We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #24 of 128 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is in a very good location, only a few minutes walk from centre. The suite was clean and comfortable, but bathroom small. Staff very helpful and breakfast was good. The hotel placed a complimentary bottle of wine with two glasses on my last day as it was my birthday. Very nice of them. I recommend this hotel to anyone one visiting Sofia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    102
    35
    9
    2
See reviews for
22
45
20
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel below average overall. The staff not motivated and not helpful. Bad stains on the hall carpet. Food disappointing. The positives: good location, comfortable bed, cleanliness of the room. Not worth the money paid. Will not come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewainlondon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel was nothing more than adequate. The location was okay, the breakfast reasonable. The shuttle driver had the good grace to await our arrival late at night although our flight from Istanbul was delayed for an hour and a half because birds flew into the engine during take-off which was aborted (scary). Clearly four stars in Bulgaria (as we learnt in subsequent stays elsewhere) is misleading -but it was indeed better than the four star Hotel Bulgaria in Burges, quite the most abominable institution posing as an accommodation establishment I have yet to encounter.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a business type of hotel, it is very clean and comfortable. I loved the idea of two single duvets, makes sense! Breakfast was adequate, much the same as any other hoetl the staff are helpful The hotel has a great location. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Horse91dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muiden, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Good choice for a trip to Sofia, close to many attractions and restaurants. The room is average, the beds are good. Bathroom small, but okay. Service is okay, not excellent. Breakfast is above average, good choice and variety.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good location for a visit to Sofia City Centre. Not the cheapest, but good for the main sights in the city, being walking distance from all of them. Reasonable rooms for a city centre. Good breakfast sets you up for the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Central location. Very close to many attractions.
My room was small with low facility.
Breakfast was normal.
Lift is very slow.
Reception and concierge people was very helpful.
Generally staff is very polite and helpful..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahsoyaslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.4 mi away
Les Fleurs Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Thracia Hotel
0.2 mi away
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 128 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Favorit
Hotel Favorit
#14 of 128 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bristol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: City Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: ul.Stara planina 6, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Formerly BW Premier Collection CITY HOTEL)
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Poduyane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sofia
#11 Business Hotel in Sofia
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with the brand you can trust. Tucked in a quiet street in central Sofia, Best Western City Hotel delivers the highest level of customer service and attention to detail. The hotel is located only 200 metres from the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and the Parliament, making it possible to reach on foot the most popular surroundings and attractions in the capital city. 61 beautifully furnished rooms and suites, all equipped with free Wi-Fi and high-speed cable internet, provide travellers with the finest of modern amenities. The authentic Italian restaurant “La Vita e Bella” and the lobby bar serve delicious Italian and traditional European meals and drinks. The name says it all – life is beautiful. Right from the very entrance of this fine establishment, you can feel the emotional transition to Italy and its romantic atmosphere. Once seated, just let our friendly staff do the rest for you. Indulge yourself with exquisite meals prepared by our nation-famous executive chef, whose creativity and professionalism have been officially awarded on many occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your City Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sofia
Sofia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing