We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva Villa Rosiche”
Review of Villa Rosiche

Villa Rosiche
Ranked #1 of 29 Dessert in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Situated in the very center of town, Vila Rosiche offers everyday homemade croissants and cakes accompanied with selected speciality coffee and tea. The two story house of Villa Rosiche is a cosy place with a friendly atmospere in the winter and in the summer its natural garden offers a quiet place to hide from the busy street.Working hours:8-21
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Viva Villa Rosiche”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

In a word, this place is great. Unique cakes and other delectables served in a quiet, out of the way courtyard just steps from the hubbub of Vitosha Boulevard. Good coffee and excellent unobtrusive service. Be bold and try something new here; you will not be disappointed. A local friend introduced me to Villa Rosiche a few years back, and I always stop in when in Sofia. Amazing that it has quietly maintained its quality and consistency over the years. A very special place well worth checking out when in Sofia.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vlblv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    40
    10
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You will not want to miss the best cheesecakes in town, right?”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is one of the sweetest cafes in Sofia, I've ever been to. And I live in the neighborhood my whole life and only now I find out about this gem.
The strawberry cheesecake is a must! They also make quite nice coffee as well.
Prices are a bit high for my taste, but for a special occasion you wouldn't mind at all.
One tip to the staff though - the waitress can be a little friendlier :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

From the outside you wouldn't know this amazing place exists, but venture down the walkway and you'll enter a beautiful courtyard with hands down the best cakes and coffee we had in Bulgaria. Well worth a trip, even if it is out of your way. We are still dreaming about our cake and coffee. A must stop for a break in Sofia!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best place to sweeten your life :)”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I’ve been lucky to live near Villa Rosiche for several years. In my opinion there you can find the best sweets in Sofia. It doesn’t matter whether you prefer cakes, croissants or mousses – this is your place. Villa Rosiche is very nicely situated in the center of the city, near “Vitosha” blvd. The prices are maybe a bit high for Sofia, but it’s worth it.

All cakes taste as homemade, I would highly recommend “Chocolate kiss” , “Mousse cake” and the one made from biscuits. With croissants you can’t go wrong – they’re fresh made every morning. My personal favorite is mushrooms and blue cheese. When the weather allows it – try the garden. It’s very nice and quiet, you can almost forget that you’re in big city. There is nothing like Sunday morning with a cup of cappuccino and croissant at the Villa Rosiche’s garden.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulyFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best cheesecake in town”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Villa Rosiche is a small coffee house serving sumptous cakes and nice croissants (incl savory ones like broccoli and cheese). It is tucked away in the courtyard of a building close to the pedastrian area. There is a small pleasant garden area to sit outside (just a few tables), inside there are two stories, so if you can't find a table downstairs just head for the floor upstairs there are lots more tables. On a sunny November Saturday it was really packed outside as well as inside. Service is friendly and kind, and - honestly - the cheesecake is one of the best I have ever eaten. Some of the other cakes we tried are really rich, so you have to like that. The savory croissants we tried we also liked. True, the prices are on the high end compared to other places we ate at, but sometimes one just needs a treat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stadtnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Rosiche also viewed

Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 
Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to Villa Rosiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing