We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Marinela Sofia
Ranked #27 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    270
    151
    64
    52
See reviews for
40
129
53
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel is very nice, the staff is very friendly and always available. Rooms are large and confortable. Wifi connection is everywhere(lobby and rooms) and is free. The hotel also offers a beatiful view of the city. I did not try the SPA but my friends did it and found it very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhonny_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossitsa_Ognyanova, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Marinela Sofia, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Jhonny_travel,

Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to read your positive review and are glad we could contribute to your pleasant stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Rossitsa Ognyanova
Marketing and PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Türkiye
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Expensive breakfast, room service and minibar.
Good service quality and personnel.
Fast and free internet connection.
Renovated deluxe rooms should be preffered instead of standart rooms.
Location of the hotel is a little far away from the city center.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanerYigit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hotel room is nice, bed is comfortable, room is spacious, complimentary bottled water during turn down service, Breakfast is plentiful with lots of choices. Their croissant are delicious. I only hoped that the bathroom is a bit more spacious. The hotel is about 2 minutes leisurely walk to the Metro subway stop. And downtown is just three or four stops stops away. Nearby, there is a small grocery store. The hotel also has a souvenir shop with good and comparable prices. The hotel also offers complimentary use of a nicely equipped gym. Taxi fare to airport is about 20Lev or 10Euro.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ebigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossitsa_Ognyanova, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Marinela Sofia, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Ebigo,

Thank you for your comment posted on Trip Advisor. We are happy your stay with us was comfortable and pleasant and are looking forward to your next visit to Kempinski Hotel Zografski Sofia.

We also believe that your constructive feedback will assist our future guests when selecting a hotel for their stay.

With kind regards,

Rossitsa Ognyanova
Marketing and PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel has "communist style" but some rooms were refurbished recently. There is a nice night club and bar and a sushi place. The staff at the sushi place was excellent and very friendly. Prices are reasonable. Ok for business but maybe not for a holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salzburger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Very nice hotel with a very nice employees. The rooms are very clean and the maids are coming twice a day. If you want they can change your towels and sheets every day, but still this is not normal for those who ask this. It is very quiet in the hotel and you can sleep very good without being disturbed by other persons from next rooms. And the standard double room had a huuuuuge bed! The bed have 3 meters wide!!!! :)))
Also the breakfast was very good and various and the employees are very nice and kind to you. I had some needs and the receptionist helped me fast and nicely.
So you can choose this hotel with no problems.

PS: The only "problem", if I may say so, with this hotel are the rooms. I stayed in a standard double room and the furnish was pretty old. But that's the only problem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasile R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossitsa_Ognyanova, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Marinela Sofia, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Vasile R,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.

We were very happy to read your positive review and are glad we could conribute to your pleasant stay with us!

Personalised service is essential for Kempinski and we invest heavily in training to ensure every guest feels special.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

With best regards from Sofia,

Rossitsa Ognyanova
Marketing and PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

1 night stay in this hotel, however frequent visitor to the restaurants :). If you book the hotel, DONT book the cheapest rooms. Book next price. We had very good double room on the 18th floor with fantastic view over the city. The room was big enough, huge bed, very good bathroom..very good room in general. If you book the cheapest room probably you will be disappointed because as I can see on the pictures, they are drastically different from the room that we had :).
Even through the hotel is old, the service and the attention that we received is really good. I will recommend the hotel(better rooms) for any type of customer..and if you sleep in the hotel try at least one of the restaurant..Captain Cook or Panorama( very very good).
If I need to sleep somewhere in Sofia. definitely this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barabbas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossitsa_Ognyanova, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Marinela Sofia, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Barabbas_10,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We were happy to read your comments and are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. Personalised service is of great importance for Kempinski, and we invest heavily in training to ensure every guest feels special.

We are also glad that you enjoyed your experience in our restaurants and are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again!

Best regards,

Rossitsa Ognyanova
Marketing and PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#5 of 133 in Sofia
1,288 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.6 mi away
Maison Sofia Hotel
Maison Sofia Hotel
#24 of 133 in Sofia
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
727 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
931 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marinela Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marinela Sofia

Property: Hotel Marinela Sofia
Address: 100 James Bourchier Boulevard, Sofia 1407, Bulgaria (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Marinela Sofia)
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marinela Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marinela Sofia has an outstanding location, just 20 minutes from the airport and in close proximity to the city center. The hotel boasts amazing infrastructure built on 30 000 sqm and features the most comprehensive facilities in Sofia offering 442 rooms and suites with stunning panoramic views, the biggest hotel conference facilities in the capital, superb leisure and dining facilities including six restaurants and two bars and a modern health club with the biggest hotel swimming pool in the city. The hotel also offers the only Japanese garden on the Balkan Peninsula. Each Deluxe room and Junior suite are equipped with mini-bar, safe, individually controlled air-condition and heating systems, LCD or plasma flat screen TVs, a modern hotel entertainment system with video and music on demand, high-speed free Wi-Fi Internet and a smart card system in accordance with the latest security standards. Hotel Marinela boasts the biggest presidential suite in Bulgaria, in which a number of celebrities have stayed, such as Helmut Khol, Recep Erdogan, Sylvester Stallone, Julio and Enrique Iglesias, Lady Gaga, Tina Turner, James Brown, Anatoly Karpov, Wesley Snipes, Sergei Mihalkov, Elton John and more. Hotel Marinela provides every amenity necessary for focused and effective business communication. It is appropriate place for your successful meetings and celebrations. Three large banqueting halls, fully equipped to meet international expectations: Sofia 1, 2 and 3 can combine to form the largest hotel ballroom. Hotel boardrooms offer daylight, comfortable chairs and tables, easy connectivity to power and the web for each delegate, access to built-in multi-media equipment, interactive screens, microphones, flip charts, white boards, peg boards and free Wi-Fi. The six restaurants and two bars offer tantalising culinary creations from world cuisines. You can sip aromatic coffee or tea on the sun-lit terrace of Intermezzo lobby bar or enjoy fresh fish at Captain Cook or sushi fantasies at Happy Sushi; dine at the top of the city under the starry sky in Panorama Restaurant, taste sweet creations at Candy bar or stylish cocktails in Bar Le Parfum. The spacious fitness center is one of the most modern in Europe and includes massage rooms and the largest indoor hotel swimming pool in Sofia. Hotel Marinela offers free Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marinela Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing