We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, but...”
Review of City Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Avenue Hotel
Ranked #38 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The location is great, but the room is not very big. The service is OK. There is a very small parking lot, so do not count on this. The hotel is surrounded by big office buildings, so do not count on the view. The biggest advantage is that the Metro station is located on 300m from the hotel. In the near future with the metro you will reach the airport. But for now you can go to the city central railway station.

Room Tip: no of the rooms has a nice view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tihopet, Manager at City Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience at the City Avenue Hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated, since they give us the opportunity to uphold our standards and to ensure that we provide the highest quality of service to our guests.

The location of our hotel has many advantages for both business and leisure travelers – situated in a tranquil and modern area, conveniently located in a walking distance for numerous leisure and entertainment attractions.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for City Avenue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 52 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Romantic trip to Sofia in Bulgaria, we stayed at the City Avenue Hotel in the center of Sofia. The staff checked us in quickly and was helpful with suggestions of places to visit we were glad that they spoke English so well. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable we stayed for 3 days and cost us $80.00 a night. The breakfast was simple but good. We were pleasantly surprised at the slippers and bathroom toiletries. The weather could not have been better in the 70’s was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tihopet, General Manager at City Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion on our services and facilities.
It is most valuable feedback that helps us improve the quality of the service we provide at City Avenue Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed there for over six months and you relly start to notice the flaws in the hotel. Hardly no body stays there wich was alright but still. Good Things -
- Staff are friendly and most of them know english but if you come to the hotel late most of them are sleeping on the lounge with the tv going.
-Nice lobby area with a good bar
-free wifi
-breakfast is poor but still you can manage with what is there.
-shopping center close by.
-Nice rooms but small.
Now some bad things (which you get used to quikly):
-breackfast
- air con is very poor (might not notice if you stay 1 or 2 nights)
-shower leacks
-Not many english channels
-Beds are uncomfortabe.

but after saying that it is a very good hotel that makes you feel at home (sort of) I would recommend it.

Room Tip: get bigest room possible don't eat the ham at breacfast :(
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samwil212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

and very nice hotel. new and clean and customer service was relly friendly. only bad is that taxi drivers don`t know hotel, and because street is small , they don`t know street too, and in bulgaria taxis don`t have navigator, so if taxi driver don`t know you are lost. Be rady in taxi to pay 5x more what it really cost. really road cost maybe around 7-8levi, they ask in airport minimum 30levi.
But hotel is really good, breakfest is ok, nothing special, but ok.
Mall shopping center in just 0 min to walk.
hairdresser/salon is near- recomen they make cheep and good.
eating possibilitys is near many. bank ATM is just around the corner.
i am shore i go there again, because it is really clean and it is not very common in bulgaria.
was pleasant to stay there,
Annika, from Finland

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnikaFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed in City Avenue Hotel recently for a long weekend with a friend. It is a new hotel with well fitted rooms. The staff were all excellent and spoke very good english which was extremely useful because most other places that we visited didn't speak english. The price was very affordable and breakfast was good - small continental buffet style with a few cooked items. Good lift up to all floors. v helpful 24 hour reception. Very handy free internet which worked very well in the room. Handy location from which you could walk into the main centre (20 Mins) or short cheap taxi ride or Tram (2 minute walk to stop) or metro (5 min walk) Would highly recommend for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank herbie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Just back after a business week in Sofia. Hotel was chosen for it's close proximity to our offices rather than anything else. Pleased to report it turned out to be totally adequate for the job and overall good value.

Rooms - good, relatively new, and clean. Bathroom with an excellent shower and water pressure. Air-conditioning was fine. The bed was a little soft for my liking but the fact I was so exhausted after each day in the office meant sleeping was not a problem. The usual cupboards, small desk and other fixtures make this the typical hotel room. A personal safe for valuables was there too, as was the free internet connection which was excellent - one of the best I have encountered in any hotel, so quite a surprise.

Late night working was part of my routine whilst there and so I was really appreciative of the fact that when you place the 'do not disturb' sign on your door that is exactly what happens - you are not disturbed. I have lost count of the hotels around the world where despite doing this servicing staff would find one of 101 different ways to annoy you.

Warning - we all know that using a hotel mini bar is an often unnecessary and expensive mistake, well in this hotel that fact rings loud and clear - DON'T :) On my day of arrival - exhausted - my desperation caused me to forget those words. Prices verge on the ridiculous, and while 5 euros for a can of coke and a chocolate wafer might be perfectly expected in a London/Paris 4/5 * hotel, in a Sofia 3* it is not. Within less time than it takes you to read the rest of this review you can find local convenience stores around the corner stocking all you might need, and for 25% of the price.

Breakfast - really good, offering a no frills option of cold cuts, (salami, ham, etc), fruit, juices, tea, coffee, milk, water, cheeses, lovely fresh croissants and bread rolls. A cooked option of french toast, English style bacon, mini frankfurters, and eggs prepared to your liking is also available.

Hotel staff were friendly and courteous throughout. I shall be sent back to Sofia later this month, this time for a much longer stay. With the knowledge of where I shall be calling 'home' for the month+ already in my mind it is reassuring to know I shall at least be very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stef11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Nice new hotel, we stayed here for Bulgaria v England and short holiday afterwards. Nearly brand new hotel, friendly staff and owner who all spoke excellent english and were extremely helpful - excellent breakfast. Good price too

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmike65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Poduyane
Arte Hotel
Arte Hotel
#57 of 133 in Sofia
169 reviews
Oborishte
Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Hotel Light
#14 of 133 in Sofia
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Favorit
#10 of 133 in Sofia
184 reviews
Diter Hotel
#62 of 133 in Sofia
89 reviews
Legends Hotel
#69 of 133 in Sofia
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Avenue Hotel

Address: ul. Osogovo 49, Sofia 1303, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Serdica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: $50 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Avenue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Avenue is a cozy hotel with spacious and welcoming rooms, located only 3 minutes’ walk from the Opalchenska Metro Station. This Metro line connects you directly to Sofia International Airport. The very heart of the city is only 1 stop away or 10 minutes’ walk, where you find the unique ancient ruins of Serdika, St. Nedelya Cathedral, National Theater Ivan Vazov and the lively Vitosha Boulevard – a unique blend of culture, art, shopping and entertainment. This is the favorite area of the city for guests and citizen alike. City Avenue offers you free highspeed WiFi and free onsite parking. Relax after a long day in the stylish Lobby Bar with an open-air terrace and enjoy your favorite drink and a selection of snacks and deserts. We are looking forward to welcoming you to City Avenue Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing