We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Traventuria - Day Tours
from $27.94
More Info
from $50.29
More Info
from $33.53
More Info
from $44.71
More Info
Reviews (1,174)
Filter reviews
1,174 results
Traveler rating
936
173
40
12
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
936
173
40
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rila monastery and boyana church rila lakes self guided hiking trip full day tour small group great hiking rhodope mountains veliko tarnovo private tour driver guide great trip beautiful scenery bulgarian mountains chair lift wonderful guide his knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
525 - 530 of 1,174 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2017

We did the day trip to the Seven Rila Lakes, organized by Traventuria, and it was amazing. Although it was a little cloudy during our hike, the sites were still amazing and so worth it. The whole tour was very well organized and the company was great. We were picked up by the van from our hotel and they purchased our lift tickets ahead of time so there was no waiting in line. Our guide, Vasco, was amazing! He was very friendly and aware of the group's different climbing abilities, always giving tips on how best to climb. and descend, offering support where needed. There was always lots of time to take pictures, and he made sure to take us to some great vantage points. He was very informative of the region and answered all our questions, and also told stories of the lakes and different myths associated with them that were very interesting. I would highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliyaIlieva, Guest Relations Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Hello!

Thanks so much for writing this review - we love hearing about the experiences that our guests have had, especially when they're so positive, it lets us know we're doing something right!
We hope to host you on another one of our tours in the future.

Kind regards,
Ameliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017

My sister and I took an 8-day self-guided hike in the Rila mountains organized by Traventuria and enjoyed every minute of it!
The organization of this hike was very good - transfers always exactly on time, friendly and helpful drivers, good communication. We did not have any previous mountain hiking experience and were suggested to choose a guided hike but we didn't - and had no problems what so ever during the hikes as the route notes were very clear and easy to follow. Got lost only once during the trip :) and found our way easily again with a little help from Google Maps.
The daily hikes were mostly marked with rather high difficulty levels 4-, 4, 5- (out of 5) but despite our lack of mountain hiking experience we managed well (a fit physical condition is needed of course). Some of the hikes would have been difficult in case of bad weather (lot of climbing on the rocks, some parts would have been slightly dangerous when rocks would be wet) but luckily we only had sunshine and great weather (with the exception of the last day with morning till night rain and thunder, so we chose to skip the last hiking day and spent time in the ski resort instead).
During some of the daily walks we almost saw no other hikers / people at all (during weekdays) which is nice if you prefer to stay away from crowded hiking routes like we do. More people were out there on weekends but still did not feel too crowded.
The accommodations were nothing too fancy but nice and clean and well located. Meals (breakfasts and some half-board dinners) were good and service fast and friendly. A bit of language challenges in some places (as only Bulgarian was spoken; English nor Russian did not help much).
Nothing to complain about, really :) I would recommend Traventuria to anyone (and actually already have).

Date of experience: June 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank EveliL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliyaIlieva, Guest Relations Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Hello!

Thanks so much for writing this review - we love hearing about the experiences that our guests have had, especially when they're so positive, it lets us know we're doing something right!
We hope to host you on another one of our tours in the future.

Kind regards,
Ameliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

We did the 8 day self-guided Riddles of Rila walking tour in the first week of July 2017. The tour was well organised with comfortable accommodation and good customer service. The walking maps were complemented with useful detailed directions in English and Traventuria staff were friendly and helpful. The walking was tough, with some long distances & a lot of climb on quite rocky terrain. Rewards were incredible views. Highlights of the week were: 7 lakes (day 4); scary lake (day 5); and Mt Musala (day 7). We took the short 10k walk on day 6 as we were too tired for the 30k option, and were able to spend the rest of the day at a swimming pool & spa at Hotel Rila (20 Leva per person). Great food in Borovets, more basic in Govedartsi (particularly for the vegetarian). Sometimes the walks were a bit longer as measured by GPS compared to the descriptions in the written guide. Sofia was great and it was a shame only to have one night there so would recommend extending the trip a couple of days either before or after to see more of the city. Borovets also had mountain bikes for hire, horse riding, swimming and zip wires - all activities it would have been fun to try if we'd had the time...
We are averagely fit in our mid-thirties with reasonable hiking experience and wouldn't have wanted to be any less fit than we are to cope with this tour!

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank rootforrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliyaIlieva, Guest Relations Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Hello!

Thanks so much for writing this review - we love hearing about the experiences that our guests have had, especially when they're so positive, it lets us know we're doing something right!
We hope to host you on another one of our tours in the future.

Kind regards,
Ameliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

After reading good reviews of Traventuria, I signed my daughter and myself for a day trip to Rila Monastery and Boyana Church out of Sofia. We were so happy with this tour, especially because the tour guide-Marina was wonderful!!! No kidding, she is probably one of the best tour guides I've ever had and I travel ALOT! First the logistics were so easy-I signed up online, received confirmation and showed up right where they told me, very easy to find. The bus was there waiting and a very pleasant person was checking people's tickets etc and we left right on time-9:00 AM. Very organized and efficient. Thank you. There were 15 people in our group-very manageable. The bus/van was very clean and comfortable, driver was professional. Our first stop was Boyana church, a small church in the suburbs of Sofia with beautiful frescos and interesting history. Next we went to Rila monastery which was in the mountains and has amazing frescos and architecture. Very picturesque. After a brief tour we had plenty of time-1 1/2 hours to wander around and get some lunch. There are 2 restaurants which are okay-some people brought there own lunch-whatever works for you. We returned to Sofia about 4:30 PM.

What made this experience so exceptional was Marina. She was so knowledgeable about the history of the church and monastery as well as Bulgaria in general. Her explanations of the frescos were so interesting, they came to life. You can tell she loves talking about them and sharing them with tourists. Her English is excellent and she had a fun sense of humor, plus she didn't bore us with long winded explanations about things. Marina also seemed very proud of her country, sharing lots of interesting information, including stories about the communist era and more recent history. She is a good ambassador for Bulgaria.

I would definitely recommend this day trip and Traventuria especially if you are so lucky to get Marina as your guide.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Ignatowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliyaIlieva, Guest Relations Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Hello!

Thanks so much for writing this review - we love hearing about the experiences that our guests have had, especially when they're so positive, it lets us know we're doing something right!
We hope to host you on another one of our tours in the future.

Kind regards,
Ameliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Me and a friend booked the day trip to Plovdiv which is beautiful!! Make sure when you get some free time you go and eat lunch at Pavaj. Its a road away from the main high street but the food was awesome and the little area it was in was so pretty!

The tour guide/company were really good and value for money.

The second tour we booked (via our lovely guide whom we were having cocktails with after the trip), was hiking the 7 Rila Lakes. This trip was full on the website but she called her manager and arranged a private trip for us for 120 euros. It didn't end up being a private tour because we were on the same bus as the main group and walked with them too. We wasn't that bothered though as we still got to see the amazing views and we worked out that we pretty much paid the usual price anyway (39 euros plus 18 euros for the lift).

Highly recommend the company and the trips - even though the hike was the hardest thing i have ever done! Do not give up at lake 5! Go to lake 7 (even if the tour guides try to sway you to stop)! :-)

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Laurenoflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliyaIlieva, Guest Relations Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Hello!

Thanks so much for writing this review - we love hearing about the experiences that our guests have had, especially when they're so positive, it lets us know we're doing something right!
We hope to host you on another one of our tours in the future.

Kind regards,
Ameliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews