We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great mini-vacation”
Review of Hilton Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sofia
Ranked #4 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
new albany, indiana
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Great mini-vacation”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Hilton is the Hilton. Expect great service, a staff that is friendly and eager to make your stay a true vacation. The location is very near the city center, so walking is not a problem. If you need a taxi, they will hail it and screen it for you. The restaurant is outstanding and the physical fitness center is is very nice. We always stay at the Hilton when in Sofia and this is the 8th year in a row.

Room Tip: Any room is good. Avoid the "Green Cab", they are much higher that the rest of the cab ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosierscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrune, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear hoosierscience,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience in Trip advisor.

Firstly, may I take this opportunity to express my appreciation for your loyalty to Hilton Sofia.

Please rest assured that our aim is to provide top quality service to all our guests so that you feel cared for.

It is extremely rewarding to receive such feedback such feedback from a guest.

Once again thank you for your nice comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Sofia.

Sincerely,

Jacques Brune
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    447
    102
    24
    9
See reviews for
105
214
104
713
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and keen to go out of their way to assist. Rooms are also modern will all the creature comforts one needs. I will stay there again next time I go to Sofia. The food at the restaurant was also delicious!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrune, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Deliana,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback in Trip advisor.

It was indeed a real pleasure for me to read that you were higly satisfied with the services and facilities in our hotel during your recent stay with us.

I know that our team is constantly striving to keep high level of service and make our guests feel at home, but it is really encouraging and highly appreciated when we receive such a positive feedback.

I would like, once again, to thank you for your comments and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jacques Brune
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farstad, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

One of the best places to stay in Sofia, just a short drive from the airport :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zmagatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrune, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Zmagatha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience in Trip advisor.

I was happy to learn that you are remained highly satisfed from the facilities and the service in our hotel.

We, as a team, are striving to provide the best place for our guests to work, relax and enjoy. Therefore it is always nice to receive such a positive feedback, which makes us know we are on the right track.

I would like to thank you once again, and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jacques Brune
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Not much to say about that one - good place to stay both for business and backpacking. Actually we hit a nice promo price so the value for money was indeed in place. If you want a good place with convenient access to the city - pick Hilton. You'll get high quality, neat, English-speaking-friendly spot that surely holds standards of Hiltons around the globe.

Room Tip: Floor 8 - any room with view towards main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrune, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Kumak,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Sofa for your trip to Bulgaria and sharing your experience in Trip advisor.

I was happy to learn that our hotel is your prefered choice for a stay in Sofia.

As our aim is to provide top quality service to all our guests, it was good to see that we met your expectations and you received good value for the price paid.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jacques Brune
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The staff at this place is so helpful, it's almost embarrassing. My baggage was stuck in transit, and I dreaded trying to make sense in Bulgarian trying to make them understand that I wasn't going home but further on. But the FD staff was very helpful with making phonecalls and reading flightnumbers etc. from my official papers.

The rooms are so comfortable, you may want to add a day to your stay just to stay in bed :-)

The hotel is very centrally located, only a short walk (15-20 mins.) from the city center. Metro station nearby if you don't fancy walking.

All in all, I can say, that if I need to go back, I'd love to go here again,

Oh, and the breakfast buffet is to die for.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a non-smoking room if having a sensitive nose, as some rooms are recent convers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrune, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Suze009,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip advisor.

It was a pleasure for me to see that you shared your positive feelings about the service and facilities in our hotel.

I know that our team is always striving to provide top quality service to all our guests and leave an unfogettable experience about the hotel and the city, but I am really happy to receive such feedback from a guest.

Once again thank you for your nice comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Sofia.

Sincerely,

Jacques Brune
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel is relatively new, well maintained and still have the luster of a nice 5 star hotel.
Rooms are not too spacious, but have a nice view of the city and Vitosha.
The executive lounge is a joke, so not worthed at all - better have your breakfast on the ground floor.
What is best about the hotel though is the staff. Really high quality of service and readiness to help, always a smile! And that still in a country where service is pretty poor.
The hotel is in the broad centre, so fills in all the criteria for a good stay.

Room Tip: If you can get a corner room on a higher floor the view of the city will be much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinMihaylov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrune, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear MartinMihaylov,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive impressions about the hotel.

We, as a team, are always dedicated to meeting and even exceeding our guests needs.

It is a real pleasure for me to know that the service provided by the team has made you feel cared for, valued and respected.

Thank you once again for the positive feedback.

I am looking forward to wecoming you again under our roof.

Sincerely,

Jacques Brune
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

located on Bul. Bulgaria # 1 (Sofia center), a new or renovated in any case its modern, clean and nicely designed. the rooms are convenient (i've seen bigger but it's enough), the bathroom is excellent, the rooms have mini-bar and coffee facilities. the TV selection is limited (had to watch Federer winning Wimbledon on the internet...). the gym is good, breakfast very good and th hotel restaurant and bar are good with reasonable prices. internet is not for free but you can upgrade your room and get it for free (see tips). the service excellent, welcoming and friendly. meets the highest Hilton standards.

Room Tip: book or upgrade your room to floor 7 rooms 715 and higher, they have the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear hannoch,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us via TripAdvisor.
I would like to thank you for your detailed review!

Please rest assured that it is our aim and we always work on delivering top standards to our guests!

Thank you once again, your comments are highly appreciated!

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Hilton Sofia, soon!
Sincerely,

Jacques Brune
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
479 reviews
Grand Hotel Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
928 reviews
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lozenets
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 133 in Sofia
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sofia

Property: Hilton Sofia
Address: 1 Bulgaria Blvd, Sofia 1421, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sofia
#1 Family Hotel in Sofia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Sofia has the perfect location in the heart of the city, opposite the Sofia Congress Centre (National Palace of Culture), surrounded by the South Park and overlooking the Vitosha Mountain. Hotel guests are near the commercial district and government offices. Boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs are within walking distance, while Sofia International Airport lies 13 km to the east, an approximate 20 minute transfer. With 245 rooms on 8 floors, equipped with the most modern in-room facilities, dedicated Executive Floors and cozy Executive Lounge, Health Club with in-door pool and 24/7 Fitness by Precor, Hilton Sofia is the perfect choice of the modern traveler. Spacious, stylish and modern venues, resplendent with natural light, provide you with an unparalleled environment in which to work and relax. From the multifunctional business facilities to the creative food service at Seasons Restaurant and Artists Bar: enjoy the Hilton Sofia experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sofia Hotel Sofia
Hilton International Sofia
Sofia Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing