We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traventuria provides the perfection and convenience to Rila Monastery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Traventuria - Day Tours

Traventuria - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.82*
and up
Rila Monastery and Boyana Church Day Trip from Sofia
Ranked #2 of 33 Outdoor Activities in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Traventuria Ltd is a fully bonded Bulgarian tour operator, possessing a management with experience of over 10 years in the field of the incoming tourism in Bulgaria and the Balkans. The company offers cultural and active holidays, private transfers, ski and snow board packages. Flexibility, local knowledge and perfection in all our services are our distinctive feature!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Traventuria provides the perfection and convenience to Rila Monastery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I just took the day trip from Traventuria on Saturday (September 21) to Rila Monastery and Boyana Church. It was such a pleasant experience. Not only our driver Rusi speaks good English but also he volunteered to be our guide where we were in the Rila Monastery on site Museum and inside the Boyana Church and it shows that he is very knowledgeable. Everything was on time and on schedule.

The van is comfortable for 8 people. But due to this small amount of capacity, do call in advance, it will be one of the best 50 lv you spent in Bulgaria.

Highly recommended.

Oh, ladies, did I mention Rusi is a good looking guy as well? :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    52
    11
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yuvalim
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Trekking in Pirin and Rila Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We ha a great holiday in Bulgaria, 6 days trekking in the Pirin and Rila mountains.
Everything was just excellent from the beginning when we looked for trekking in Bulgaria through Traventuria Web site, going through the very informative email exchange and finally the holiday itself.
The pickups from and to the airport and from Govedartsy were very accurate and comfortable and the drivers were very polite and gentle.
The guide, Kamen, is really great, very good, full of knowledge and very helpfull. We enjoyed him very much. The group members were very nice and it contributed for the entire trekking atmosphare.
And finally, Bulgaria mountains, Pirin and Rila, are excellent trekking areas with very beautifull views.

So, to summarize, we enjoyed it very much and definitelly will recommend others to do so.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bari
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rila monastery &Boyana church-JUST PERFECT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Everything was just perfect! The infos on the website, the on-line booking procedure, informations about the meeting point. Our guide, Rusi, was definitely on time ,helpful, he explained us so many things in such an enthusiastic way that I just felt in love with the places we were (even some uninhabited fields); for sure it's the easiest way to get over many places when you don't have plenty of time. I will come back and book other tours!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chlaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My dad and I took three tours with Traventuria and had an excellent time on each one. Each day was easy, relaxing, enjoyable, fun, and very informative. The tours are very personalized, the guides are great, and the company is flexible. For example, my dad and I wanted to go to Belogradchik Fortress, which is not on one of the normal tours with the company, but it was very easy to arrange a trip there anyway. Similarly, our last tour was meant to be a hike through the Rila Lakes; unfortunately, the evening before our tour a cold front blew through and the day dawned with freezing rain. We decided rather late the day before that we didn't want to do it, but unfortunately had no way of contacting Traventuria so late. That morning, when our guide came to pick us up, we asked to change the tour, and it was completely fine, no problem at all. Great, flexible people in charge of the company.
Our guides themselves were also awesome (we had tours with both Orlin and Rusi). Examples of the amazing things they did:
Guiding us on an impromptu hike when we expressed it might be fun to hike for a little while
Clearing away the branches on the trail in front of us while on the hike!
Offering to take pictures of us all the time without us having to ask them to
Knowing which gas stations had clean bathrooms and stopping there
Knowing the back routes to the important sites which avoided traffic/had more beautiful scenery
Offering to call ahead at the restaurant and place my order when I indicated I wanted a dish that he knew took a while to prepare
Taking the time to mark on our city map restaurant recommendations for Sofia when we indicated we were having trouble finding a place to eat
In addition to doing all this, both guides were very knowledgeable, not just about history, but about little quirks about the places we were visiting--they knew which restaurants were good, which place offered the best wine tasting, what was good at what restaurant, etcetera.
I would definitely recommend this tour company. Not only are the guides exemplary and the company flexible, but unless you read Cyrillic, you'll want a guide escorting you around Bulgaria, and you can't find any better than the ones at this company.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank scottishowlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT TOURS, EXCELLENT GUIDES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I took 2 tours with Traventuria while I was in Sofia and they were both perfect. The 7 Rila Lakes hike was absolutely great with my guide Orlin Koychev being really exceptional, very friendly and helpful, he made the tour very enjoyable! The second tour to the Rila monastery and Boyana church was also amazing with our guide Kristian being perfect, very informative and friendly!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traventuria - Day Tours also viewed

Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to Traventuria - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing