We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canape Connection Guest House
Ranked #2 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location and helpful staff.”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The staff in the hostel are great, they are all friendly and willing to offer advice for where to go, what to eat and where to eat. The bathrooms are clean and the rooms are comfortable. There was excellent WiFi access, and a lovely courtyard to sit out in for breakfast. On the last day the hostel allowed us to store our bags until we got the train in the evening and they even rang a taxi for us. This was a fantastic help.

We stayed in a double room on the cellar floor, which smelt a little damp. To be honest the rooms above looked much nicer than ours, but the hostel was well decorated throughout. Our room was uncomfortably hot at times, I appreciate we were staying in a hostel but a plug in fan would have been a great addition to the room especially in the summer months.

Room Tip: The 4 bed dorm is much nicer than the double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coppybridge23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    28
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
18
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Canape Connection is not directly on the street. We did not know where we were heading first, as one only sees a small patio and the neighbouring buildings, but were immediatly conquered as we stepped in.
The Hotel itself is decorated with much taste. Renovated old doors, very nice ancient wooden parquets, the team did old the renovations and the decoration themselves, and one sees the love put into it. We slept in a four beds room, and it was very calm. We visited the dormitory upstairs which looks great, but is quite warm im Summer.
Most clients are backpackers, but we felt welcome as a family as well. The baths are common, but we always had them for ourselves (children have another time table :).
The team really takes care of the clients. There is always someone present, they answer all questions, help as good as they can, give good infos about where to go and what to do. They are very communicative, and transmit this to the clients, in a very natural way. No pressure, one just want to sit there in the garden, and enjoy the time.
Well, not a green garden, more a inner courtyard. We missed a few sits and shadow about noon, as the sun was most agressiv. There are 5 sits in shadow at the table at this time, we were five but two other clients were already sitted. But it was OK, we improvised. Maybe another table with parasol would be great.
We had here one of our best breakfast (real good pancakes). As there is a kitchen, one can store products and prepare meals. A cheap alternativ, as a supermarket is just 50 meters down the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Wow this place is a bit special. The siblings that run the place are clearly dedicated and know just what they want to acheive. The whole place is delightful. I was only there for the briefest of stays (but will be back) because the rooms are lovingly decorated and furnished, the beds are terrific, the breakfast is varied and of good quality, and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The hostel is clean and welcoming and the area in which it is set is a vibrant up and coming area with some terrific bars and restaurants (ask about the veggie place around the corner - which is excellent) -

Room Tip: Especially during the really hot summer months, ask for a room in the cellar - which is converted be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrier66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We spent a few days in Sofia and Plovdiv recently and in that time we were charmed by the incredibly friendly, likeable Bulgarian people we met. It was particularly evident in this wonderful hostel.

We showed up late morning after a gruelling overnight train ride from Bucharest, in which we got little sleep. The owners were incredibly nice, allowing us to check in early (note: they weren't crowded during our stay). The beds were by far the best I've ever seen in a hostel, worthy of a hotel. Our hosts instantly gave us a decent map, and went to considerable lengths to recommend sights, restaurants etc. It goes without saying that I got some much needed sleep here!

There is a kitchen in the basement, and we were given bread and pastries for our breakfast which filled me up before heading out into the city! The showers were nice and and the bathroom in general was clean. Also the hostel has WiFi.

Best of all, on the final day, the management allowed us to leave our bags in our room, because it wasn't booked the following night, then turn up late after a day of exploration to collect them. As if that wasn't enough, they booked a taxi to collect us and run us to the airport after explaining to us that contrary to our expectations, this was the most cost effective method of getting there. All the staff we encountered bent over backwards to accommodate and help us.

I'm sure there are already enough glowing reviews about this hostel to convince people to stay here, but after the experience we had, I think the very least I can do is give them another one!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilFGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We travelled to Sofia for a university trip, and requested that we have individual rooms. Now, this is actually a hostel, but because it was the off season, the kind owners accommodated our requests. So although we didn't experience Canape Connection for a backpacker's stay, we were there for 2 weeks and got a good feel for the place! As a hostel it would be superb!

The owners were really nice and try to look after you and help you as much as they can. The hostel can be cool in autumn/winter, but there are heaters in the rooms. The beds were comfy and duvets supplied, but again in winter you may need a sleeping bag too. Breakfasts were typical Bulgarian food, but really yummy, (although it was often bread-based). The hostel is located well -near the main shopping drag, and near some of the restaurants - and you can walk to anywhere in the city in 10-15mins, so not bad at all. Would definitely recommend for cheap stays in Sofia!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmskiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Spent two nights here on a winter trip with my partner. Hostel was very different, and unlike any other we've stayed in. No common room -just a reception/dining room/kitchen in the basement. Not a bad thing, just different!

Very personal service. Double bedroom was fantastic. (no ensuite and noisy, but we expected that in a hostel) Homemade breakfast and fresh coffee was fab. Very helpful and knowlegable staff.

Get a yellow cab to the hostel, unless you are on a really tight budget. Ours cost 13lev.

Can recommend the pub crawl, and free Sofia walking tour.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeppermintCreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I was unfortunately sick during my stay in Sofia and the guys at Canapé were really helpful! The hostel looks beautiful (though i haven't seen the new one, but I bet it's great). It's really clean and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarDajas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Central Hotel Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
452 reviews
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
670 reviews
Grand Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oborishte
Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Hotel Niky
#21 of 133 in Sofia
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canape Connection Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canape Connection Guest House

Property: Canape Connection Guest House
Address: 12 A William Gladstone Str., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 2016 Canape Connection transformed from a hostel into a guest house - the best alternative for the travelers who travel а lot but hide from the craziness of the youth hostels and prefer to share the moments with the beloved one/s. Retrospectively, the three of us - Nadia, Nadia and Ivo - sharing the same passion for traveling, photography and design, started a hostel in 2009. Back then we created the hostel we always wished to stay at when traveling. Over the years we gathered life and professional experience and felt the natural urge for a change. The hostel has always been a reflection of ourselves and now, as we evolved, the new concept of our place matches our new path. Welcome to our freshly renovated house with self designed hand-made beds. We now offer private rooms suitable for solo travelers or couples, families and friends. We believe that you, as our guest, will experience and enjoy: - Uniqueness and personal touch in the room design. - Solid wide wooden beds with queen- or king-size mattresses. - Quite backyard for recreation or socializing. - Central location in a vivid neighborhood, well connected to public transport, close to landmarks and artistic spots. - Quality and healthy cuisine in the nearby traditional, bio-organic, vegetarian or ayurvedic restaurants or tea houses. - Fast and reliable WiFi connection. - Tips, suggestions and assistance with everything you need during your stay. You arrive as a guest but you definitely leave as a friend! Welcome to Canape Connection Guest House! Yours, Nadia, Ivo & Nadia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Canape Connection Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing