We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Traventuria - Day Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Traventuria - Day Tours
from $34.51
More Info
from $47.15
More Info
from $34.51
More Info
Reviews (915)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveler rating
538
99
18
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
99
18
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rila monastery and boyana church rila lakes self guided full day tour hiking trip small group group tour driver guide rhodope mountains veliko tarnovo great trip recommend this trip wonderful guide his knowledge excellent tour interesting information meeting point
Filter
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 672 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2015

Amazing experience! Wonderful organization from start to finish.I thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful nature of the mountain .The most exceptional that day was our guide Martin -i can"t imagine a better one.He is exceptionally kind,educated and professional and spending the day together was a joy.He is an outstanding hiker and knows a great deal about tracking.He was very considerate with the pace and conditions on the track and i learned so much about this beautiful country.Thank you Martin and Traventuria

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank nas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile

From our first contact to the final drop off at our hotel in Sofia we were impressed by the organisation of this self guided tour. Routes were well thought out and the notes and maps clear - inevitably, in an area of active forestry, there were a couple of updates but we never had any concerns following the routes. The hotels / guest houses were all hospitable and the food plentiful with enormous breakfasts! We had great fun communicating with our hosts via Google translate with some wonderful mistranslations on both sides!
The Rhodope mountains are glorious for walking and the tour gives a fascinating insight into the contrast between village life and the rapidly developing urban life of Sofia and the other big towns.
Definitely one to book sooner rather than later!

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank FormerFlyer19560415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2015

We spent the day with Martin travelling to Plovdiv for very personalized tour of this historic ancient city. Martin had a great knowledge of the town and shared it with a sense of humor and respect for the heritage. We liked the respect he showed for the religious heritage at the monastery. Thanks Martin for sharing part of your country with us. Best of luck in your future endeavours j&M Canada

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2015

It was very well organized.
Traventuria picked us up at the airport
The guide was nice but tight. It was hard to convince her to change the schedule.
But she took us to wonderful places: mountains, lakes...

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Emmanuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2015

1) The location

This is truly an exceptional place. If you go to Bulgaria, you have to visit this place (if you can physically, at least 4 hours of climbing and going down and some parts are steep). This is the best place I've been to in Bulgaria- it is very beautiful, the air is fresh, everywhere you look, you feel the need to take a picture!. It is very surprising that in travel guides about Bulgaria -such as lonely planet - this place is not presented as a Must see place. However, it is difficult to access, and hence, I had to rely on a local travel agency.
I went there at the end of August and the temperature was perfect. No clouds and I didnt need warmer clothes. Bring a good pair of shoes as some parts can be wet. Bring a bottle of water, food, a camera and cleaning wipes if you want to use the toilet in the hut next to the chairlift.

2) The guide

Our guide was Martin and it is obvious he likes his job and he has a passion for hiking. This was my first real hiking and he made it such a great experience that I'm looking forward to go on my next hike. He gives good clues about hiking as well. He is also very knowledgeable about the place. He gives a lot of information. He shows interest about his customers. It's like going hiking with a friend and not with a regular tour guide. Also about this trip, I liked that we returned by a different way. Hence, we could see the lakes from different viewpoints.

3) The price

The only negative point about this trip is the price. It is very expansive. I guess this can be explained because we were only two doing the hike. However, the company should find a better way to group people together to lower the price. (I don't know, you could book your trip online on a specific date with an alternative date and the company informs you about the cheapest date some days in advance)

Date of experience: August 2015
3  Thank simon000002015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews