We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Traventuria - Day Tours
from $27.94
More Info
from $50.29
More Info
from $33.53
More Info
from $44.71
More Info
Reviews (1,174)
Filter reviews
1,174 results
Traveler rating
936
173
40
12
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
936
173
40
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rila monastery and boyana church rila lakes self guided hiking trip full day tour small group great hiking rhodope mountains veliko tarnovo private tour driver guide great trip beautiful scenery bulgarian mountains chair lift wonderful guide his knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
622 - 627 of 1,174 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

We had an absolutely fantastic time on this hiking tour. Our guide Martin was excellent, very knowledgeable, really enthusiastic and very helpful. The chair lift which usually takes people part of the way up the mountain was not working properly on the day of our tour (this is extremely unusual) so Martin asked everyone if they were happy to walk the extra distance on the hike. We all agreed and Martin was really great at helping everyone and making sure everyone was comfortable as we went along on the hike. The views along the route of the hike of the seven lakes were very beautiful and I was really pleased that we persevered with doing the extra hiking as it was absolutely worth the effort! I would not have wanted to miss this highlight of our short trip to Bulgaria! The chair lift had been fixed by the time of our descent so we were able to relax and enjoy the trip back down the mountainside. I would recommend this one day hiking trip to anyone who has reasonable fitness and has good walking shoes and shorts/trousers. It is cooler near the top of the mountain but the sun is very strong (in July when we went) so you need lots of sun protection cream, and I would suggest having a hat too. Take plenty of water - you can top up your water bottle on the mountain - and some energy foods. There is a hut which serves food at the beginning of the hike, but if you get hungry on the mountain you will need some food with you as you don't reach the hut again until the end of the hike. Don't miss this one day trip out of the city if you are visiting Sofia! Highly recommended!!

Date of experience: July 2016
3  Thank RichardPTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliyaIlieva, Guest Relations Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Hello!

Thank you so much for your review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time on our tour. We work really hard to offer the best customer service so I am happy to see that reflected on your visit.

Traventuria’s team is always doing its best to present Bulgaria's culture and nature at its best. Thank you for your high appreciation of our services. It means a lot to us. We hope to welcome you again in Bulgaria. There is plenty more to discover.

Regards,
Ameliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

My wife and I did the self-guided "Peaks And Lakes Of The RIla And Pirin Mountains" trip and had a great time. All of the hikes were beautiful and the materials provided ensured we never felt lost. Hikes were physically challenging, but not technical or too difficult for someone in good shape who hikes. The staff was wonderful, transfers invaluable.

It is worth mentioning that Bansko mid-week in July felt almost completely empty. Great for hiking, but a little strange at dinner.

Date of experience: July 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank mmmmax2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliyaIlieva, Guest Relations Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Hello!

Thank you so much for your review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time on our tour. We work really hard to offer the best customer service so I am happy to see that reflected on your visit.

Traventuria’s team is always doing its best to present Bulgaria's culture and nature at its best. Thank you for your high appreciation of our services. It means a lot to us. We hope to welcome you again in Bulgaria. There is plenty more to discover.

Regards,
Ameliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016

Our hike in the Pirin and Rila mountain reserves was wonderful! Organization was tip top. Our guide, Ani, was superb! She was an interesting person, very knowledgeable, very friendly and a great pleasure to spend time with. She paid attention to all details and took care that everyone's needs in the group were catered for. We really felt we were in good hands. The scenery is great and on most days we had the great expanses to ourselves. The only day on which we meet other hikers was on the hike to Musala. The cultural part of the trip was also very interesting. It was a great experience and I would recommend it to any serious hiker. You need to be in reasonably good shape as some days are quite long. But if you are, I don't think you can do better. This sounds like a review a friend writes :) but it is not. We basically meandered into this hike and were very glad we did so. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Date of experience: July 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Brenner O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliyaIlieva, Guest Relations Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Hello!

Thank you so much for your review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time on our tour. We work really hard to offer the best customer service so I am happy to see that reflected on your visit.

Traventuria’s team is always doing its best to present Bulgaria's culture and nature at its best. Thank you for your high appreciation of our services. It means a lot to us. We hope to welcome you again in Bulgaria. There is plenty more to discover.

Regards,
Ameliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

The first tour we took was Plovdiv+Bachkovo and Georgi Valiavicharski was our guide. The trip by itself is amazing and highly recommendable but Georgi is just simply a hell of a guide he knows a lot of history and he likes to share his knowledge and experience, he is always prompt to help about anything related to the tour and beyond, he never pressure us and he was always kind. Plovdiv as the advertising in the traventuria website is a MUST and is not enough to see photos or videos of the place, you absolutely have to be there to fully enjoy it. Bachkovo monastery is also impressive but it is going a reconstruction process (July 2016).

The second tour was Boyana+Rila. The driver and guide did a fine job but our expectations after the last tour were I am afraid too high. The Boyana church is nice but in my opinion 10 Lev per person just for 10 min inside is just unfair. Now the Rila monastery is also a MUST see and perhaps is better to combine the visit to Rila with another place apart of Boyana church.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank capawhite2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliyaIlieva, Guest Relations Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Hello!

Thank you so much for your review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time on our tour. We work really hard to offer the best customer service so I am happy to see that reflected on your visit.

Traventuria’s team is always doing its best to present Bulgaria's culture and nature at its best. Thank you for your high appreciation of our services. It means a lot to us. We hope to welcome you again in Bulgaria. There is plenty more to discover.

Regards,
Ameliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

We've booked a tout to Rila Monastery via our hotel. We were told to wait at 09:00 in front of Alexander Nievski cathedral. We were there on time and nobody came to take us although we've circlled the cathedral a few times.
We took the same tour 2 days later and they were where they should have been. Our guide, a lady named Constanza who had a lot of knowledge and excellent English. She had shown us all over and explained everything of value to us. Together with the driver Rozen the were an excelent team! We enjoyed this tour very much!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Elisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraventuriaAdmin, Manager at Traventuria - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

Dear Elisha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is a pity that you have missed our minibus at first. Our pick-up point has always been in front of La Cattedrale restaurant, which is on the back of Al. Nevski Cathedral (on the south-east corner of the square). It is clearly marked on our leaflet, which you probably had not been given. I presume that you have not been informed correctly by the receptionist through which you have booked the tour. From your review I judge that you are very positive person and the caused inconvenience has not ruined your overall experience.

Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing your experience with Konstantsa on your Rila Monastery and Boyana Church tour. We make quite demanding interviews for our guides, to ensure they are the best and to make sure that our customers get the highest quality tours. Konstantsa is brilliant and is a real expert at guiding new explorers through Bulgaria's beautiful and stunning sites.

Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews