We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to stay for short time”
Review of Hotel Montecito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Montecito
Ranked #49 of 104 Sofia B&B and Inns
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good to stay for short time”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We ordered this hotel during business trip in Inter expo center - it's only 2km away from it.
I do believe my room was ex smokers, no matter it had sticker with non smoking sign, you can smell tobaco in the room. Bit oldfashioned - photo walpaper of flowers. In a room (i ordered single rooms for me and my colleague) there were 2 beds, 2 mirrors (one huge), 2 bed table and one table for computer. No cahir, so I used one bed table for it. In the bathroom shower has no cabin, so floors are wet every time you take shower (toilet, sink and mirror too). Towels could be renewed, but it's ok they are changed every day. In general it was very clean. You have to ask for hair dryer. Internet connection in my room was poor. Good in the loby and restaurant.
Breakfast were nice and simply - 3 kinds of bread, muesli, very fresh and tasty vegetables, cheese, some meat. Always eggs, scramble, toats with eggs. Cafe machine is tricky - you have too make double "long coffe" to get full cup. Check milk - it can be not fresh during summer, as they leave the doors open. Hotel staff were very nice, breakfast restourant staff were lost a bit - you have to ask for clean cups for coffee if you don't want drink from plastic cups.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndreS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    15
    16
    0
    7
See reviews for
9
5
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Popovo, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed twice, once in basic room and once in deluxe. Both were fine, the pool is excellent if you have the time.

Reception staff are bored and rude, as you expect in such a place but you dont need them after you check in anyway.

Dont touch the breakfast, old bread, juice with mold floating on top and generally very basic and dirty looking all over. Eat in the restaurant the night before and felt sick after with a sore stomach, not very fresh food.

Apart from that if you need a cheap place to stay for the night near the airport this is a good choice. I reccomend it only thanks to the proximity to Sofia airport and the clean rooms at decent prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My buddies stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and had good things to say about it. Great rooms, lovely breakfast and pool. I visited along with them this time and had a terrible experience. We came at night, after we booked more than several months ahead. We parked, checked in and received our rooms. My room....the moment I opened it, smelled horribly from puke! of course they changed the room and gave me another one. The rooms aren't clean - My toilet wasn't clean. Had to clean it myself! THe wallpapers and rooms are very old and require renovation. THe rooms were very warm at night, and guess what? the AC doesn't work. So you have to sleep with the windows open. The blankets were not on the beds, but had to be found in the cabinets.

Breakfast was served in a tiny hall. Everything was very basic - 2 types of cheeses and sausages, no eggs....2 types of breads and some pastries that had to be warmed up with this 1930's toaster that didn't work well. The coffee machines didn't work and we had to argue with the person incharge to activate it. The juice was machine made....horrible taste. Table cloths were dirty, we even had to take our own forks and knives.

Pool was closed and even though we only asked to step outside and take a look at the view, we started arguing in Bulgarian.

Of course, the reception doesn't accept credit cards...and we had to go to a bank next by to withdraw money. Come on guys...this is 2013, and even though this is Eastern Europe we've stayed in several other places in Bulgaria and didn't experience these issues.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel or get back to it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sofia hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trnava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We chose to stay at this hotel because of the proximity to the airport - we wanted to catch next day morning flight. If you really need to stay only overnight then it is acceptable choice. But be aware the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, service is average at best and breakfast poor. It seemed to me that customers are largely gentlemans with prostitutes and Gorubliansko Hanche also serves as an hourly hotel. Next time I will look at other possibilities.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svetobeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was a nice clean hotel with pool, but a taxi ride from the city. If you're looking to go out in Sofia at night, I would not recommend it. The hotel lobby is inviting with its 'royal family' style furniture. Each of the rooms have a different theme it is decorated in. The pool is a nice place to cool off but closes early. There is not much around the area except for their restaurant/bar & grocery store & gas station.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agent226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I chose to stay at this hotel due to its proximity to the airport and the good reviews it received on this website. While the price was indeed excellent, the service left much to be desired. The reception was very hit-or-miss. They were decidedly unfriendly at check-in, ignoring us for a period of time and taking an extremely long time to get organized. This was not helped by the TV playing loud music, which was quite grating after a long bus trip. We had a few general questions about our stay in Sofia and they were very unhelpful. On subsequent occasions, they were brusque and unfriendly. The hotel also had unique decor, with dark red, ornate wall paper and red bedside lamps. The room was quite dark.

For the price, I can't really complain, but if I were taking another trip to Sofia that didn't have an early morning flight out, I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magassouba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stara Zagora, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2011

The hotel Gorubliansko Hanche is located very clos from the Letiste Sofia
Perfect for a night stay before to catch an early flight from airport
Sofia.
Friendly and helpful staff, clean hotel, excellent restaurant
Staff very nice restaurant, good food, grilled specialties
in ten minutes arrives in the city center, taxi costs $ 10
Taxis are very smart :-)

Room Tip: Good hotel with swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malkamisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
8.7 mi away
Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat
1.1 mi away
Best Western Expo Hotel
Best Western Expo Hotel
#45 of 133 in Sofia
197 reviews
3.6 mi away
Suite Hotel Sofia
Suite Hotel Sofia
#12 of 133 in Sofia
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#67 of 133 in Sofia
35 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Vega Sofia
Hotel Vega Sofia
#33 of 133 in Sofia
100 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Festa Sofia
Hotel Festa Sofia
#31 of 133 in Sofia
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecito

Property: Hotel Montecito
Address: 357 Tsarigradsko Shose Blvd, Sofia 1138, Bulgaria (Formerly Hotel Gorubliansko Hanche)
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecito 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montecito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing