We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Museum of Natural History
Save
Review Highlights
Well worth the admission

Get up close and personal with a menagerie (taxidermied) of birds and mammals, including a huge... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
MattNgEditor
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
via mobile
Coffee Break

As you stroll west from the Nevski Cathedral you will encounter a small triangular parking area in... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jim T
,
Denver, Colorado
Read all 152 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sofia
from $4.60
More Info
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
26
23
14
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
23
14
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interesting exhibits english information entry fee worth a visit taxidermy birds minerals collection extinct shooting bulgaria
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Get up close and personal with a menagerie (taxidermied) of birds and mammals, including a huge mineral and crystal collection. A little stuffy and old-fashioned but for only a few quid entry well worth it. It's an impressive portfolio of animals on display.

Thank MattNgEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As you stroll west from the Nevski Cathedral you will encounter a small triangular parking area in sight of the National Museum of Natural History.   Just along the side of this building, almost hidden from view, you will find a small area filled with tables and chairs...   This is the location of Septima Coffee.

We stumbled upon it by accident and decided to take a short break before exploring the Royal Garden...   You have to look for it but you will need find a very small kiosk at the left rear of the table area.    We ordered two cups of coffee, one with milk.   The price, 2.20 lev.   That's just $1.29 (€1.12)! 

Of course the Sepima area offers much more - the menu is in Bulgarian - but there are photos of sandwiches and other available offerings.

A very pleasant way to spend a few minutes in a very beautiful park.

Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a good museum to visit if you have time. Not exactly a tourist attraction. You can spend about an hour here.

Thank 3SEse7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

If you want an interactive, hands-on experience, then this isn't the place for you, but if you have young children who just want to see lots of stuffed animals and birds, then it is fine. They have a huge array of birds etc, but the mere layman can get a bit punchdrunk with the sheer number on display. The oft-referred to 2 headed tortoise is really small and not really worth much effort to locate - more impressive is the skeleton of the elephant in the shop at the entrance.

Thank Niel-Wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

the museum is very simple and set up in a very tasteful way. It has access for handicapped people and is very spacious and easy to get around.

Thank EstherL2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

This museum is a fun way to spend an hour or so. It's four levels of mostly taxidermy and some rocks and stones. The collection is big, but it seems like it is aimed at kids as there is very little information about the exhibits. The information that does exist is all in Bulgarian so it's not a very tourist-friendly museum either.

Thank KsenijaSiljic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Great for kids or adults. They even have a small rock from the Moon and another small rock from Mars on display.

Thank Dobromir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018

My partner and I were wowed by the collection. If you're an English speaker don't let the lack of English information on the ground floor put you off, there is more information in English on the other floors.

Thank Jamwill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

This museum seems really 'dated'. Lots of stairs to climb, which I found to be fairly challenging, given the stifling heat.

Specimens were definitely not preserved through 'cutting edge' taxidermy, given obvious fabric seams and tiny nails holding them together.

However, the groups of little kids there seemed to be having a great time looking at the bears, birds, snakes and big cats.

Good for kids, but a bit boring for adults.

Thank starlightShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018

I visited this museum for the first time when I was a child, it became one of my favorite places in the city because I was thirsty to learn as much as I could about animals. I went again last month and I realized it hasn't changed much for the past 20 years but for a person like me it has a lot of value. It has the richest collection of species in Bulgaria and it's totally worth seeing!

Thank SvetlozaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews