We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Traventuria - Day Tours
from $29.79
More Info
from $53.63
More Info
from $35.75
More Info
from $47.67
More Info
Reviews (1,188)
Filter reviews
1,188 results
Traveler rating
950
173
40
12
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
950
173
40
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rila monastery and boyana church rila lakes self guided hiking trip small group great hiking rhodope mountains veliko tarnovo private tour driver guide great trip beautiful scenery chair lift bulgarian mountains great guide sofia airport plovdiv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 1,188 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

This was a fantastic tour from start to finish. The tour guide, Constanza, was incredibly brilliant. Her knowledge of all things Bulgarian was amazing. She made it a point to care for every one of the guests.Her English is impeccable and she is a very joyful and caring person. Take this tour and you’ll enjoy a wonderful day. By the way, the driver Alexander was a super driver and a very pleasant fellow as well.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank johncQ2170PH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliyaIlieva, Guest Relations Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Hello!

Thanks so much for writing this review - we love hearing about the experiences that our guests have had, especially when they're so positive, it lets us know we're doing something right!
We hope to host you on another one of our tours in the future.

Kind regards,
Ameliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018

Through the tour, I've learnt the mixed culture, tradition and history of Bulgaria. The tour guide is a nice guy with full of friendliness and hospitality. He answered all of my questions with additional explanations. This tour made me feel to go back again to Bulgaria on the next trip to see more. The yogurt I tried in the restaurant near the Rila temple was really yummy.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank yamaguchijica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliyaIlieva, Guest Relations Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Hello!

Thanks so much for writing this review - we love hearing about the experiences that our guests have had, especially when they're so positive, it lets us know we're doing something right!
We hope to host you on another one of our tours in the future.

Kind regards,
Ameliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

Do take a day trip with a group (mass transit is difficult) these two venues are unusual and most worthwhile. The frescoes and icons are some of the best anywhere. (hate to spoil this but the toilets at Rila leave a lot to be desired) but do not let that stop you.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 11,122,014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliyaIlieva, Guest Relations Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Hello!

Thanks so much for writing this review - we love hearing about the experiences that our guests have had, especially when they're so positive, it lets us know we're doing something right!
We hope to host you on another one of our tours in the future.

Kind regards,
Ameliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

We had a fantastic day out so I’m going to summarise it in 10 shortish points.
1. Vasko our guide was super informative, friendly and enthusiastic for the whole day. He was so nice that a butterfly literally rested on his shoulder for a good few minutes.
2. The frescoes at Rila are just as amazing as you see online if not better. Bright bold colours telling all sorts of biblical stories.
3. The frescos of how you end up in hell if you’re a man are quite different if you’re a woman. That’ll teach me for being a bad hostess.
4. Transport was comfortable. Small group. I fell asleep a lot.
5. We learnt a lot about Bulgarian history, religion, and people on our day out.
6. My favourite was when Vasko told us about a queen who stole the late king’s heart and escaped the country. Raised a lot of questions...
7. Let’s not overlook Boyana church. Though small, it was probably the oldest thing we saw in Sofia, and so passionately preserved as well. It Has the typical Bulgarian style of painting every inch of the interior. Truly lovely.
8. Blagodaria. We learnt some Bulgarian on the trip too.
9. The history of the Rila monastery was quite special too. The establishment of it, the fact it survived the Ottoman Empire. And the relics inside the church by the ‘gate to the kingdom of heaven’. Quite something.
10. Finally, dont miss the beautiful little church cat at boyana.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank MatthewandFatema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliyaIlieva, Guest Relations Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Hello!

Thanks so much for writing this review - we love hearing about the experiences that our guests have had, especially when they're so positive, it lets us know we're doing something right!
We hope to host you on another one of our tours in the future.

Kind regards,
Ameliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

Was a great tour, breathtaking scenery. So many pictures to choose from. 100% recommend. Pick up at 7 then 1.5 hr drive to the carpark of chairlift. Guide had lift tickets you could buy to save queuing. Lift takes 30mins each way and gets cold, also closes in bad weather so check with attendees. Was about 2 hours up and down in 1.5 hours walking. Steep in parts but my 74 year old grandma made it. The pace was a bit quick in parts especially on the way down when the weather got bad but the views are worth it. Very cold and had snow on top, take lots of layers and sturdy shoes. we went end of June. You need to bring food from Sofia as nothing around. Thank you Dobbs (tour guide) would go again.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Chrystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliyaIlieva, Guest Relations Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Hello!

Thanks so much for writing this review - we love hearing about the experiences that our guests have had, especially when they're so positive, it lets us know we're doing something right!
We hope to host you on another one of our tours in the future.

Kind regards,
Ameliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews