We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Do It”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Izbata Tavern

Izbata Tavern
Ranked #11 of 1,000 Restaurants in Sofia
Price range: $3 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Oborishte
FL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just Do It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a great Serbian theme restaurant with delicious food at bargain prices. Had the chicken with blue cheese sauce and it was scrumptious. Draft beer was not available when we visited, but 500ml bottles were only 3 lev each. Full meal and drinks for the two of us was around 35 Lev with tip. Mehana Izbata is a few blocks Narodno Sabranie Square and easy to find.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bwq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    96
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Real Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our last night in Sofia we happened upon this place, which looks like a bar in a cellar rather than a restaurant. Extensive menu of several pages, in English, and our perky server spoke English also and made recommendations. Very charming and rustic décor and excellent food, both for veggies and carnivores alike, with lots of appetizers and starters so one can graze and try different foods. Very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The ONLY place in Sofia where we received great service and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was one of the few restaurants in Sofia where we received great service and food. Believe me - that combination is hard to find in Bulgaria.

The food was traditional, well prepared and INCREDIBLY cheap. I'm all for splashing out on a nice meal but even the most expensive wine was a steal when compared with UK prices. Nice place, nice people. Its great to find a good restaurant in a foreign city which treats you well and doesn't rip you off. Would go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nigelthepelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superb Bulgarian cuisine and great service at very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My partner and I dined at Mehana Izbata on the recommendation of Trip Advisor posters and one of our tour guides. We were so glad we did; we enjoyed the food and service so much we visited three times.

The restaurant is in a large cellar underground but is very comfortable. An English menu is available and it is very extensive with many different dishes including several chicken and pork dishes, beef, veal, lamb, fish and duck along with a range of salads and soups. My partner tried the chicken and mushrooms in cream, on the recommendation of a previous poster, and reported that it was delicious. I found the duck with wild berries to be extremely succulent. The pork dishes we tried were also most enjoyable.

The restaurant seems to be open all day and the menu is always available. Quiet times to go seem to be around 1.30 for lunch and 6.00 - 7.00 in the evening as it gets busy later on, especially on Friday and Saturday when booking is essential. The service was superb and we even met the owner's mother, a delightful and helpful lady named Galena (I hope my spelling is correct) who could not do enough to ensure we had a wonderful experience.

Perhaps the most remarkable aspect of all was the price. Main courses range from around 8 leva upwards and we found that a light starter (we enjoyed parlinka, a bread with cheese or garlic in it which was very tasty), main course (the portions are large) and a beer would come to around 28 - 30 leva for two persons which is about £12 - £13.

My partner and I wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Sofia as providing great traditional Bulgarian cuisine and service at such a reasonable price. If and when we return to the city it will be our first port of call for a meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveEurope67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“good Bulgarian cousin in very good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Maybe the place is not amazing and location not perfect but it is a place you can eat very good Bulgarian cousin in very low price. The staff is helpful, understand English very good and the dishes are served in reasonable time and are quite big for the money you pay. It is a perfect place to have good lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichalK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izbata Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Izbata Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing