We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of The Rooms

The Rooms
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rooms
Ranked #51 of 107 Sofia B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you are looking for something cheap, just to crash for a couple of hours and don´t mind the smell of tobacco this can be perfectly OK.
We had a 2 bed room, private. The bathroom and shower was very good, clean and filled its purpose. The two single beds looked like they came from the antique shop on the ground floor of the building. One was hard as stone and the other sagging. The bed lamps did not work and the doorlock was quite tricky.
Breakfast was just coffe or tea + some croissants.
The location is OK. A short walk to the city center or to the station and a 24h supermarket in the next block.
The staff was however good in English and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobbelkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

The hostel is located between railway station and city center, so it´s perfect for a stay in Sofia. We stayed for 3 days, then went to another destination, and were excited to come back a week later for another few days. The staff is OUTSTANDING and will help you navigate around, clue you in on where to eat, and at night we had the most wonderful time upstairs lounging around, drinking wine, listening to music, and learning about everyone's cultures. We can't say enough good things about staying here. If we had to think of one downfall, it's that in the winter (it was snowing while we were there) it gets really cold. The hostel is heated with wood so, although it smells great, it can be a bit chilly. We would never stay anywhere else in Sofia. We are in our mid-30's and we were a little nervous about staying at a hostel but this changed our minds. It was absolutely perfect! Oh, lastly, you can't beat the price. We paid about $15 US each each night. What a bargain for all the comfort you would get at a hotel!

Room Tip: Upstairs is social, downstairs more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattJodiIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

The Rooms is a very small hostel in the heart of the city. There´re just six rooms in this old purple building, most have two twin beds, and a small bathroom. Every Room have different thematic furnitures, for example there´s a twenties room and a disco room. The hostel is located between railway station and city center, so it´s perfect for a stay in Sofia. And it´s also very cheap: In 2008 you pay 25€ for a double bed room/night. The Staff is very friendly and helpful and you can use a PC for free Internet.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I was las januari in this hostel friendly people good price and tomorow i go back to bg and stay again in this hostel in the past seen many hostel/hotels but this was good even the lokation is good 5 minutes walk from the bus station.
recomend it to any one

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandrovv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

My girlfriend and me stayed 3 days in the rooms hostel in Sofia. It is a place we realy can recommend. The hostel has 6 different rooms with or without shower and WC. All rooms are differently furnished and have names like "Red room" or "Psycho". We stayed in the "Psycho" room which has a shower and WC. The bed is the most comfortable i have ever sleeped in. It was clean. The people who work there are very kind and helpful. Unfortunately there is no kitchen but you can spoil water for tea and coffee. There is also a fridge but a very little one. The hostel itself is located near the centre. You can easy explore the city by feet. In about 10 minutes walk you are at the main attrtactions.
We realy had a great time in Sofia.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaveDave_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I can't tell anything but : AWFUL!! We only stayed one night, left as quickly as we could the following morning and found a different place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILoveToLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Hostels are a gamble. They may be cheap but you pay for it with lost sleep, discomfort or indifference of the staff. Make no mistake, the Rooms is a very cheap place to stay. OK, the rooms are basic (but comfortable enough), the location is a fairly ramshackle street near the city centre, but the place is an unpolished gem. Petr, our helpful and hard-working host, really is an absolute star, and his easy-going amiability makes the rooms an easy-going hang-out where people can't help but make friends. Lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tagois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,378 reviews
9 mi away
No photo provided
Discret Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vladaya
1 reviews
5 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#55 of 135 in Sofia
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
629 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sofia
Holiday Inn Sofia
#21 of 135 in Sofia
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 135 in Sofia
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rooms

Address: ul.Pop Bogomil 10, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing