We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High prices small portions”
Review of Arbat

Arbat
Ranked #590 of 1,055 Restaurants in Sofia
Price range: $1 - $11
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: traditional russian restaurant Arbat offers its guests a great vaiety of homemade russian, ukrainian, caucasian and european dishes. you can try traditional to an eastern european cuisine dumplings - pelmeni and vareniki, real ukrainian borshch and russian solyanka, caucasian meat and fish dishes, pickles and desserts. there is an every day life music band playing at the restaurant. free parking
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“High prices small portions”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Unlike in most of Bulgarian restaurants, you will receive a small portion for a high price. There are much better options in Sofia for the same value. Perhaps can be interesting for old people only.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evgeni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Russian Restaurant”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great food, I loved their pelmeni, we had a great foodie experience, service was excellent which is not that often in Bulgaria, had a fun evening that ncluded some Russian songs as well, we enjoyed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnCederhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazingly good - simple as that”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Not to make it long. This is one of the best restaurants I have ever been to, not only Russian restaurants, but generally amongst all of them. Food is - for this quality - quite reasonably priced, and you definitely have to try their pelmeni and ukha. Delicate taste, superbly fine balance of spices. I have been there a couple of times (it is quite next to where I live - fortunately - and amongst many dishes I had, there was merely one that was not outstanding (blini it was - too dry and a bit too long they spent on the pan). To give a piece of an advice, if you want this witty, really Russian styled service, a bit family feeling and care (which also includes recommending all the types of vodkas - they do know how to bring a good mood to you!) - ask for a male waiter. Order whatever. Literally - whatever you order will be good. One thing not nice (never be too enthusiastic :) is - remember, that if you choose the place with the music, you will pay extra charge, information about which is hidden far away in the menu. This I realised last time I went there and I have to say, was surprising, as nobody ever said that. But yeah, I reckon everybody wants to earn money. Nevertheless, it was not something to spoil the amazing food experience.

Oh and one more thing - if you appreciate people with good voices and singing nicely, remember not to choose the live music place, the singers are terrible. Although I personally like it, since it makes me feel cosy, like at a countryside party with no frills, if you know what I mean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jakub M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Russian restaurant in the hart of Sofia”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very nice restaurand wit good ambiente.
Delicious quality food, polite personal.
Live russian music.Very interesting.
Resonable prices.
I suggest this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“True Russian Spirit”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

When it comes to Russian cousine, Arbat stands out in the crowd. What is more, the spacious garden could hide you in the hot summer nights( or lunches, as a magnificent lunch menu is served.)
With nice and convenient interior, it offers great variety of Russian dishes, from which the salad Selyodka pod Shouboy and the Solyanka soup distinguish. For dessert order a piece of the Napoleon cake and you could feel the Russian Spirit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arbat also viewed

Sofia, Sofia Region
 
Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to Arbat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing