We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gloria Palace Hotel
Ranked #56 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great value for what it is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked this trip last minute as we had to come to Bulgaria to sign the paperwork for the house we purchased a few months earlier.
For the price we really can't complain. Staff were very friendly and we can't fault the service at all.

The room and hotel was clean and comfortable (although a bit dated). The beds were a little firm, though, and one paper thin pillow really wasn't enough for me. I like at least 2 big puffy pillows.
Breakfast was minimal to say the least but, again, for the price we paid I can't complain about it. Bulgarians don't seem to like hot food and it showed with the hot breakfast selection. Edible but could be hotter.

Overall, a very pleasant stay. Great, friendly service and a superb location. Ask for room 55 or 65 and you get a small private terrace and no noise from the busy road at the front of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    56
    48
    18
    11
See reviews for
17
45
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I spent a night in this hotel and the conclusions would be:
+ : good location, central, near to metro station and several monuments, large room (it also had a sofa)
- : old furniture, looked weared; the breakfast was very scarce, with an undrinkable coffee (still not sure it was coffee); there is a casino at the entrance (don't imagine a Monte Carlo style casino), a night club in the basement and an erotic bar somewhere near the lobby or the first floor;

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IonutB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Looks the hotel is due to close ...
Generally no stuf :)
Very bad windows makes you listen trolley and all happens outside (night club etc)
And the beds are like dunes - waved , can't sleep at all ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sofia hotels

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed 1 night on return from Bansko.The location is perfekt, god price, friendly staff, lift worked and we got hot water. The room was average on the third floor. Breakfast was not good, cold coffe and just some bread and cheese.A not so god thing was the sound from the street allmost all night. I recommend to get a room not facing the street

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

the gloria palace is in the centre of sofia close for all the bars and the new metro stations the hotel has wi fi but can be hit and miss on your phone but works well with lab top the hotel is clean and from what we have seen off the staff they are very helpfull with directions etc.

the bathroom is small but we have no complaints about it.

the room is confy with tv we do have a small fridge that does not work air con is in the room plenty off plugs to plug things in and constant elecric so no need to stick your key card in to get power.

breakfast i have my norm orange juice followed by loads of coffee but there is cereals scrambled eggs toast etc

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just stayed at the Gloria Palace for one night on our return from Bansko to Britain. Nice central Hotel for the city and about 30 mins from airport. Rather dated decor and the lift didn't work. Had to use a small service lift which went from the first floor so had to lug cases up one flight (this was the second trip this year and the lift was not working back in March either!). Breakfast was very basic but O.K. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieandsteve39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel was basically a last special hanged thanks to my reserved hotel elsewhere in Sofia being double booked. As a result I had no idea what to expect except it was probably a similar grading. Located very central to the city so no complaints on that score.

Hotel looked a little outdated. One lift was out of order, the other was a tiny old style one which you could hust about squeeze four people in. Decor of the passageways and rooms was heavy colours. I had use of a double beded room, air conditioning and WiFi worked well. Bathroom could have been better, a few cracked tiles, dirty marks on the shower curtain etc. I'm guessing rate was a lot higher than I paid as I secured a special deal with the original hotel. This one of course honoured it. The receptionists were helpful and breakfast was a buffet style of breads, jams, cornflakes and a few cooked items. The dining area for breakfast was quite pleasant.

As there are a lot of places to choose from, Sofia is a city you can easily do your homework on befo booking. I probably wouldnt have booked this place or will I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philstephenrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Serdica
Hotel Maria Luisa
Hotel Maria Luisa
#55 of 130 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Sveta Sofia
#62 of 130 in Sofia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Poduyane
Arte Hotel
Arte Hotel
#44 of 130 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poduyane
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#33 of 130 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Central Hotel Sofia
#4 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Hotel Light
#13 of 130 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Hotel

Property: Gloria Palace Hotel
Address: bul.Knyaginya Maria Luiza 20, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by history and culture, this center city hotel exceeds the expectations of both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of downtown Sofia, Gloria Palace Hotel is connected to the vibrant shopping, sports and attractions of the Bulgarian capital. The hotel is only steps away from the main administrative, financial and commercial sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gloria Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing