We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel”
Review of Nightingale Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sofia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nightingale Hostel
Ranked #77 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hostel”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Very nice hostel, which is very centrally located. Everything you want to see in Sofia is within walking distance. There are also some nice bars and restaurants in the vicinity of the hostel.

The people are very friendly, will help with any questions you have!
The hostel has comfy beds, clean rooms and a fully equiped kitchen.
Additional they serve a free breakfast in the morning!

Of course they have free wifi in all the rooms!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
2
9
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hostel was very centrally located, all Sofia main attractions are in a walking distance. In the streets nearby the hostel you can find some bars and restaurants which is good for a night out, ask the hotel staff about it.
Reception staff is welcoming and talkative, and tries to be helpful.
We were staying in a double with shared bathroom, all was clean.
We didn't get the breakfast as it seemed rather small and we prefered to be enjoying the food outside (there are some very delicious and cheap soup bar around!)
We enjoyed the free wifi.
Only bad thing they didn't have a locked storage room, but you can still leave your belongings in the common room if you wish (which we didn't find very secure)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouagadougou, Kadiogo, Burkina Faso
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hostel is nice and located very comfortably in the center of the city just 5 minutes walk to the main attractions of sofia. the breakfast was good and the people were very friendly not to mention that the girl in the reception is really hot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is a great hostel for a number of reasons, but the most important are the staff - who are sweet, friendly and welcoming. The location could not be better - most of the great sights are a couple of minutes away and there are great nightclubs just around the corner. I slept like a baby. Thank you for being so sweet to me, and thanks for the wonderful breakfasts and home-made french fries. Delicious.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martiiinAVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Well, it is a very good location. It can hardly be better. The stuff is ok, helpful. Usually I'm not asking too much from a hostel: one important thing is cleanliness... it was bellow average.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panterix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The owner really makes this hostel what it is. Typical Bulgarian hospitality, Always happy to give advice, cook you breakfast or point you towards a great local restaurant. Very central and close to pretty much everything. Very sociable little place. I'd go back in a second when I'm back in Sofia.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I spent there a few nights. It was hard to find, but it's location it's great. There is an open market with books and stuff in front of it, a nice restaurant to eat something cheap right below it, and a great take away food in the square. It's also close to many bars and so.
The hostel is fine, clean, comfy beds, lockers, free internet... but the best part is the staff. They were really friendly and welcoming.
When we went there it was July, and it was totally empty, and the atmosphere was kinda strange, but still it felt safe and quiet. Not a place to meet people tho.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Art Otel
#43 of 133 in Sofia
65 reviews
Oborishte
Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
848 reviews
Downtown Hotel
#51 of 133 in Sofia
157 reviews
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nightingale Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nightingale Hostel

Property: Nightingale Hostel
Address: pl.Slaveykov 2A | 1, Solunska Str, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Oborishte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nightingale Hostel is located at famous Slaveykov Square right in the center of Sofia downtown - cool place where you will find 6 rooms, a common room, 2 Shower places with 24 hrs hot water, 2 toilets,an equipped kitchen, Free Wi-FI internet, a tourist desk, secured lockers in dormitories, key card access system and 24 hrs front man.From 8.30am to 10.00am we provide a complimentary free breakfast with a choice of cereals, milk, tea, coffee and sugar with Check In after 1pm, Check Out before 12 am. You can use our luggage room and kitchen for free.After 11pm you should put down the noise and drink out of a hostel.For travelers with artistic abilities and if they want to make performance for other guests we offer a free nights stay. Enjoy your stay in Nightingale Hostel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing