens, the customer goes elsewhere! Look at Air France! Sofia has many 5* hotels all vying for business, this is a very silly decision indeed.

All the hotel's that are doing this have a reputation for being tight, but this upsets me the most because Sofia used to be a fantastic hotel for Diamond benefits and the place to feel valued!

To the rest of the staff in the hotel reading this, you are as wonderful as ever, pleasant and courteous and the rooms are spotless as usual.

What does it cost to have some BG beer in the lounge all day, a decent evening buffet and sprits, basically nothing.

Bring back Jacques Brune, he would have never let this happen!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank HHDiamond1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Hilton Sofia and providing us with your feedback.

I wanted to respond to your particular comments regarding our Executive Lounge. I am sorry if you found the facility did not meet your expectations on this occasion. As with all Hilton Hotels & Resorts properties, our Executive Lounge offers a range of quality hot and cold dishes amongst our dinner buffet, together with a selection of beers and spirits. I would also like to inform you that we are currently in the process of redesigning this space in order to give it a refreshed look and feel, as well as adding brand new furniture and a new buffet area – with beers and other refreshments available all day.

We constantly strive to reward our most loyal guests by enriching each aspect of their stay with us, and I hope you will find the new Executive Lounge achieves this should you be returning to Hilton Sofia.

Best wishes,


Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Sofia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Very happy to stay here,the hotel is new,the room is very good,shower and bathtub seperately,very good mattras,breakfast is buffet style,walking distance to the old city
In front of mc donald with a rock and roll theme
Fully recommended to stay here

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonthedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,

We were extremely delighted to receive your kind comments about Hilton Sofia. Thank you for taking time to share them via TripAdvisor. We will be very happy to welcome you back under our roof, on your next trip to Bulgaria!

Yours sincerely,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is decorated in modern minimalist style. Rooms are standard sized and they have a good selection of breakfast. However it is a good 15 minute walk from the main shops area and restaurants. I like the lobby especially because it is glass covered all around and offers free wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraThedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you very much for sharing your observations about Hilton Sofia via TripAdvisor.

I was gratified to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and remained highly satisfied with the hotel services and facilities.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back under our roof again, soon.

Yours sincerely,


Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My company rate was below €100, including breakfast and internet, which in itself is a pleasant surprise for a hotel so close to city center in a European capital.

The room I got was on 5th floor, which means plain standard (exec or business suites are on 8th/9th). About 30m2 overall, king size bed, panoramic window, all real nice and new-looking furniture. Huge and spotlessly clean bathroom with separate shower and bath tub. "Office" corner with a desk and chair, electric kettle plus complimentary coffee and tea, safe - well, everything you usually expect to find in the better hotel rooms.
Friendly and efficient staff at reception, ample breakfast buffet in a spacious room with lots of windows, there's even a terrace for those of you who like to sit outside.

I will definitely book this hotel again next time I am in Sofia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnorzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Valued Traveller,

I would like to thank you very much for sharing your positive observations about Hilton Sofia via TripAdvisor.

I was gratified to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and remained highly satisfied with the hotel services, especially highlighting the guestroom ambiance and the efficiency of our team members.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back under our roof again, soon.

Yours sincerely,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have been staying 2 nights at Hilton Sofia; we have booked an executive room. The hotel is spotless, very nice; the architecture of this Hilton is beautifully designed. The room are spacious and very clean. The breakfast was outstanding with a wonderful selection of dishes and variety, enough to make the most complicated customer happy. We liked their steam bath and the small swimming pool. The restaurant was also very good, we had diner outside and the price are reasonable for Hilton. Another great thing about this Hilton is the outside area of the bar, very nice set up and comfortable, a very good place to relax, enjoy a drink no matter what time of the day it is. Overall staff was very polite and give an excellent service particularly ‘’Borris’’ from the main desk, always making sure everything was OK. At night the Hotel has its own security outside the building making you feel safer. The hotel is well located; the good thing about Bulgaria is the taxi rate. ‘’It’s not expensive’’.

The downside of this hotel is the executive lounge if they do not improve it fast, they will lose customer, compare to other Hilton this is the worst we have visited so far. The lounge is not inviting at all, the atmosphere of the lounge did not invite you to sit and relax it makes you want to go outside. The range of snacks and drinks was extremely limited; the concierge desk was always empty. The coffee machine from the lounge was disgusting. We then start paying our coffee at the bar before complaining about the lounge, the matter was resolve quickly by both ‘’Marieta’’ both duty manager where easy and fast to resolve problems. As improvement I would suggest at least get a coffee machine with several choices to choose from and hot chocolate like those find in other Hilton such Berlin. Regarding lounge snacks I would also suggest to have the option to go to the bar to get a snack from their menu because the cake was very good, some item in the bar menu looks alike snacks from other lounge found in other Hilton and the service was outstanding at the bar. If the lounge does not improve next time I will booked a room without executive lounge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnThi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Valued Traveller,

Many thanks for your kind and detailed feedback, shared via TripAdvisor!

I am very delighted to learn that we were able to make you comfortable in our property and to secure a pleasant stay for you in general.

Further to your comments about the Executive Lounge at Hilton Sofia, I would like to inform you that we are currently enhancing its atmosphere - with a new look in terms of furniture, buffet and features, which will refresh the ambiance of the whole place, hopefully to your satisfaction.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back under our roof, soon!

Yours sincerely,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

good bedrooms (executive level) and very good events team. The conference rooms all have natural light, good conference facilities and are supported properly internally (catering and IT etc). Unfortunately we will not be able to hold our event in Sofia this year otherwise I would not hesitate to hold it here at the Hilton (we have done so in the past and it was excellent).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Valued Traveller,

We were extremely delighted to receive your kind comments about the Hilton Sofia accommodation and conference facilities as well as the efficiency of our Conference & Events team. Thank you for taking time to share them via TripAdvisor. We will be very happy to welcome you back under our roof, on your next trip to Bulgaria!

Yours sincerely,


Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Satisfactory hotel for business in Bulgaria. Rooms are standard and only plush if you pay for upgrades, but everything is functional, staff are helpful and the exec facilities are good. Parts of the place are a little tired and it's a shame that the pool is small and not outside as the weather is usually great. Walking distance from shopping & municipal centres, but in no way was it Bulgarian in style.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Valued Traveller,

I would like to thank you very much for sharing your observations about Hilton Sofia via TripAdvisor.

I was gratified to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and remained overall satisfied with the hotel services and facilities.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back under our roof again, soon.

Yours sincerely,


Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
964 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
738 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
522 reviews
3.6 mi away
Novotel Sofia
Novotel Sofia
#2 of 133 in Sofia
513 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sofia
Holiday Inn Sofia
#16 of 133 in Sofia
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sofia

Address: 1 Bulgaria Blvd, Sofia 1421, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sofia
#1 Family Hotel in Sofia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $109 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Sofia has the perfect location in the heart of the city, opposite the Sofia Congress Centre (National Palace of Culture), surrounded by the South Park and overlooking the Vitosha Mountain. Hotel guests are near the commercial district and government offices. Boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs are within walking distance, while Sofia International Airport lies 13 km to the east, an approximate 20 minute transfer. With 245 rooms on 8 floors, equipped with the most modern in-room facilities, dedicated Executive Floors and cozy Executive Lounge, Health Club with in-door pool and 24/7 Fitness by Precor, Hilton Sofia is the perfect choice of the modern traveler. Spacious, stylish and modern venues, resplendent with natural light, provide you with an unparalleled environment in which to work and relax. From the multifunctional business facilities to the creative food service at Seasons Restaurant and Artists Bar: enjoy the Hilton Sofia experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sofia Hotel Sofia
Hilton International Sofia
Sofia Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing