We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“More 4 than 5, but still...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #13 of 127 Hotels in Sofia
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“More 4 than 5, but still...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Ok, so it's a little dated and the in-house gentlemen's club, casino and string of eerie shops seem rather out-of-place in what you'd expect of the Sheraton, but still, it's an incredible relic of modern history. Go into the courtyard and you will find a real 4th century relic. The rooms are big, clean, comfortable, but just a tad dim. The lounge is hardly packed (off season) and you can enjoy a quiet drink and read here till the staff remind you it's "last orders". Excellent spot to explore Sofia on foot, via buses or the underground.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OutBoundInBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts concerning your experience at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel through Trip Advisor.

Please know that your comments and concerns about the amenities and services have already been taken into consideration.

We are thankful that you chose to stay with us, and I would like to assure you that we will continue to do our utmost to meet and exceed your expectations. As such we would be delighted to welcome you back to Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Five Star Hotel next time your travels bring you to Sofia.

Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    309
    152
    46
    20
See reviews for
52
130
78
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very convenient location, staff quite helpful ,nice breakfast, but there was no fresh orange juice, and you could only have some filter coffee or black tea there was no other coffee choice:( What disappointed us most was the fact that there was no swimming pool.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Let me thank you, for sharing your thoughts and positive feelings about the services and hospitality that our employees have extended to you during your stay at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.

In reference with your suggestion about our breakfast variety, I would like to assure you that I have already paid a very special attention regarding your comment and I fully believe that next time when your travels bring you to Sofia we will meet all of your expectations.

Thank you once again for your invaluable input and we are looking forward to welcome you again at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.

Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serres, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The worst Christmas of my life.
Food poisoning, gastroenteritis, fever for me and at least half Greek group.
After the official dinner of Christmas Eve, I spent the whole Holy Night in my toilet room (Room 127)!
THANK YOU SOFIA HOTEL BALKAN
for the unforgettable experience that you generously offered us.
Very important note:
In group participated elderly people with other potential health problems.
I wish them to be healthy now as I write this message.

Happy New Year with health!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theodoros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Sir,

We regret that we were not notified about your condition otherwise we would have called immediately a doctor. I would like to inform you that indeed we called doctors upon request of several of our guests staying during Christmas time and the doctors stated that the discomfort of the guests had been caused by a specific type of virus and not by food poisoning.

I would also like to inform you that we received the results from the food sent for analysis to the Centre of Food Biology. We tested 10 samples both from the prepared food and from the raw products. We would like to assure you that all tests were negative for food poisoning. If requested we could present you with the official results.

In addition, allow me to clarify that the dinner you have mentioned was not a Gala Dinner. It was the half-board dinner booked by the Travel Agency. May we kindly inform you that we do not organize Gala Dinners for Christmas.

Once again I would like to express our sincere regret for the health problems you had, and which prevented you to enjoy your stay with us. We very much hope to restore your trust in the Sofia Hotel Balkan.

I believe that the above information is satisfactory. Please let us know if you have any further queries by contacting me personally.


Yours Sincerely
Athanasios Pantazis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

There is no wonder why it doesn't belong in the Sheraton chain anymore.

Service is terrible. Food is so limited, like two mains and four salads (of which one is plain tomato, other plain cucumber etc) and some really average desserts. I've been in better bed&breakfast!

We also got FOOD POISONING which ruined our Christmas day. The whole group had someone of their family poisoned, resulting in canceling our visit to Rila mountain and spending the night and day in the bathroom puking and with diaroia.

Sauna was also out of order and the whole gym-sauna floor abandoned. I didn't meet a single soul there.

WORST HOTEL ever!!! It doesn't worth a penny of what it charges. And it is definitely not going to last more than 5 years. Terrible management, awful service.

Oh the rooms are pretty big. That's the only good thing about it, if you care about space.

I won't come back again and I would advise you to save the pain and not come here either. Good luck to the rest of you

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Zeifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Madam,

I would like to express our sincere regret for the health problems you had, and which prevented you to enjoy your stay with us. We also regret that we were not notified about your condition otherwise we would have called immediately a doctor. I would like to inform you that indeed we called doctors upon request of several of our guests staying during Christmas time and the doctors stated that their discomfort was caused by a specific type of virus and not by food poisoning.

I would also like to inform you that when we became aware that several guests have health complains, as per our safety policy we sent samples from the food for testing. We tested 10 samples both from the prepared food and from the raw products and all tests were negative for food poisoning. If requested we could present you with the official results.

Please allow me to mention that Luxury Collection Hotels is one of the nine brands of Starwood as the Sheraton brand is, for further information please visit the Starwood Hotels site.

We are taking under serious consideration your negative comments about our management, services and facilities. We have already proceeded with actions and measures on these that we very much hope to restore your trust in our hotel.

Please let us know if you have any further queries and do not hesitate to contact me personally.


Yours Sincerely
Athanasios Pantazis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The hotel is very well located in the center of Sofia, and a short distance from the main attractions of the city. The style of the hotel is very "big" and baroque, but the style is quite successful. Even though the rooms were probably already a few years, they are very comfortable and enjoyable. The staff is incredibly helpful and professional, and helped me to organize my days in Sofia. A reception like at breakfast, no complaints about their friendliness and seriously. Breakfast is precisely varied and very good. Sofia is a little-known French city, but interesting to visit in 2/3 days, and the Balkan hotel is an excellent choice for this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Let me thank you, for sharing your thoughts and positive feelings about our facilities, as well as the services and hospitality that our employees have extended to you during your stay at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.

I was very pleased to read that we have fulfilled your expectations and you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel.

We are thankful that you chose to stay with us, and I would like to assure you that we will continue to do our utmost to meet and exceed your expectations. As such we would be delighted to welcome you back to Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel next time your travels bring you to Sofia.

Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Nice Grand old hotel in a very central location.Large room.Reasonable service.Very Reasonable rate for accommodation.Mini bar prices ridiculously high.( $20 for a small beer )..go out to eat and drink.The hot water flow in the shower was negligible., which spoilt things..My wife and I stayed there in mid 2013.Would stay again if they get the water issue sorted.The location is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments about the services and facilities at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.

I would like to assure you that we have taken your comments regarding the mini bar prices and and water issue under serious consideration.

Once again, thank you for sharing with us your thoughts about your experience at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel. Your valuable comments will contribute to our team’s on going efforts to monitor and improve our service standards and help us in our continuous search for excellence.

Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Sheraton Sofia Hotel Balkan is a glorious Luxury hotel located at the center of Sofia. On our last visit the hotel was impeccably clean and the staffs were friendly and always with a smile and for this I recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a hotel with the above characters. The hotel itself is elegantly built with Bottom of Formarchways of ceiling-high columns and imported Italian marble floors for the lobby. The outside is also an architectural wonder having been recognized as one of landmarks in the city. The dining hear is unique and every guest has a choice of various dining choices to make, you can opt for the health club, the 24/7 business center or varius shops and you will enjoy the food in any of the options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

May I thank you for your time taken to write such positive comments regarding your stay with us and to extend the greetings from all here at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel

Thank you, for sharing with us your thoughts about the services and facilities experienced during your stay here. Your valuable comments will contribute to our team’s ongoing efforts to monitor and improve our service standards and help us in our continuous search for excellence.

Once again thank you very much for your invaluable input and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.


Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 127 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#1 of 127 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#2 of 127 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Thracia Hotel
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 127 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: pl.Sveta Nedelya 5, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#7 Family Hotel in Sofia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#20 Business Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated hotel in traditionally styled, 5-story building located at city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sofia
Sofia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing