We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got bitten badly by bedbug, mosquito. my skin were red & swollen”
Review of Rodina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rodina Hotel
Ranked #100 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was there on 21, August, 2013, got bitten by bedbugs, mosquito, unknown insect badly. My legs, feet, shoulder, neck were red & swollen, itchy for 5 days!! Couldn't sleep at all! Went to the reception ask for a spray? She said: No Spray. Don't they have such a thing called Pest Control at Bulgaria??? Carpet was dirty, bed was not comfortable, worse than the bed at hostel! I am serious! Whatever star this hotel is, bed are worse than the bed at hostel. I went for a walk in the morning, came back, they already made the bed, key was not working, went the reception, did something. Went up, still can't open the door. Make you feel like: They can't wait to get rid of you! It's far away from the sight-seeing! You walk 15 mins, then catch the train for a few stops, then walk another 10 mins. This is the worst hotel I ever stay in my entire life! Don't go there... ...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasmine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Rodina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is worth a visit. Rodina means Motherland and this concrete edifice is a testament to the communist past that still haunts Sofia. Russian architecture at it's best or worst, depending on your view, and furnishings and old Eastern bloc style trappings that make you imagine senior KGB members walking around furtively.

Is it modern and comfortable? No, it's a museum and a mid range hotel in a very poor country with a crumbling infrastructure. Not far away is a sparkling Hilton with hot and cold running waiters, but this is a far cry from such running dog capitalism.

The food is pretty poor, the coffee is dreadful and the service is sullen and lacklustre. However it's not awful and as a monument to the way the country was run and was led, it's really worth a visit. A bonus is that it's not expensive, but then again very little is in Sofia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Consideringthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

On a recent stay at this hotel, we discovered discrepancies in our bills in the reception bar and the Marbella café-restaurant. In the bar, the waitress tried to considerably overcharge us by not giving us a bill at all; when we requested one she did everything possible not to let us have one. When we insisted, she brought one with a different total (but still too high) and nothing itemised. When we went over the prices of our drinks from the menu she admitted that she had made "a mistake". The following day in the café-restaurant, when the bill arrived the amount we were being charged for the wine was more expensive than stated on the menu. When we pointed this out, the manager said the more expensive price was what was on the computer. She obviously expected us to pay it, but we insisted on paying the price on the menu and she eventually agreed.
Don't be put off by the fact that the bills are written in Cyrillic - just bear in mind what your drinks/food should cost, and check the bills by looking at the amounts. We are convinced there is a serious policy of overcharging because a big hotel like this with lots of foreign business travellers knows that few people will bother checking a bill, especially if they can't read Cyrillic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 648Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was clean and the location is ok. The a/c was broken and they had just a fan. Just few from the staff was able to understand English, so they couldn't help us with any informations such as where we can eat or how to transport. In the last floor there was a "bar" with pole dancers kind of cheap for our tastes. A gift shop at the ground floor was closed most of the time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrickios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and not far from restaurants and drinking holes . The staff are nice and polite and most speak good english, the rooms are clean but like the entire hotel very dated , its like stepping back in time. Breakfast is really poor and after one visit to the breakfast room i never returned for the entire stag, i m the type of person that will eat anything but not this !!!!!. One night i called the room service number on the welcome pack and i was told there is none , which to be honest was no suprise !. I was on a stag so great price hotel but cheap for a reason . STAG YES,HOLIDAY NO.

Room Tip: When i arrived me and my best man upgraded to a luxury room ! only to find out later our friends sta...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

From reading other damning reviews on this hotel I was apprehensive about staying as I’m quite fussy about where I stay, however we were on a boys weekend and wanted somewhere, clean, cheap, with a bar and central location, all which this hotel offered.

The rooms are basic, I would compare them to an old style travel lodge in the UK (ten years ago) it is all very dated and has the air of the soviet touch, it would suite well in an 80’s Only Fools and Horse’s episode!

The décor is rather dreary, but if you can put that aside on your short trip from your room to the hotel front lobby then it’s not a problem.

The rooms were clean, and cleaned each day, the staff were all very helpful and it was very cheap to stay there.

The bar was cheap, around 4 lev a beer (£2) and you were offered free beer in the Casino whilst betting, Casino is joined to the hotel.

For the price you pay it’s a perfect place to put your head down for a few nights and I had no issues with the rooms.

Breakfast however, was rather foul, nothing worth eating (I would eat most things for breakfast!) and a toaster that ‘warms and dries’ your bread, not toast, but again, not a problem, you can nip out to a local coffee shop and have breakfast for under £5.

Local pizza places were good to eat in, around £5 for a wood fired pizza…

All in all it did what we needed and have no complaints about the hotel at all, if was seeing Sofia again, I would probably come back.

the stars I rate my reviews on are relative to what you pay/recieve not what I would expect from a 5 star hotel in London at ten times the price, always relative to what is offered.

Room Tip: ask for a modern room, not a huge difference but harder beds and Air Con. I expect few quid extra a...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

stayed at this hotel in march for a stag weekend.after reading some reviews,was not sure what to expect.but there was nothing to worry about or complain about,staff friendly and helpful,service in the bar and restaurant very good and room kept clean and tidy.central location was great for bars and restaurants,all in all a great stay,would definitely recommend it and not just for stag does,would be great for a different city break,a change from Barcelona,which is expensive and over rated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
1,311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ramada Sofia
Ramada Sofia
#45 of 133 in Sofia
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Sofia
InterContinental Sofia
#11 of 133 in Sofia
800 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Fleurs Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Maison Sofia Hotel
Maison Sofia Hotel
#23 of 133 in Sofia
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodina Hotel

Address: bul.Gen. Totleben 8, Sofia 1606, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#24 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $78 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rodina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rodina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodina Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing