We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from Kempinski quality.....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marinela Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marinela Sofia
Ranked #28 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Flic En Flac
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Far from Kempinski quality.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Do not expect Kempinski quality in Kempinski Hotel Zografski Sofia. Far from the center, shabby rooms, old building. No wifi in the rooms. Staff is not very friendly. Kempinski Hotel Zografski Sofia need a lot of improvement. There are much better hotels in the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DariOlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossitsa_Ognyanova, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Marinela Sofia, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear DariOlio,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We deeply regret that you have had an unpleasant experience while staying at Kempinski Hotel Zografski Sofia. Receiving feedback from our guests is vital for us, as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide.

We would like to let you know that two thirds of our hotel rooms have been already renovated featuring smart card system in accordance with the latest security standards, complimentary Wi-Fi, interactive TV system with music and video on demand, safe, minibar. The remaining room renovation goes in steps and we plan to have all floors renovated in near future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again,

Rossitsa Ognyanova
Marketing and PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    253
    135
    59
    49
See reviews for
33
119
51
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The gym is well equipped and the pool is nice. Captain Cook restaurant downstairs has great dishes, especially seafood and the garden surrounding the restaurant is very nice.
Location of the hotel is good.
Rooms look a little unfashionable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iuliana_Hreniuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossitsa_Ognyanova, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Marinela Sofia, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Iuliana_Hreniuc,

Thank you very much for selecting Kempinski Hotel Zografski for your stay in Sofia and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

They provide vital feedback on our efforts and support us in our endeavor to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. We passed your positive comments to the staff of Captain Cook Restaurant.

As for the condition of the rooms, we would like to let you know that the room renovation goes step by step and already two thirds of the rooms have been renovated in accordance with the latest hospitality standards.

We would be delighted to keep you as our loyal patron and are very much looking forward to your next stay at the Kempinski Hotel Zografski Sofia.

Rossitsa Ognyanova
Marketing and PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Like the doors have keys, and the rooms are decorated in a style from about 20 years ago - but it all works. A couple of niggles - the wifi works well in the lobby but there isn't any chance of a signal in the rooms and we ate out returning to the hotel about the amazing value of Bulgarian bars and restaurants only to be reminded of western hotel bar bills.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markpjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was in this hotel for 3 nights while on a business trip. My room was on the 14th floor so I had an amazing view of Sofia, it was even more incredible at night.
The room was clean and new though I would have liked a bigger window.
The internet connection was not great, especially in the rooms.
The breakfast buffet was very good and had a lot of options but the waitresses bringing you coffee and tea, were not the nicest.
Also I was expecting a package that someone was leaving at the front desk for me and had I not insisted that it should be there they would have never given it to me. I had to talk to 3 different people until finally one figured it out.
Anyway, all in all I would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night during a business travel to Sofia. The hotel has a good view over the city but is far from the city centre. The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable, the breakfast room was bright by daylight, breakfast had a variety of choices. The staff were friendly and most of them speaking English. The daily rate of the hotel was also very cheap when compared to other 5-star hotels in the town. I will recommend this hotel for business travellers.

Room Tip: Upstairs with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMO_Istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Margrethen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I went in September back to Sofia for a couple of days. My main hotel this time was the Kempinski Zografski. As a regular guest I was welcomed by the guest manager and explained about all the chances etc. It was a nice talk and I felt little bit like at home. As a GHA Black level member I got a two category upgrade, i.e. from the standard room to the junior suite. That's fair enough and some fruits came to my room along with a bottle of wine.

What is great now, there is the new metro line finished and the hotel can be reached by metro. That makes traveling much easier than it used to be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danieledellarocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012


The Kempinski is definitely good value for money - especially on the weekends. The rooms are good sized, modern, and comfortable and their rates were cheaper than all the other 5-star hotels in town (Radisson, Hilton, the Grand, Sheraton). a very reasonable rate. Service and staff is great and and there are a couple of good restaurants in the hotel too.

On the other hand, the location is not as good as the Radisson, the Grand, or Les Fleurs (a smaller boutique hotel). The building and some of the common areas look a little dated too. I had a very pleasant stay here but it didn't feel like I was staying at a Kempinski hotel - a brand that I generally associate with luxury.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Sofia
#7 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Serdica
Hotel Anel
Hotel Anel
#2 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marinela Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marinela Sofia

Property: Hotel Marinela Sofia
Address: 100 James Bourchier Boulevard, Sofia 1407, Bulgaria (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Marinela Sofia)
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marinela Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marinela Sofia has an outstanding location, just 20 minutes from the airport and in close proximity to the city center. The hotel boasts amazing infrastructure built on 30 000 sqm and features the most comprehensive facilities in Sofia offering 442 rooms and suites with stunning panoramic views, the biggest hotel conference facilities in the capital, superb leisure and dining facilities including six restaurants and two bars and a modern health club with the biggest hotel swimming pool in the city. The hotel also offers the only Japanese garden on the Balkan Peninsula. Each Deluxe room and Junior suite are equipped with mini-bar, safe, individually controlled air-condition and heating systems, LCD or plasma flat screen TVs, a modern hotel entertainment system with video and music on demand, high-speed free Wi-Fi Internet and a smart card system in accordance with the latest security standards. Hotel Marinela boasts the biggest presidential suite in Bulgaria, in which a number of celebrities have stayed, such as Helmut Khol, Recep Erdogan, Sylvester Stallone, Julio and Enrique Iglesias, Lady Gaga, Tina Turner, James Brown, Anatoly Karpov, Wesley Snipes, Sergei Mihalkov, Elton John and more. Hotel Marinela provides every amenity necessary for focused and effective business communication. It is appropriate place for your successful meetings and celebrations. Three large banqueting halls, fully equipped to meet international expectations: Sofia 1, 2 and 3 can combine to form the largest hotel ballroom. Hotel boardrooms offer daylight, comfortable chairs and tables, easy connectivity to power and the web for each delegate, access to built-in multi-media equipment, interactive screens, microphones, flip charts, white boards, peg boards and free Wi-Fi. The six restaurants and two bars offer tantalising culinary creations from world cuisines. You can sip aromatic coffee or tea on the sun-lit terrace of Intermezzo lobby bar or enjoy fresh fish at Captain Cook or sushi fantasies at Happy Sushi; dine at the top of the city under the starry sky in Panorama Restaurant, taste sweet creations at Candy bar or stylish cocktails in Bar Le Parfum. The spacious fitness center is one of the most modern in Europe and includes massage rooms and the largest indoor hotel swimming pool in Sofia. Hotel Marinela offers free Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Marinela Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing