We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, would visit again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marinela Sofia
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is located right beside the southernmost stop of the excellent Metro system (line 2) which costs approx 50 cent Euro per trip this makes access from the hotel to the city center and other areas very efficient and safe. Taxi from the airport is about €10. (LEGITIMATE taxis are very cheap in Sofia!)
The reception and facilities are very good and the staff are friendly and helpful.
The buffet breakfast is as good as it gets with lots of variety in a pleasant environment with attentive staff. If breakfast is not in your package at ca €20 it is expensive unless you are a BIG eater (we were not).
We booked standard rooms which were good if a little dated in design. The bathroom was adequate but beware there was no walk in shower so anyone with limited mobility might have problems climbing into the bath. Of greater concern was the water was SCALDING hot and the shower was not fitted with thermostatic control so you could experience a severe burn if not very, very careful.
The gigantic TV was a good old fashioned CRT reflecting the age of the fit-out and the AC struggled to drag the temperature of the room down after a day soaking in the sun. Next time I will try to get housekeeping to leave the curtains closed during the day.

Overall this is a very good hotel at a very reasonable price but next time I'll try the deluxe room!

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayKayTee2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marinela Sofia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 729 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was our third trip to sofia and we stayed at the same hotel very nice ,clean and beautifull hotel the only thing that i did not like was the fact that we had booked a standard room and when i reached the hotel i asked for upgrade to a deluxe room and the two women that were at the reception told me that the whole hotel was full and they did not had any deluxe room but when i went to our room i decided that i could not stay at that room .Finally i went back to the reception and the women from the reception had changed and there was a man receptionist that immediatly looked and he founded a deluxe room so everything was ok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is very nice and very large. It has a lot of really nice amenities such as a spa a swimming pool multiple restaurants and bars a disco. One of the main drawbacks is the location it's not located in the city center so in order to get to the city center you must take a a taxi which would run you probably around $10 US. If staying at this hotel I would not suggest staying in the rooms above the disco we were in room 1114 on Friday night and the music played until 2 o'clock in the morning so there was no such thing as sleep. Saturday night was not as bad and I was able to get some rest. For being A four star hotel that It was I was expecting the bathroom to be better appointed or decorated. The toiletry items were very nice as well as the towels were quite lovely as well And I was shocked and surprised that there were actually washcloth in a European hotel. The breakfast was quite extensive with many many choices both hot and cold foods along with pastries and cereals plenty of juices to pick from and coffees. People working at the reception area and throughout the hotel were very friendly and nice when asked questions they were able to give good answers and understood English very well. Even though the hotel was very nice I probably would not stay here on my own due to location. If I had a car and was driving this wouldn't be an issue however traveling without one it does make for a bit of a problem. They were also's stores and other restaurants in close proximity to Hotel if you were needing to go out and get something to eat Or possibly need a pharmacy or Sundries.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the same side as the Candy Club unless you are going to be there till...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsNicole Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Kempinski Hotel in Sofia in early September 2013. The occasion was a mix of both business and pleasure, and this hotel is well disposed to fulfil one's expectations to high standards on both fronts. Staff were very helful. The range of restaurants (5) is excellent as was the quality of food on offer. On the business front, the conference and meeting facilities were "top drawer". The Hotel representative, Ms. Teodora Smuts who looked after our conference fulfilled all our needs, and her attention to detail was wonderful. A welcome professional touch was added wherever possible. The hotel facilities - spa, pool etc were nothing short of spectaculour. I wished I had more time to enjoy them. I was fortunatel to have a room on the 14th floor with panoramic view of the beatiful city of Sofia, and mountains surrounding it. Altogether, a wonderful experience. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Choose one on one of the higher floors - this gives a panoramic view of the city!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatMMornington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

It is the best hotel with reasonable price. Eventhough it is away from city center but it's worthed to stay in this hotel with this price. The rooms are bright with beautiful views.
Also it provids free parking space and wifi.It has good breakfast service too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharaf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

An excellent hotel with an amazing view over Sofia. Many restourants that, you can choose from. Very Big, Cleand and nice rooms. All the staff are very polite and always helpfull.

If you are looking for a FIVE STAR HOTEL YOU SHOULD GO at

http://www.kempinski.com/en/sofia/hotel-zografski/welcome/

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDDBansko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you like modern style rooms and hotel facility this is not your place.
Look from the outside is not attractive but when you enter it is like entering in the past.
A piano player plays in the early evening, lights are soft.
A Japanese garden with ducks and narrow bridges is at the back of main entrance and is very relaxing. Rooms are big and bathroom gets light through a full wall window separating it from the bed. If you have a room in the high floor there is a nice view on Sofia. Breakfast is not superb but very good and there are plenty of alternative options to eat both inside the hotel and in the surrounding.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilnostrocaroangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
1,310 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
738 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison Sofia Hotel
Maison Sofia Hotel
#23 of 133 in Sofia
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sofia
Holiday Inn Sofia
#16 of 133 in Sofia
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marinela Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marinela Sofia

Address: 100 James Bourchier Boulevard, Sofia 1407, Bulgaria (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Marinela Sofia)
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: $71 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marinela Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marinela Sofia has an outstanding location, just 20 minutes from the airport and in close proximity to the city center. The hotel boasts amazing infrastructure built on 30 000 sqm and features the most comprehensive facilities in Sofia offering 442 rooms and suites with stunning panoramic views, the biggest hotel conference facilities in the capital, superb leisure and dining facilities including six restaurants and two bars and a modern health club with the biggest hotel swimming pool in the city. The hotel also offers the only Japanese garden on the Balkan Peninsula. Each Deluxe room and Junior suite are equipped with mini-bar, safe, individually controlled air-condition and heating systems, LCD or plasma flat screen TVs, a modern hotel entertainment system with video and music on demand, high-speed free Wi-Fi Internet and a smart card system in accordance with the latest security standards. Hotel Marinela boasts the biggest presidential suite in Bulgaria, in which a number of celebrities have stayed, such as Helmut Khol, Recep Erdogan, Sylvester Stallone, Julio and Enrique Iglesias, Lady Gaga, Tina Turner, James Brown, Anatoly Karpov, Wesley Snipes, Sergei Mihalkov, Elton John and more. Hotel Marinela provides every amenity necessary for focused and effective business communication. It is appropriate place for your successful meetings and celebrations. Three large banqueting halls, fully equipped to meet international expectations: Sofia 1, 2 and 3 can combine to form the largest hotel ballroom. Hotel boardrooms offer daylight, comfortable chairs and tables, easy connectivity to power and the web for each delegate, access to built-in multi-media equipment, interactive screens, microphones, flip charts, white boards, peg boards and free Wi-Fi. The six restaurants and two bars offer tantalising culinary creations from world cuisines. You can sip aromatic coffee or tea on the sun-lit terrace of Intermezzo lobby bar or enjoy fresh fish at Captain Cook or sushi fantasies at Happy Sushi; dine at the top of the city under the starry sky in Panorama Restaurant, taste sweet creations at Candy bar or stylish cocktails in Bar Le Parfum. The spacious fitness center is one of the most modern in Europe and includes massage rooms and the largest indoor hotel swimming pool in Sofia. Hotel Marinela offers free Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marinela Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing