We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent and nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marinela Sofia
Ranked #27 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Pleasent stuff. Great food. Great restaurantes. Very good night club with great music. Good piano bar. Clean rooms with helpfull stuff. Few minutes from town center by taxi. Excellent for congreses and big events. Very nice garden.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabica1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 775 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice and good looking hotel from outside but inside is not charming the people.Rooms are not been renovated yet.I had a renovated room from upper floors,but my friends rooms are not been renovated yet.Breakfast is not enough many thing at the buffet is missing and not replacing,butter was not a butter I do not know what was it but it was not,once tried and never intended again.Service at the bars were so nice with smiling faces,prices were reasonable and they deserve the price at the bars but not the hotel.I was expecting more from a Kempinski hotel but nothing left so poor and only the name left.At the arrival and departure reception clerks were so helpful and so kind.From the upper or lower floors I can recommend because of the wiev but watch out your window must close properly otherwise you will listen vinds whistle till morning like a hotel in Bucharest.

Room Tip: renovated room from upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadunalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_Savcheva, Reservations Supervisor at Hotel Marinela Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear sadokusadasi,


Thank you very much for your constructive feedback.


We would like to let you know that the renovation of the hotel is still is process, and we already have two thirds of the floors completed with modern deluxe rooms in accordance with the highest hospitality standards. The rest of the rooms are planned to be renovated in near future.


As for your unpleasant experience during breakfast, measures have been taken to avoid similar experience by any of our guests.


I am glad to hear that our staff provided the service you expected.


We thank you for your comments, and hope to welcome you again soon.


Your sincerely,

Monika Savcheva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is 15-20 mins walking distance from city center. There is a metro station next to hotel.

The standart rooms are very old. Deluxe rooms are new and very modern, recently renovated.

It has strong and free wi-fi.

The breakfast buffet is very nice .

It has a very good gym and indoor swimming pool.

It has several good restaurants and a nice roof bar.

Room Tip: Try to book a deluxe room , standart rooms are very old. Upper levels have a very nive wiev.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdirneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossitsa_Ognyanova, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Marinela Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Caglayan1,

Thank you very much for staying with us and providing valuable feedback on our services.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you again.

We would also like to let you know that two thirds of the hotel rooms have been renovated, but the process goes in stages until all rooms are renovated.

Wishing you a nice day and hope to see you soon.

Rossitsa Ognyanova
Marketing and PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is outdated and in my opinion does not deserve its 5 star rating. It's ok for what you are paying - 90 euro per night or so but do not expect much.
There are no irons in the rooms for "safety reasons". The heating is noisy and the furniture is a bit old. The bathroom is small - definitely not a 5 star accommodation.
Positive features of this hotel - room service and really good food (but very overpriced), good location, specious lobby, nice breakfast, free wifi, ATM-s in the lobby, great sushi restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariya0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossitsa_Ognyanova, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Marinela Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear mariya0504,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your experience and thoughts since the feedback from our guests is essential in our work.

We would like to let you know that the hotel renovation is going into stages, with two thirds of the rooms already completed and the rest planned to be renovated in near future.

As for the ironing, local legislation does not allow irons in the guest rooms but there is a special ironing room next to Reception and the guests can use it at their convenience.

We hope to welcome you again at our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me personally when you plan your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Rossitsa Ognyanova
Marketing and PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I booked a renovated room for 85EURO, to my surprise no breakfast included! Free parking only outside very rude parking guard in the garage was told no space to park althow 50% of the parking empty!

Durring the night the fridge exploded and woke me up from the noise and smell! I had to change room at 4:00am! For this unpleasunt experience I was thinking that the breakfast could be for free! Was charged 20EURO even though the breakfast cost only 14EURO in the breakfast restaurant!

I would not recommend this hotel! I am traveling 100days per year and I am not staying there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristian586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

After reading the reviews here I opted for the renovated rooms and I was spared the disappointment of other travelers. Overall a very pleasant experience although would not consider it special.
The good ones:
The sea food restaurant. Give it a shot, good food, good prices, nice decor
The gym. Large and modern
The views
Room service and concierge
Good wifi
Garden looked nice but too cold to go out

The indifferent ones:
The room/ bathroom
Breakfast

The bad ones
Pool (what's with the lanes?), which is not exclusive to the guests
No atmosphere. Once would expect more energy in such a place. By example one would expect a nice bar on the top floor of the tallest 5 star hotel in the town but one was miserably disappointed. The pianist at the lobby was probably the best the hotel could offer in terms of atmosphere but too little in such a huge place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on a business trip. The hotel feels a bit jaded and in need of renovation. Nice bed but old fashioned fittings - bathroom, TV etc. Free wifi which is usually my bugbear in hotels so that was appreciated.

Breakfast was good and also the rate is very good and affordable. Dentist on the 1st floor which was a first for me!!

Room Tip: there was a nightclub on ground floor on the night I was there (Thursday) so might be worth getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaniceDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,378 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 135 in Sofia
790 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sofia
Holiday Inn Sofia
#21 of 135 in Sofia
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 135 in Sofia
1,037 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
3.4 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel Sofia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marinela Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marinela Sofia

Address: 100 James Bourchier Boulevard, Sofia 1407, Bulgaria (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Marinela Sofia)
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: $123 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marinela Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marinela Sofia has an outstanding location, just 20 minutes from the airport and in close proximity to the city center. The hotel boasts amazing infrastructure built on 30 000 sqm and features the most comprehensive facilities in Sofia offering 442 rooms and suites with stunning panoramic views, the biggest hotel conference facilities in the capital, superb leisure and dining facilities including six restaurants and two bars and a modern health club with the biggest hotel swimming pool in the city. The hotel also offers the only Japanese garden on the Balkan Peninsula. Each Deluxe room and Junior suite are equipped with mini-bar, safe, individually controlled air-condition and heating systems, LCD or plasma flat screen TVs, a modern hotel entertainment system with video and music on demand, high-speed free Wi-Fi Internet and a smart card system in accordance with the latest security standards. Hotel Marinela boasts the biggest presidential suite in Bulgaria, in which a number of celebrities have stayed, such as Helmut Khol, Recep Erdogan, Sylvester Stallone, Julio and Enrique Iglesias, Lady Gaga, Tina Turner, James Brown, Anatoly Karpov, Wesley Snipes, Sergei Mihalkov, Elton John and more. Hotel Marinela provides every amenity necessary for focused and effective business communication. It is appropriate place for your successful meetings and celebrations. Three large banqueting halls, fully equipped to meet international expectations: Sofia 1, 2 and 3 can combine to form the largest hotel ballroom. Hotel boardrooms offer daylight, comfortable chairs and tables, easy connectivity to power and the web for each delegate, access to built-in multi-media equipment, interactive screens, microphones, flip charts, white boards, peg boards and free Wi-Fi. The six restaurants and two bars offer tantalising culinary creations from world cuisines. You can sip aromatic coffee or tea on the sun-lit terrace of Intermezzo lobby bar or enjoy fresh fish at Captain Cook or sushi fantasies at Happy Sushi; dine at the top of the city under the starry sky in Panorama Restaurant, taste sweet creations at Candy bar or stylish cocktails in Bar Le Parfum. The spacious fitness center is one of the most modern in Europe and includes massage rooms and the largest indoor hotel swimming pool in Sofia. Hotel Marinela offers free Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marinela Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing