We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and atmosphere; epic fail by maitre 'd hote”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pri Kmeta - The Mayors Pub - CLOSED

Pri Kmeta - The Mayors Pub
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Central European
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere; epic fail by maitre 'd hote”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Good basic pub food and atmosphere.

Unfortunately, near the end of the meal the downstairs maitre d' hote stepped on his you know what. I was a single guest occupying a small table, finishing the meal after the main course had been removed. He asked me to move to the bar to make room for a larger party at my table. Because of the language difficulty (he had no English and I have no Bulgarian) I went along with this. There were many other open tables in the room and the new party ended up sitting elsewhere. Asking a guest to move under these circumstances is just not a good example of hospitality, so I have to rate this place zero on service and overall Poor.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nsds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Very cheap beer which is great but not a buzzing atmosphere more like a hotel bar than anything but come here with a big group and you'll have fun no matter what coz the beer is cheap and the music isn't loud.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandracmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good beer, good service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Nothing to wow a well-traveled person, but good food, good service and good beer. What else do you need? We went early, but I can imagine it gets smokey. Tried the wheat, light and dark beers. All good with full flavor. Recommended if you are near the Sophia church.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jay-BKKJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best pub in Sofia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Called the Mayor's Pub as it is just around the corner from the office of the lady Mayor.
Handy also when going to the Sofia Opera House - which is a brilliant, sophisticated venue.

The cellar bar/restaurant is every bit as good as a typical German Bier Keller, but much, much, cheaper.
They even do a good range of German sausages to compliment the home brewed unfiltered ales.

Beer quality and prices both excellent.
They also have happy hours when the deal is buy a beer and get two !

Take a look at their website : www.prikmeta.com

Had great meal and beers here both before and after a concert at the Opera House in December 2011.

My Bulgarian friends, who live in Sofia, go there regularly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hugh p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brewpub and restaurant worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

This Brew Pub and restaurant is situated just a 3-4 mins walk from the front of the Alexander Nevski Cathedral. Facing the front entrance of the Cathedral turn right angle LEFT and walk till you see come to Moscow Street, left along Moscow St, and to Paris Street (Parish St) and the entrance is just a few yards on the left hand side No 3. There is a sign hanging outside (see photo) walk down the alley to the rear. There you will find a small open air seating area, with indoor seating inside adjacent. Inside, downstairs is also a large basement bar room which is mainly used for functions.
The Brewery (Majors Pub) brews 4 different beers : a pale Lager style beer, a Wheat beer, a Red Beer and a Dark Beer. If there is a party of you, you can ask for a "Meter of Beer" and they bring a long wooden tool box style carrier, with 8 pints of beer - two each of the different types! All the beers are tasty and reasonable, though nothing to shout about, and the general consensus was the Dark beer was the best - though its all a matter of personal taste of course. Though all were better than most of the Bulgarian mass produced beers like Kaminitza etc.

Good atmosphere, friendly service (a little English is spoken) and reasonable prices for Bulgaria. We were made very welcome, and happy we were visitors from England. We did not eat here, though other members of our group ate here twice and said the food was good and reasonable prices, hence their two visits. The food menu is comprehensive, and Bulgarian oriented. The web pages give more details.

Worth a visit when in Sofia, especially if staying near the Cathedral. Good value, popular with the locals and I would certainly go again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnHWBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pri Kmeta - The Mayors Pub also viewed

Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing