We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not our taste”
Review of Hotel Montecito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montecito
Ranked #47 of 109 Sofia B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We chose to stay at this hotel because of the proximity to the airport - we wanted to catch next day morning flight. If you really need to stay only overnight then it is acceptable choice. But be aware the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, service is average at best and breakfast poor. It seemed to me that customers are largely gentlemans with prostitutes and Gorubliansko Hanche also serves as an hourly hotel. Next time I will look at other possibilities.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank svetobeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 43 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was a nice clean hotel with pool, but a taxi ride from the city. If you're looking to go out in Sofia at night, I would not recommend it. The hotel lobby is inviting with its 'royal family' style furniture. Each of the rooms have a different theme it is decorated in. The pool is a nice place to cool off but closes early. There is not much around the area except for their restaurant/bar & grocery store & gas station.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Agent226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I chose to stay at this hotel due to its proximity to the airport and the good reviews it received on this website. While the price was indeed excellent, the service left much to be desired. The reception was very hit-or-miss. They were decidedly unfriendly at check-in, ignoring us for a period of time and taking an extremely long time to get organized. This was not helped by the TV playing loud music, which was quite grating after a long bus trip. We had a few general questions about our stay in Sofia and they were very unhelpful. On subsequent occasions, they were brusque and unfriendly. The hotel also had unique decor, with dark red, ornate wall paper and red bedside lamps. The room was quite dark.

For the price, I can't really complain, but if I were taking another trip to Sofia that didn't have an early morning flight out, I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magassouba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

The hotel Gorubliansko Hanche is located very clos from the Letiste Sofia
Perfect for a night stay before to catch an early flight from airport
Sofia.
Friendly and helpful staff, clean hotel, excellent restaurant
Staff very nice restaurant, good food, grilled specialties
in ten minutes arrives in the city center, taxi costs $ 10
Taxis are very smart :-)

Room Tip: Good hotel with swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malkamisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank socgeorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank GilmanovLinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
Thank Raul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
5.6 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,387 reviews
6.5 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
653 reviews
11.4 mi away
No photo provided
Discret Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vladaya
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 135 in Sofia
1,060 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 135 in Sofia
800 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel RotasaR
Hotel RotasaR
#107 of 135 in Sofia
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecito

Address: 357 Tsarigradsko Shose Blvd, Sofia 1138, Bulgaria (Formerly Hotel Gorubliansko Hanche)
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Sofia
Price Range: $45 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecito 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montecito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing