We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located at nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #20 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The hotel is very well located in the center of Sofia, and a short distance from the main attractions of the city. The style of the hotel is very "big" and baroque, but the style is quite successful. Even though the rooms were probably already a few years, they are very comfortable and enjoyable. The staff is incredibly helpful and professional, and helped me to organize my days in Sofia. A reception like at breakfast, no complaints about their friendliness and seriously. Breakfast is precisely varied and very good. Sofia is a little-known French city, but interesting to visit in 2/3 days, and the Balkan hotel is an excellent choice for this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Let me thank you, for sharing your thoughts and positive feelings about our facilities, as well as the services and hospitality that our employees have extended to you during your stay at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.

I was very pleased to read that we have fulfilled your expectations and you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel.

We are thankful that you chose to stay with us, and I would like to assure you that we will continue to do our utmost to meet and exceed your expectations. As such we would be delighted to welcome you back to Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel next time your travels bring you to Sofia.

Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

Nice Grand old hotel in a very central location.Large room.Reasonable service.Very Reasonable rate for accommodation.Mini bar prices ridiculously high.( $20 for a small beer )..go out to eat and drink.The hot water flow in the shower was negligible., which spoilt things..My wife and I stayed there in mid 2013.Would stay again if they get the water issue sorted.The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments about the services and facilities at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.

I would like to assure you that we have taken your comments regarding the mini bar prices and and water issue under serious consideration.

Once again, thank you for sharing with us your thoughts about your experience at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel. Your valuable comments will contribute to our team’s on going efforts to monitor and improve our service standards and help us in our continuous search for excellence.

Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Sheraton Sofia Hotel Balkan is a glorious Luxury hotel located at the center of Sofia. On our last visit the hotel was impeccably clean and the staffs were friendly and always with a smile and for this I recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a hotel with the above characters. The hotel itself is elegantly built with Bottom of Formarchways of ceiling-high columns and imported Italian marble floors for the lobby. The outside is also an architectural wonder having been recognized as one of landmarks in the city. The dining hear is unique and every guest has a choice of various dining choices to make, you can opt for the health club, the 24/7 business center or varius shops and you will enjoy the food in any of the options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

May I thank you for your time taken to write such positive comments regarding your stay with us and to extend the greetings from all here at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel

Thank you, for sharing with us your thoughts about the services and facilities experienced during your stay here. Your valuable comments will contribute to our team’s ongoing efforts to monitor and improve our service standards and help us in our continuous search for excellence.

Once again thank you very much for your invaluable input and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.


Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

i first stayed in this hotel...then called simply the 'balkan' and run by balkantourist....way back when...in september 1964 to be precise....so it was interesting to stay there again...nearly 50 years later.....there are still some vestiges of the 'old' balkan....the massive...VERY massive....white marble staircases and balustrades....the wide corridors...the vast amount of unused space in the upper landings....the mile high ceilings in the rooms....after the end of the socialist era the hotel became to be known simply as 'the sheraton'....now the latest incarnation is 'luxury collection'...but in many ways it is 'plus ca change, plus c'est la meme chose'....i was very favourably impressed with reception who gave me a room change with alacrity after i complained of the traffic noise (in spite of double glazing the road noise caused by sofia's yellow paving blocks won through)...and a repair to the shower head (which came apart in my hand) was very quickly dealt with on a sunday morning....the bed was very comfortable...the bed linen absolutely immaculate.... the room was warm and was comfortably furnished...the tv had an excellent variety of channels.....breakfast was fine...a good selction of hot and cold dishes .. the service was very good....all in all i enjoyed my stay...and i can thoroughly recommend the hotel .

Room Tip: for a quiet room either at the back or the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nealjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Let me thank you, for sharing your thoughts and positive feelings about the services and hospitality that our employees have extended to you during your stay at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.

It is through responses like yours that we can evaluate our services and I thank you once more. Let me assure you that your sincere and kind comments have already been shared between all our team members.

We are thankful that you chose to stay with us, and I would like to assure you that we will continue to do our utmost to meet and exceed your expectations. As such we would be delighted to welcome you back to Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel next time your travels bring you to Sofia.


Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Its hard to justify the Sheraton brannding for this hotel it's in serious need of modernisation. The location is good but tht's about it. Walking through the doors of the entrance lobby is like stepping through the doors of a time machine and being transported hundreds of years back into the Balkan era. The decor is bland and depressing the service was poor and the breakfast was terrible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I was very sorry to learn about the negative experience with our services. This is a field in which we have invested a lot in the past years, and we are investigating deeply on this. It would be highly appreciated if you could share more details with us.

I would like to assure you that corrective action has already been taken regarding your remarks about your breakfast experience, and we have taken under serious consideration your comments regarding the décor of the hotel. Here at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel we strive daily to meet and exceed all guests’ expectations.

I sincerely hope that during your next stay in Sofia you will choose to stay again with us and I will have the chance to meet you in person.

Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Sheraton Sofia is a nice hotel in an excellent location. The rooms are very clean and spacious. Dinner at the restaurant was great but the breakfast was terrible. I will have to give them credit, though, as we were a very large group and it is hard to keep everything well stocked and warm. The hotel service was very good and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

May I thank you, for sharing your thoughts about the services and facilities experienced during your stay at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.

I am very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and members of our staff have fulfilled your expectations.
I would also like to assure you that your comments about our breakfast have already been taken under consideration and we would really appreciate more specific comments.

It is through responses like yours that we can evaluate our services and I thank you once more.

Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The rooms are nice and clean, but the service is very poor. They ask for a large deposit on the credit card at check in. No free wifi in the rooms, which you would expect in a hotel of this class. At night, ladies offer services to men in the lobby, which I find highly inappropriate. However, the central location of the hotel and breakfast are excellent. Overall, I would not go back and think that there are places with better price-quality balance.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank evelinand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I was very sorry to learn about the negative experience with our service that you had during your stay with us due to our deposit policy.
Dear guest, please be assured that we very much appreciate your comments and serious steps on improving our performance have been taken.

We are thankful that you chose to stay with us, and assure you that we will continue to do our utmost to meet and exceed your expectations.

Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 135 in Sofia
1,011 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 135 in Sofia
776 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Sofia
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
599 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sofia
Holiday Inn Sofia
#17 of 135 in Sofia
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: pl.Sveta Nedelya 5, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#20 Business Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $84 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated hotel in traditionally styled, 5-story building located at city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sofia
Sofia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing