We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't fault this hotel - a good stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thracia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thracia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 131 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Can't fault this hotel - a good stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for one night on the way to Istanbul.

We couldn't fault it to be honest. The staff at reception spoke good English, were very keen to help and helped us with some questions and queries.

The room was perfectly adequate for us. Modern and clean, with a huge shower and LCD TV. Free wifi in room achieving speeds of around 10mb.

Bar in the lobby area serving beer for around £2 a bottle. Outdoor seating street side, very modern and clean.

Hotel situated very close the 'main' shopping/bar/restaurant street in Sofia. Come out the hotel, turn left and walk for 5 minutes and you have all the food and beer required for any trip. Hotel is also located well in the City to see all the sights. Nothing is too far to walk if you able - 10-15 minutes at the very most to many of the main sights.

(Small tip - there is a great cocktail bar 5 minutes up the road from the hotel that serve the best drinks at ridiculously low prices. I would strongly recommend you pop in. Turn right out of the hotel and keep walking - you cant miss it!)

Taxi rank just up from the hotel if required - 5 minutes walk to the left.

Taxi from airport to the hotel door 20 Bulgarian Lev. I think the hotel charge 30 but either way, it's a cheap ride in relative comfort.

Overall, if we were to return to Sofia, there is no reason we would not stay here again. It met our expectations and more. For the money, I think you may struggle to find better value in Sofia.

Book with confidence - 4.8/5.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javab29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    263
    47
    7
    1
See reviews for
76
225
48
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

This is 5th time we visit and we are as previous times happy with our choice. Clean rooms, excellent location on a quiet street in the city centre. Plenty of choices around for dining. Staff is helpful and well trained to meet any requests the guests might have.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tatyana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you are not interested in swimming pools, restaurants etc, this is one of the best hotels I have stayed. Central but quiet location, nice, clean rooms and bathrooms, friendly staff, very good 24 hour room service, free wifi and cable internet and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is wonderfully located in a quite street but very close to the shopping street. The breakfast is exceptionally good and the staff is very friendly. I was there on business in April 2012 and 2013. Was a bit disappointed that couldn't go there in 2014 as well.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Slaveya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is just a few steps from the main pedestrian road in the centre of Sofia. Along here are lots of cafes and bars All the main sights are within easy reach too - we especially liked the sculpture park near the theatre.
The hotel rooms are a very good size, helpful staff and a great breakfast - one of the best for a small hotel.
Just a small criticism - temperature of food could be hotter, and although you get free bottles of water in your room when you arrive, you don't get them again - I think this should be daily.
Overall though, excellent and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Level Contributor
274 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We found this a great hotel for a trip to see Sofia. Close to the center and in easy walking distance to the sights, comfortable, air-conditioned, wi-fi worked well etc. etc. The breakfast was really great. The shuttle to and from the airport worked well and cut out a lot of potential hassle.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spent just two nights here in May and can only say we were so pleased with the hotel.
We had booked a taxi service pick up from the airport to the Hotel via the hotel and the journey was great with a very friendly informative member of the Hotel Staff. Our rooms were just wonderful, spacious clean, comfortable beds, lovely bathroom and products with towling robe. The Staff were just great and the breakfast room had the best choice with fresh cooked produce than any other Hotel I have ever stayed in accross Bulgaria and Romania. Sofia is such a lovely place to visit too, with lovely shops and although the trams are still running they have pedestrianised half of it making for a lovely open area for outside eateries. I liked it there so much I would like to go back for a non work related trip... and get up in the mountains.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Central Hotel Sofia
#4 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sense Hotel Sofia
#6 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Lozenets
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 131 in Sofia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thracia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thracia Hotel

Property: Thracia Hotel
Address: ul.Solunska 30, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Thracia Hotel)
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 131 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thracia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thracia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing