We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of AVEL Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVEL Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 103 Sofia B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I picked well in the end, i liked the idea of Avel being close to the airport but also fairly close to all things in the center.
it is clean, comfortable and relaxing whatever your stay there is for!
I was there for a week and Yordan the owner was friendly, a great nothing is to much attitude and was very helpful in what to do and where to go!
I had a great day out when his brother and girlfriend took me to see there mum and nan in a little outsid of the capital, a fantstic experience of home cooked food and home made wine and i got to learn a lot along the way.
Also i ahd a grand day out with Yordan himself on my last day and it was a lovley way to round up my stay!
The accommadation is good value for money and i will be staying again whenever i am next in Sofia.
I realy can not say enough good about Yordan and the hospitality that i was shown

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was a low cost guesthouse which we booked due to its close proximity to the airport in Sofia. The place was exactly as described so didn't disappoint - the owner (Yordan) was exceoptionally friendly and helpful, booking a taxi for us, ordering us a pizza to eat in the hotel (early start the next morning) and generally checking we were comfortable. The room was fine. Very clean and quite spacious. The only small thing i would mention is a slightly dodgy smell coming from the kitchen which was next to our room. Didn't detract from a comfortable stay though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiquitiqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Avel Guesthouse is a simple and well-run place to stay and the closest to the airport. Everything functions as it should, and the owner/manager is extremely helpful. The place is small, so anonymity is not an option, but the service is warm without being overbearing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further from the street and closer to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toubibornotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It is very nice guest house. The room is very comfortable, clean with all the facilities you need. Free wi-fi and lovely garden. The owner is very kind and helpful. It is very near to the airport and about 15 minutes to the city center. The owner ordered me a taxi to the airport for a cheap price even without asking. It is really amazing guest house

Amgad Joseph
Liverpool, UK

Room Tip: I think all rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amgad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have stayed at a fair amount of hotels and guest houses in Bulgaria over the past few months. I have found on the whole that accomodation in Bulgaria is set to a high standard of cleanliness and well thought out furnishings for very reasonable rates!

The guest houses seem to be a much better choice as they not only offer that extra homely touch, they also seem to match the bigger hotels in facilities ie; internet, TV, Minibars ect..

Avel is one of these great little finds. Being advertised as a little hostel the rooms they have are infact very decent and also have on suite bathrooms. Located near the airport it is easy to catch a taxi accross.

I arrived at 3 in the morning however Polia who I had email correspondance was more than happy to be there to welcome me and get me settled in. She also kept up correspondance throughout my stay advising me on travel, dining and other useful tips for Sofia.

I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Request the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushbaby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brasov,romania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

a good place to stay if you are on a budget.
rooms are nice and clean. staff is friendly.the bathroom is too small and had no shower tub
there is no private parking, but if you can park on a nearby street

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zbiutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Ibis Sofia Airport
#30 of 133 in Sofia
279 reviews
Lozenets
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 133 in Sofia
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport Hotel Consul
#80 of 133 in Sofia
28 reviews
Novotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
452 reviews
Suite Hotel Sofia
#14 of 133 in Sofia
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVEL Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVEL Guesthouse

Property: AVEL Guesthouse
Address: 40 Letostrui Str. | Poduiane, Sofia 1836, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AVEL Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house AVEL offers fully equipped twin rooms with Sat TV, Wi-Fi, minibar. It is located close to the center of Sofia, just 5 minutes from the airport.AVEL includes seven double, hotel type and size rooms. There is also a room equipped with self service kitchen where guests can prepare their own food or just relax. We also have a 24 hour reception, exchange and tours desk. All rooms have a separate bathroom, sat TV, free Wi-Fi, hairdryer, radio clock, etc. There is a BBQ area in the back yard. We also offer additional services like airport pickup, car rental, bicycle rental, city and country tours, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your AVEL Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing