We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, cheap”
Review of Hostel Lavele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Lavele
Ranked #24 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just a couple blocks from the Sveta Nedelya church, and beyond that, all of the downtown landmarks and churches. About a 30-minute walk from the train and bus stations, or you can take one of the trams. My room and the shared bathroom were clean, staff was friendly, breakfast was good. Unfortunately the wifi didn't work on the third floor, but you can use it downstairs when you need to.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
Thank run4cover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 115 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at Hostel Lavele for one night, paying £27 for a private twin room with shared bathroom, don’t be put off by the exterior of the entrance – this hostel is more like a guesthouse, our room was basic but really large which made it feel bright and airy, spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and free Wi-Fi. Despite being a big tour group staying the same night, we slept well and the hostel was really quiet. I’m always apprehensive about shared bathrooms and this one was very compact but always clean, we never had to wait as it was only shared with three other rooms and there was always hot water.

The staff were friendly and helpful, our room wasn’t ready when we checked in but they let us store our bags and suggested we take the free Sofia walking tour which was the highlight of our stay (http://freesofiatour.com/). The location is great, just off the main shopping district with plenty of restaurants and bars and all major sites/points of interest within walking distance. We arrived from the bus station taking the tram and found the hostel easily using the directions from our booking email but also found taxi’s to be really cheap.

Overall I’d definitely recommend Hostel Lavele when visiting Sofia; I’m just disappointed we skipped breakfast after reading other reviews!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireLouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

clean hostel, very helpful staff but beware that hostel rooms has no private toilet.
if you choose their apartment option you get private bathroom but you don't have wifi since its located in the block next door to the hostel.
Their breakfast is well presented and tasty.
Overall I was happy with my staying

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metripgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed in the hostels 'Apartment' in January 2012.

The apartment is in a separate building a few doors down from the hostel.
It is very spacious with bedroom, living area and kitchen and a bathroom.

The kitchen was unusable with no cooking facilities - this was very disappointing as we weren't able to cook. There was also no rubbish bin any where in the apartment.

The bedroom was fine however there was only one thin blanket, which was inadequate with snow outside.

The lift was horrifyingly scary and we dreaded using it (very very old and fast) but being on the fifth floor there was not much choice.

The location is superb and couldn't get much better.

Breakfast was ok. Yogurt, bread and coffee - not much more than that.

The hostel itself had no common room so we had no interaction with other travelers.

For 35 euros it was good value but don't expect to be able to cook or have a social time here.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Lavele hostel in Sofia was certainly a pleasant surprise - it is really clean and cosy, more like a hotel than a hostel (yet at hostel prices). The location couldn't be better - super central, safe and convenient to get anywhere.The breakfast also offered more than we expected. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The hostel is one of the cleanest and with most beautiful forniture I've ever stayed in. The bed is extremely comfortable and the sheets are so soft.
Breakfast is really HIGH LEVEL, with hand made bread, delicious jams and plenty of food.
Morover, the position is perfect cause you're 5 mins walking from Sveta Nadelia square.

BUT if you're looking for a party.hostel, you'll be disappointed. There are no common rooms and the general attitude is that of a place where to sleep for cheap price in a cozy place but not for having fun.

Anyway, I would suggest it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trickypv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Overall I had a good experience at this hostel. The 8 bed dorm was newly furnished and quite pleasant.
Breakfast was really good - homemade yoghurt and everything included.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
They could organise a private tour to Rila Monastery or other locales.
The location was good. Right near the start of the free Sofia walking tours.
I really didn't like the bathroom. There was just one tiny toilet cubicle with a handheld shower head. You showered over the toilet.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
Thank MegSCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,360 reviews
8.4 mi away
No photo provided
Discret Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vladaya
1 reviews
4.7 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#55 of 135 in Sofia
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 135 in Sofia
593 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sofia
Holiday Inn Sofia
#17 of 135 in Sofia
353 reviews
1.9 mi away
10 Coins Hostel
10 Coins Hostel
#5 of 140 in Sofia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Lavele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Lavele

Address: ul.Lavele 14, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Price Range: $24 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Lavele 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hostel that combines the comfort of a budget hotel with the coziness of a guesthouse and the low prices of a hostel. It is located in the heart of the Bulgarian capital, at some 100m from St. Nedelya square, which is the starting point for exploring Sofia. Hidden in a tiny street, it offers tranquility during the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Lavele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing