We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy hostel”
Review of Nightingale Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sofia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nightingale Hostel
Ranked #86 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Perfect place for a short stay in Sofia! Also pretty cheap and breakfast are excellent! (Only 1 euro) The proprietor is pretty amazing and full of good advices for visiting the city. The hostel is also really well located and surrounded by lots of shops and monuments really interesting to visit. Everything is really cheap in the city!!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 46 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Despite not booking in advance we were given a very friendly welcome from the owner. The hostel featured a common area, kitchenette, bathrooms, terrace and computers with internet access which was handy. On the first day there was no hot water for showers but this was quickly seen too as new showers were fitted if not a tad makeshift (placed over sinks in the toilet cubicles) this said they did the job and were more than adequate. Any information on the tourist attractions were happily transferred to us from the friendly owner as he told us about the free walking tour in Sofia, which was very interesting indeed. The best aspect was that everything was inclusive in the price from the computers, internet, TV, games consoles and breakfast. The owner was very assertive in getting baggage to and from the cars and making sure we were getting to the right place next on our journey!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hostel is one of the best value we have run into in Europe. The facilities are more than adequate and the proprietor (Mihal) is amazingly helpful and accommodating. There are two computers with unlimited free internet. The breakfast buffet, although not included, features a home cooked center piece that has been amazing and well worth the price.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

When I arrived very late the owner of the hostel received me very friendly, offering me his help and even let me use his mobile phone to to make a phone call and giving me directions on the map. The beds are wide and comfy, just like the common area with the big sofas. It's also great, that you can buy drinks and some meals directly in the hostel which, in combination with the wide common area, makes the hostel very social. In the daytime its useful, that the hostel is located very central and next to a tramstop, so you never have to walk far and won't get lost.
I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B00lean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I really enjoyed this place. We got there early in the morning after the long train journey from Budapest and arrived, exhausted, way before the earliest given check-in time. However, we were made to feel right at home and were given our beds as soon as they were cleaned along with a free beer and great information on Sofia's sights. The staff are fantastic and really good to talk to. Location wise, it couldn't be better - right in the town centre and near all the shops that you could wish for. The bathroom is a bit public (you're separated from everything by a shower curtain and a frosted-glass shower door - no locks) and everything was quite grubby (although that added a lot to its character). Overall it was full of character and well worth the low price if you visit Sofia.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank officeface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Very nice hostel, which is very centrally located. Everything you want to see in Sofia is within walking distance. There are also some nice bars and restaurants in the vicinity of the hostel.

The people are very friendly, will help with any questions you have!
The hostel has comfy beds, clean rooms and a fully equiped kitchen.
Additional they serve a free breakfast in the morning!

Of course they have free wifi in all the rooms!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hostel was very centrally located, all Sofia main attractions are in a walking distance. In the streets nearby the hostel you can find some bars and restaurants which is good for a night out, ask the hotel staff about it.
Reception staff is welcoming and talkative, and tries to be helpful.
We were staying in a double with shared bathroom, all was clean.
We didn't get the breakfast as it seemed rather small and we prefered to be enjoying the food outside (there are some very delicious and cheap soup bar around!)
We enjoyed the free wifi.
Only bad thing they didn't have a locked storage room, but you can still leave your belongings in the common room if you wish (which we didn't find very secure)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laetitia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,361 reviews
8.4 mi away
No photo provided
Discret Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vladaya
1 reviews
4.3 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#55 of 135 in Sofia
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 135 in Sofia
593 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sofia
Holiday Inn Sofia
#17 of 135 in Sofia
353 reviews
2.3 mi away
10 Coins Hostel
10 Coins Hostel
#5 of 140 in Sofia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nightingale Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nightingale Hostel

Address: pl.Slaveykov 2A | 1, Solunska Str, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Oborishte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nightingale Hostel is located at famous Slaveykov Square right in the center of Sofia downtown - cool place where you will find 6 rooms, a common room, 2 Shower places with 24 hrs hot water, 2 toilets,an equipped kitchen, Free Wi-FI internet, a tourist desk, secured lockers in dormitories, key card access system and 24 hrs front man.From 8.30am to 10.00am we provide a complimentary free breakfast with a choice of cereals, milk, tea, coffee and sugar with Check In after 1pm, Check Out before 12 am. You can use our luggage room and kitchen for free.After 11pm you should put down the noise and drink out of a hostel.For travelers with artistic abilities and if they want to make performance for other guests we offer a free nights stay. Enjoy your stay in Nightingale Hostel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing