We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not even worth 2 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gloria Palace Hotel
Ranked #95 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel is in an shady area with a high level of crime. It's an older, un-renovated building with an antiquated elevator. The carpets are at least 10 to 15 years old. In the basement there's an "erotic bar."
The rooms were relatively clean, but very basic with the furniture and appliances more suitable for a 2 star hotel, perhaps 1 star. For example, the shower curtain is plastic, barely hanging on a plastic railing and doesn't close properly. As a result, it's impossible not to flood the entire bathroom floor when you take a shower.
The towels were clean, but very used.
I can't conceive how this hotel can claim 4 stars. I have stayed at about 5 different 4 star hotels in Sofia, which have been all excellent and consistently one level below the 5 star hotels. There's something weird with the rating system.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ivanimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 184 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

It's on a main boulevard, so location is good and I sleep really well, so no complaints on soundproofing, etc. The room as dated but clean as was the hotel and comfortable bed did help.

Receptionist was very helpful when asked about various places I wanted to see and she printed out a few maps for a location I wanted to see.

The breakfast was minimal to say the least and included in the price I paid I can't complain about it, as some of the places I looked at where terrible and only 30lv different in price, I paid 80Lv for the room. Bulgarians don't seem to like hot food and it showed with the hot breakfast selection

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter197_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hotel near the mosque, cathedral and other sites
Entrance looks nice, but rooms are old and must be renovated
Rooms are clean
When we stay there there was no warm water, because of renovation
staff is friendly
Hotel has nothing else to offer than a sleeping place.
Breakfast is very poor.
In the hotel is a stripclub and the neighbours are a nightclub.
We had no nuisance from it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broederwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked this trip last minute as we had to come to Bulgaria to sign the paperwork for the house we purchased a few months earlier.
For the price we really can't complain. Staff were very friendly and we can't fault the service at all.

The room and hotel was clean and comfortable (although a bit dated). The beds were a little firm, though, and one paper thin pillow really wasn't enough for me. I like at least 2 big puffy pillows.
Breakfast was minimal to say the least but, again, for the price we paid I can't complain about it. Bulgarians don't seem to like hot food and it showed with the hot breakfast selection. Edible but could be hotter.

Overall, a very pleasant stay. Great, friendly service and a superb location. Ask for room 55 or 65 and you get a small private terrace and no noise from the busy road at the front of the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I spent a night in this hotel and the conclusions would be:
+ : good location, central, near to metro station and several monuments, large room (it also had a sofa)
- : old furniture, looked weared; the breakfast was very scarce, with an undrinkable coffee (still not sure it was coffee); there is a casino at the entrance (don't imagine a Monte Carlo style casino), a night club in the basement and an erotic bar somewhere near the lobby or the first floor;

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IonutB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Looks the hotel is due to close ...
Generally no stuf :)
Very bad windows makes you listen trolley and all happens outside (night club etc)
And the beds are like dunes - waved , can't sleep at all ...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed 1 night on return from Bansko.The location is perfekt, god price, friendly staff, lift worked and we got hot water. The room was average on the third floor. Breakfast was not good, cold coffe and just some bread and cheese.A not so god thing was the sound from the street allmost all night. I recommend to get a room not facing the street

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
625 reviews
Hotel Light
#11 of 135 in Sofia
190 reviews
Sveta Sofia
#77 of 135 in Sofia
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Niky
#13 of 135 in Sofia
274 reviews
Sofia Plaza Hotel
#118 of 135 in Sofia
124 reviews
Serdica
Hotel Maria Luisa
Hotel Maria Luisa
#45 of 135 in Sofia
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Hotel

Address: bul.Knyaginya Maria Luiza 20, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: $38 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by history and culture, this center city hotel exceeds the expectations of both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of downtown Sofia, Gloria Palace Hotel is connected to the vibrant shopping, sports and attractions of the Bulgarian capital. The hotel is only steps away from the main administrative, financial and commercial sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gloria Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing