We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Capannina

La Capannina
Ranked #36 of 1,004 Restaurants in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant La Capannina has the goal to bring the true Italian high quality cuisine in the heart of Sofia, thanks to the selection of raw materials imported and selected from Italy and a chef with many years of experience maturated directly in Tuscany. We offer traditional Italian dishes revisited with a more modern touch in order to provide the right mix between taste and lightness.
Stockport England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great food from a Top quality restaurant. Excellent wine (Not Cheap) Good choices, highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    44
    18
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Went to the restaurant by the National Assembly while protesters were roaming the streets shouting and blowing their whistles against a useless government; this was on June 18. Got a table outside and immediately a glass of prosecco while studying the menu. Although slightly higher priced than many other restaurants in Sofia the food was great - so was the service! If you are into Italian while in Sofia, try this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheOne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had dinner here last night. Started with a glass of Prosecco on the house. Then an amuse bouch of smoked salmon. Lovely tasty hot bread. We shared a starter of prawn and courgette which was lovely and tasty. For main course we had lamb and asparagus which was delicious. A bottle of Bulgarian red wine. Skipped dessert but they brought us sweets. OK a bit expensive but very good. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 169traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
214 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Elegant Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

La Capannina is a very elegant Italian restaurant in the center of Sofia, just next door to the Radisson Blu hotel. A terrace was just added to the restaurant from which there will be a lovely view on the most beautiful square in Sofia. The room itself is quite small but very nicely decorated in a classic style, there are lot of bottles of wines on display and a very big choice of wines for the connaisseurs. The service is very nice, without being too much on your head. For the food, I didn't find it outstanding but maybe this is due to the choice of dishes we made. My starter of fresh artichokes was not at all what I expected, it was shredded artichokes with some shavings of parmesan and I didn't like it so much, the lasagnes were not the best we had, not served warm enough and not enough sauce. The atmosphere was lovely and we had a pleasant evening but we had a shock when we saw the bill, it was very expensive by Sofia's standard so be a little careful when you go there, expect easily one hundred levas for two without desserts or coffees.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

one of the most expensive places i have been to . Certainly the most expensive in Bulgaria
Food is not good and expensive
I'll never come back again

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Masterse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capannina also viewed

Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 
Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 
Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to La Capannina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing