We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Modern hotel nr train and bus station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budapest Hotel
Ranked #10 of 127 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Modern hotel nr train and bus station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We spent 2 days here and the reception staff were very helpful. The hotel is just down the road from the bus and train station. It is very modern and clean with a good breakfast. Good value for money. The complaint we had was that the room was quite hot and the fridge although seeming to be to be turned on, didn't make anything cool so obviously wasn't working. The 4 main lights in the room weren't working either.

Room Tip: If you want somewhere near the train station like us as we had come overnight by train from Buchares...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Global59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    141
    32
    3
    5
See reviews for
53
110
50
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Budapest for 1 night on a recent Intrepid tour through Bulgaria and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean, comfortable and very modern. The free wifi worked great and the included breakfast was excellent - good selection of hot and cold foods. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English, which was great! The hotel itself is close to the old town and main sights but in a quiet spot. There are some good restaurants close to the hotel for dinner but they also have a restaurant on site and do room service which was nice. Overall we were very happy with our stay at Hotel Budapest and would highly recommend it if you're looking for a good home base from which to explore Sofia.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ShaneAndRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baku
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great place to stay. Equi-distance between the central railway station and the centre of town. The receptionist, Sonia, couldn't have been more helpful. Room was; quiet, clean, wifi worked well, shower was good, and the breakfast had a good variety. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dekBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
237 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Convenient as the hotel is just a short walk from the centre of town and has good clean rooms. Our only complaint is that the the shower was slow to drain and the hotel is a little overheated. Good buffet breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jacky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at the beginning and end of our trip and both times, the rooms had a lovely view and the place was spotless. The location was a bit away from the action, but it was not a very far walk to downtown (~15 mins). The real highlight though, was the included breakfast, which was the best we experienced on our two-week trip. The dinner was outstanding as well. I was traveling with my father and they kept trying to put us in a room with a double bed, but we worked it out eventually.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I recently reserved the Budapest Hotel for a company event we had in Sofia. The Hotel team did an excellent job both in service delivery as well as the quality of food and drinks.
Rooms are comfortable and location is just 15 min. walk from the city center. Restaurant staff and catering were well organized. Wi – Fi is available everywhere in the hotel.
Everything I requested was ready. Anything we needed was brought right away. There was not one thing I could complain about. I would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure when visiting Sofia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KDaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I give it four stars largely because of the excellent service. I needed to check-in online for a flight the following day and was stuck without a phone or laptop in Sofia and couldn't find an Internet cafe. The hotel desk clerk happily let me use his laptop and then arranged a packed breakfast that I could take early the next morning. The rooms are clean but a little dated, though the bathroom and shower were upgraded. The hotel is a 15-minute walk from the center.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CANUCKINBETHESDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Sense Hotel Sofia
#1 of 127 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Central Hotel Sofia
#3 of 127 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suite Hotel Sofia
#12 of 127 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Grand Hotel Sofia
#6 of 127 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Poduyane
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#28 of 127 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Hotel

Property: Budapest Hotel
Address: 92 A Budapest Street | ul. Kozlodui 4, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sofia
#9 Business Hotel in Sofia
#11 Family Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the small street running throughout almost the whole downtown of Sofia on which Budapest Hotel is located and at the same time with walking distance to important transportation and business venues.The hotel consists of 31 standard rooms, 22 deluxe rooms, 6 corner rooms, 3 studios and a Presidential Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Budapest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing