We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy bulgarian food”
Review of Edno Vreme

Edno Vreme
Ranked #504 of 1,021 Restaurants in Sofia
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
388 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Yummy bulgarian food”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The restaurant is set on an "island" on the lake Ariana in the Borisova gradina/park. The building has been built in an old style, the interior has a traditional bulgarian feel and even though the restaurant is right next to a busy crossroad, the lake and park side setting make you forget that you are in the middle of the city. In summer all the tables are taken outside, so that everybody can enjoy the lovely lake side setting.

We have visited the restaurant countless times with our bulgarian friends and work colleagues, who all agreed that the food is as authentic and as good as it can be. The menu is full of lovely fresh salads and grilled meats. The home made bread is yummy - you can opt for the freshly baked loaf of bread or the 'perlenki s kashkaval' (flat bread stuffed with cheese).

Other reviewers complained about the service, I'd say that the service is the only weak point of this restaurant. It can be a bit vague at times, however we have never encountered a rude waiter. NB. we have eaten here at least fifteen times. On most occasions the service was friendly, prompt and satisfactory. Admittedly, our bulgarian is good enough to interact with the staff in Bulgarian rather than English, which may be the reason.

All in all, it is a lovely traditional restaurant with great bulgarian food. Perfect for lazy afternoon late lunch or dinner with your foreign visitors.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zuzka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    9
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Typical traditional food”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Sunday evening I had dinner in Edno Vreme for the second time. It was an organized event (big group - 50 people), so all the menu was previously arranged, but I think nothing of the traditional Bulgarian food was missing.
The Venue: it is located in a park, over a lake, and quite close to the main city attractions. The area is quiet and not dangerous to walk in/out even at late hours. During the summer it is quite popular, as people try to get away from the heat.
The seating: the atmosphere is rustic, somehow oldish style, but cosy once you get to know it.
The food: good, reliable, good mix of vegetables, cheese and meat.
The drinks: not bad, I tasted the water, wine and the beer and could survive after that.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miruna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you are in Sofia and would like to taste typical traditional bulgarian food in traditional setting you must go to Edno Vreme restaurant in Sofia. The food is as good as it can get and the atmosphere will take you back in time to 18th century Bulgaria.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excelent bulgarian food”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Great food, nice atmosphere.Live bulgarian traditional music.Quality domestic "rakija".
Very good location.Little high prices.
I can suggest this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Amazing traditional Bulgarian Food served in a Unique Setting!”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Our experience here was nothing short of amazing! We ate here two (2) times within five (5) days, each time with groups of 12 or more. The restaurant itself is decorated in true Bulgarian country theme, and the wait staff in traditional Bulgarian clothing. Service was very attentive and prompt at all times. No waiting for drinks to be refilled or empty plates to be removed. Our mostly Bulgarian friends and family were impressed about the quality of the traditional food, just like the recipes they would have used at home! Portions were generous, breads warm and fresh, meats tender and well prepared. We ordered appetizers (salads, cheeses & sausages) which came served on a long five foot board and very well displayed for our large group. The Lamb was delicious, and the Venison,Donkey & Horse sausages were out of this world!

The restaurant also has evening entertainment starting at around 8pm consisting of a small band and two lovely female singers. They provided an authentic Bulgarian musical experience of traditional songs and dance complete with customary costumes.

WE loved this place and would highly recommend to anyone wanting to experience the Bulgarian cuisine and culture in a unique setting. The only draw back is parking... there is none! Take a cab!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HospitalityPros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edno Vreme also viewed

Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to Edno Vreme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing